We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kotor Wine Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kotor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kotor Wine Rooms
Ranked #18 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best location for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Great find, we really loved it here. Yes, as others have stated the rooms are good and the bathrooms are "small" and yes you do need to sit sideways. But saying all that the room was cute, the beds clean and comfortable, with loads of atmosphere. It really is a the best place to stay in Kotor if you like being right in the middle of everything going on. Evania the receptionist can't do enough to make your stay pleasant. I have to mention the "noisy bar". Its actually part and parcel of the Kotor Wine Rooms. Its not as some have mentioned before just a bar, its actually a fantastic "Wine Bar" with great music, live most nights. The wines are some of the best we have tasted, its not cheap but reasonable. The knowledge of Milan the waiter and Evan the Manager plus expert sommelier is amazing. On the friday evening of our stay we participated in a Wine Tasting and Evan did an excellent job of explaining all the beautiful Montonegian and Slav wines. Yes, it was a little noisy late at night but I did take my silicone earplugs which worked a treat. We were unlucky enough to have been given Room 11 which is the noisiest room. So email in advance to try and not get given this room. We really enjoyed it here especially the "bar" and would go back again.

Room Tip: Room 11 is directly over the bar and is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Little hard to find at first but well worth it when I did. The receptionist was very helpful and no request was any trouble. I'm not sure why others complained about the noise, my room was right on the street and I am a light sleeper but had no issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markofski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I agree with previous review regarding noise from the bar-we heard it on 3 floor sometimes. Bathroom is small and you have to sit sideways if you're tall. But location is great, receptionist Ivanka was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are decorated nicely. We loved those exposed stone walls. The price was also very reasonable.

Room Tip: we stayed on 3 floor -you have to carry luggage and take stairs, but it's quieter and nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Ok, now, there is something I need to make clear right from the start - this is not a complaining review at all. On the contrary, its a big fat thumbs-up to the Kotor Wine Rooms. There are, however, a couple of things I'd like to warn you about before you go in order that nothing comes as a nasty surprise when you get there.

There has been enough said already about how stunningly beautiful Kotor Old Town is, so I don't need to add too much to that, and the good thing about the Kotor Wine Rooms is that you are right in amongst it. In the space of just a minute's walk you have some of the loveliest restaurants, bars, squares, architecture, culture and scenery you'll ever need. So that's nice.

Unfortunately though, the advantage of having all that activity close to hand when you need it also means that its close to hand when you don't. Like when you want to sleep. The medieval streets are narrow, and unfortunately right across the street from the Kotor Wine Rooms is a little bar frequented by locals that has to be the noisiest in town. Think I'm over-reacting? Try full-on pulsating hardcore eurodance music at 2 in the morning to make you feel refreshed the next day. Or maybe spontaneous group singing in the wee small hours? Or how about a blazing row spilling out into the street? We had them all. For the record, we were on the first floor in Room 11. This is not the fault of the Kotor Wine Rooms, I know - but it will have an impact on your stay and you need to be aware. Cars are banned in Kotor Old Town (its a World Heritage Site) but that doesn't stop them driving down the street in noisy smelly builder's tipper trucks at 5:30 in the morning instead. I love the Montenegrins, but they don't do 'quiet'! Once again, not the fault of the Kotor Wine Rooms but as you won't find this stuff out in the brochure then you need to be informed here instead.

This deserves a paragraph on its own - the staff at Kotor Wine Rooms are lovely. Especially the receptionist. They are brilliant.

I have never had to use the bathroom on the International Space Station, obviously, but I can bet it's bigger than the one in Room 11. You have to sit side-saddle on the khasi, and I'm not kidding. Seeing as I personally don't see the point of going on holiday and spending any more of my valuable time in bathrooms than I have to, it was no big issue to me. It tell you to diffuse the potential shock of finding this out the hard way. Room 11 is exactly that - a room. That's all. It's a clean room and nice and modern with loads of facilities. It has two shuttered windows - one opens out to look at someone else's window. The other opens out to look at the street (nice) - but you will be on public view not only by people walking past but also by local shop keepers who like to sit out on chairs, light up a cigarette and chatter. Loudly.

Because Room 11 wasn't a place we felt we could chill out in, I think on reflection a week's holiday was too long. A 3-day break would have been enough. By 7 days we were crawling up the walls. Next time I go to Montenegro I am going to hire a more spacious apartment with a balcony you can actually sit on in a quieter town like Perast or Prcanj along the side of the fjord from Kotor.

We hired a car through the lovely girl on reception and escaped to Skadar Lake (a 'must see') and also drove along the fjord sides to explore a bit. Well worth it.

Golden Tip : there is an open top tourist bus that takes you to Risan via Perast for 20 Euro per person, or there is the far more frequent and fun 'Blue Line' local bus that does the same thing for 1 Euro per person. Yes, you read that right - 1 Euro. Spend the 19 Euros you just saved on a nice lunch beside the sea in Perast.

To sum up, Kotor Wine Rooms are absolutely fine as long as you know what to expect. Words that describe rooms like 'twee', 'bijou', 'quaint', 'olde worlde charming', 'dinkie-doo' are never very far away from the dreaded 'pokey', 'cramped', 'tiny', 'compromise'. Kotor Wine Rooms somehow manages to stay on the charming side of life, but only just.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
26 Thank colfrankland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

On our last night in the Balkans (15 nights, 15 hotels) we found this little gem. If we had done earlier in the trip this would have been the place we would have stayed more than one night. Location, location, right in the middle of the old town, in a quiet enough street. The rooms (with kitchenette) seem quite new and are decorated in a very unique style. Room has everything you need. Receptionist and owner were really friendly and helpful. Very fast wifi. Great value for money. They have parking spaces outside the city walls.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the more stairs to carry your bags, but the quieter it gets. Windows open into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyworldMimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

This little hotel is more like serviced apartments as it has no restaurant but it is completely charming with a truly lovely receptionist who is extremely helpful and friendly.

It's in the most amazing location of the old town, we were on the top floor and while others have complained about views and noise I would say our studio room was quiet and had great views.

The receptionist helped us organise buses, taxi and boat trips and recommended restaurants and entertainment.

If I were returning to Kotor for a short break I'd definitely choose here for 3-4 days again.

Room Tip: top floor studio has more than enough room for two people with BIG suitcases and you get views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeMEastAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had a wonderful short break at the Kotor Wine Rooms. Both the accommodation & the town itself are brimming with character. The town has great architecture and lots of bars & restaurants where the prices are pretty reasonable compared with somewhere like Dubrovnik. It is easy to enjoy a wonderful trip with everything just a stroll away from the Kotor Wine Rooms, which is tucked away in a small street but also right in the centre of town. There are however some great places to visit nearby. We had a trip into the mountains to visit some small villages and the views were quite spectacular. We also had a trip along the coast and another on a boat sailing along the Fjord to visit an historic monument on a small island. The scenery is quite wonderful, think the Italian Lakes but less pricey or over developed. I would definitely recommend a trip to Kotor and a stay at the Kotor Wine Rooms. Go now before the secret gets out!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank satyaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#2 of 10 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Duomo
Villa Duomo
#2 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kotor Wine Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kotor Wine Rooms

Property: Kotor Wine Rooms
Address: Kotor Old Town, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kitchen and other facilities:Each apartment has self-catering facilities including sink, a fridge, hot plate and storage.Bedrooms and bathrooms:Every room has a private bathroom comprised of an enclosed shower, toilet and sink. There is also a safe mounted into the wall in which to store valuables for peace of mind.OutsideLocated right in the heart of Kotor old town, guests at the Kotor Wine Rooms are well located to explore the town and surrounding villages. Within five minutes’ walk guests can be admiring the yachts moored in the harbor or experiencing one of the many cultural highlights the town has to offer.Amenities:Kotor is a part of UNESCO World Heritage List, a city surrounded by medieval walls, with examples of architecture and decoration belonging to every great Mediterranean stylistic period and plenty of amazing buzzing cafes and world class restaurants. Many summer festivals and cultural events are being held every summer in Kotor Airport:Tivat airport is the nearest to Kotor Wine Rooms, only 9km away from the property (10 mins drive). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing