We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments Simun

Apartments Simun
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments Simun
Ranked #53 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Located in Muo and clearly sign-posted from the main road, Apartments Simun is situated up a small hill (just past Hotel Sind walking on the left hand-side from Kotor) - I walked from the bus station and it took me about half an hour. On arrival I met the owner Anita and her daughters and they were kind enough to serve me orange juice on the communal terrace and provide me with a map of the locality. There were lovely views of the lake/mountains and the space was clearly popular with guests...There was a shared bathroom (for the rooms) and a washing machine in the bathroom.

I had a small room with couchette bed, armchair and stand-up fan (no balcony/lake view as some of the larger rooms have). It wasn't what I was expecting to be honest but I was reasonably satisfied with it...It felt like 'camping indoors' as I was effectively staying in somebody's spare room...Apart from being rather hot and stuffy it was OK for a short stay and it suited my purposes just fine. Apartments and rooms are both available to let at reasonable prices and for me the service was more or less what it should have been.

My genuine impression is that Apartments Simun may well provide an effective antidote to the popular (though dirty/over-crowded/over-priced) Kotor, with Muo exuding its own brand of laid-back Montenegrin charm...There is a nice little restaurant on the waterfront nearby and a small convenience store a very short walk away...Local taxis ply a trade between Muo and Kotor with the 'old town' being accessible by foot in about half an hour. I would recommend it to budget-minded travellers who are looking for something that is safe, familiar and overall good decent value for money. In short nothing special but not a bad option either.

Room Tip: Unless you're a solo or on a budget then go for a larger room with balcony - I'm sure it mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
In a land far far away
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We thought we had booked an apartment, but we ended up with a small room with 2 couches turned into beds. It was dark and very basic. The "kitchen" facility was not big. There is on-site parking, but it is up a steep and narrow road. The owner is a very nice lady who works hard to make everyone happy. Free wifi is great, and a big balcony. The place is up the hill and away from the water, and about a 20min walk from the Old Town of Kotor. Good for budget travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjfInalandfarfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Magnificient views of Kotor Bay from our balcony! We watched cruise ships sail in and out of the bay. Old town Kotor is on the opposite side and the lighted walls can be seen after dark. The guesthouse is clean, neat, and very well cared for. Our room, with bathroom, was modern and comfortable. The handy kitchenette was well-stocked. Anita and her husband were friendly and helpful. A little hard to find the apartments, as there are no house numbers and signs, but after a phone call, Anita came out to the road to find us and show us the way. So, just call if you have problems finding the apartments. We walked into Old Town Kotor, about 3 km, admiring the views along the way. We will definitely stay here again. I would highly recommend the Apartments Simun--a good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfuljourneys26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have just left our lovely apartment overlooking kotor bay! the view from the balcony was the best in kotor with the calm waters and dramatic mountains! the apartment itself was clean and had everything that you need. the apartment is infact in Muo which is suburb of kotor and it is a half an hour walk to the town but the walk itself is lovely,along the water, i felt you got to know the scenery better! also the beach in the town on the otherside of muo is only about 10mins walk,a more substantial minimarket is also found in this little town. the villa ferri resturant right next to the apartment is also fab,right on the water,tasty reasonably priced food with fantastic service! cannot stress enough how perfect the apartment was, its location and price made the holiday!!! a great way to discover kotor bay and the montenegran coast and get away from the rather tourist trap food and souvener shops which are so abundant in the old towns(although the walk up the wall was fantastic)!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omitynomity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

we rent the bedroom which are located in a family house with shared bathroom. It can be noisy as you expect it in a family house.
the view from the terrace was just awesome, only for this point it worth it

the road to get there by Kotor was closed, so we had to go all around by the smalls seaside villages (15 km of a nice road along the seaside)

To get to kotor, you can do it by walk, it's about 2km or by taxi but you can pick it up only from about 1 km from the place as the road was closed when we've been there

There is no signage, to find it, we had to ask the friendly lady from the grocery of the village before to call the owner to wait for us down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Ferri
Villa Ferri
#26 of 96 in Kotor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
House 44
0.0 mi away
Apartments Doncic
Apartments Doncic
#25 of 96 in Kotor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#45 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muo Apartments
Muo Apartments
#15 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartments Windrose
Apartments Windrose
#3 of 96 in Kotor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Simun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Simun

Property: Apartments Simun
Address: Muo bb, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apartments Simun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing