We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Kotor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
Ranked #2 of 12 Kotor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I stayed four nights over New Years. The first night at the hotel was a bit shaky because of lack of heat. I think this was because the absolutely wonderful manager was away. Once he returned everything was perfect. He had extensive experience in the tourism and cruise industry before retuning to the Balkans. The breakfasts were great each day. We especially liked trying the daily featured regional specialty each morning. The fresh juice was also very nice. Our room was very comfortable, quiet, and clean. I recommend going with one of the suites if going as a couple because the regular rooms are a bit small for several days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jechath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and booked 2 rooms. The hotel was fabulous from beginning to end. Very clean and well designed. The hotel had a car waiting for us at he airport with a friendly driver who drove us to the gates of the old city. When we arrived, two people from the hotel were waiting for us to assist is with our luggage to the hotel which is about a 100 m walk from the gate (no cars permitted)

The manager of the hotel was there to greet and remained uber friendly and helpful throughout our stay. All of the staff are amazing. The breakfast was superb and we had dinner one night on the small rooftop patio one evening.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It may be rated 4 star but the service far exceeds that.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Stevieray99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel tucked away in a very busy town. The staff were excellent. Always friendly and helpful and went out of their way to one feel at home. the room was very comfortable with lovely views over the town. The hotel is tastefully decorated and is interesting in it's design and furnishings. The restaurant was very good and I ate there the two nights i was in Kotor. The terrace offers great views over the town. i was nice to have the delicious breakfast out in the courtyard. I would highly recommend it and would definitely go again if I was back in Montenegro.

Room Tip: It did get a little loud from the bar next door, but not much the hotel can do about that. Apart fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jac2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I knew this hotel would be nice but it was such a pleasant surprise when we arrived. If style is important to you (as well as great service and location) then you'll love this place. Beautifully designed with lots of special touches. We arrived early and were prepared to leave our luggage whilst we explored, but they gave us a key and off we went to our room. The cleaner was still in there so they apologised profusely and offered us the suite at the top of the hotel. They went above and beyond as we weren't expecting any special treatment - it was our fault for arriving early. The room was spectacular.

We ate in the restaurant on the roof terrace with a view of the old fortress on the mountain. Incredible!

Would definitely go there again.

Only one strange thing - the bathrooms (there were two in our room) both had clear glass doors so there's no privacy. We've been married a few years, but even so, it's not too romantic!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AmyLondon101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Hippocampus for 2 nights with our 5 adult children in 3 rooms. We had a few problems when we arrived, but I must say that the hotel handled our issues with professionalism and courtesy. Things happen when traveling, but how hotels handle problems separate the good hotels from the great ones. This is a great little gem of a hotel within the old town of Kotor, Montenegro. The staff go out of their way to make each guest feel welcome. Personal service is a plus and all the staff were so friendly. Rooms are small, but well appointed. Hotel wifi is a plus as is the lovely inclusive breakfast. I would recommend asking for a higher floor, if possible, as the noise in the street can get loud. Lovely boutique hotel. Special thanks to the managers-particularly Ranko Jokic.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank cate11boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Everything was just perfect in our (me and my husband) three nights stay at Hotel Hippocampus. Hotel is located just in the heart of old town which gives a nice atmosphere. And everything one needs is just downstairs. Room was perfectly clean and nice, decoration was combination of history and modern equipment. Staff is very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast in the hotel's own restaurant is just perfect, one can have fresh orange juice, variety of freshly baked pastries, omelets by one's request etc. Only negative thing was the noise coming from the street from downstairs cafes that disturbed the sleep from time to time. But still I would definitely go back if given a change!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Erja79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to be able to find a room in this fabulous little hotel. It is nestled in a quiet back corner of Kotor. Everything is within a short walk and parking is accessible from a facility that is very near by saving guest from having to carry luggage long distances. The staff especially Igor, is some of the most responsive we have ever seen. Dinner and breakfast (until noon) are excellent.
VERY MEMORABLE!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Los Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Duomo
Villa Duomo
#2 of 110 in Kotor
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartments Doncic
Apartments Doncic
#13 of 110 in Kotor
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Hippocampus

Address: Stari Grad 489, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range: £75 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Hippocampus 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive four star boutique hotel Hippocampus offers 7 luxurious accommodations with original design. Located in the old city center of Kotor, this intimate boutique hotel offers comfortable and private living. The center of: Elegance. Pleasure. Sophistication. Attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Boutique Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing