We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Ferri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ferri
Ranked #23 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a lovely family-run small guesthouse on the other side of the bay from Kotor.  After a slightly hairy drive (because of the very narrow road on the side of the bay opposite Kotor) we saw the sign for Villa Ferri and parked up nearby.

We were greeted with great enthusiasm by the very traditional family and shown up to a spacious room with kichen area and quirky en suite. The room was clean and functional, and the view over to Kotor was pretty stunning.

We did have the breakfast here, and it was very good value considering how much we were given. And we did swim out from the villa's outdoor area, which was quite nice.

But beware - it is definitely not 15 minutes to walk into Kotor. It's perhaps 25 minutes to the amazing Galion restaurant, but consider a taxi if you want to venture all the way to Kotor old town. If you carry on along the very narrow road the other way around the bay you can walk to a small nearby village which has a very local bar and a hotel where you can have a meal if you do want to explore locally.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJonazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cintiac
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

we were there in June. Such an inexpensive propriety and so lovely! The people there are so kind
my son cut himself on the barnacles, the people were so caring and helpful
the rooms are spacious and clean. The location is great if you have a car but if you don't it is a good 15 minutes to the town. the restaurant is the best!
I will definitely come back and stay for a least 1 week
Kotor was my favorite place during my 20 days trip.

Room Tip: Cab ride to the town is 2E not bad at all if you do not have a car. if you are travelling with kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cintiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Was recommended this restaurant and decided to try it out. Everything was as described to us - table on waterfront location with fantastic views. Food amazing - freshly cooked so had to wait but it was worth it. The portions are huge and would suggest smaller sizes which they were willing to do. Nothing was too much trouble. The family who ran it were very friendly and helpful in our choice of food and local wines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glynis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pristina, Kosovo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Villa Ferri is an excellent choice and very good value for money, the hotel is a charming little place with wonderful view and wonderful hosts. Rooms are very clean and the location is wonderful. There are boats which you can use to visit the wonderful Kotor Bay, the place has a very rich cultural and historical heritage which is priceless.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aulona a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Villa Ferri is a lovely little guest house situated right on the bay about a 20-25 minute walk outside of Old Town Mostar. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with gorgeous views. The hosts are lovely and are happy to help with transportation or provide recommendations. There is a cozy little restaurant downstairs that has tasty, simple fare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halliejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

As all other reviews, Villa Ferri is in a fabulous location right on the edge of the waters of the Boku and eating in the warm evenings with the lights shimmering in the water, was so beautiful and romantic. You can sit out on a sunbed and swim in the clear water. We chose the room with the balcony directly over the water and it was wonderful sitting out taking the surrounding views in of the mountains, the walled city of Kotor and all the boats. However the room was very dated and faded and needs an update - that was the only downside and I didn't find the bed very comfortable.

The hosts are delightful and the food is to die for in the little konaba. We were very sad to leave there.

Room Tip: Just go for the room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed ten nights in this villa, finding it an excellent base from which to explore Montenegro as well as to laze and swim.

We were delighted at the quality of the freshly cooked food which comprised of only the best local produce from the sea or market. We noticed that other travellers would use the villa's taverna for their 'special' last night meal as it was so romantic and gorgeous. It might be advisable to reserve a table as the water's edge terrace quickly fills up.
Being able to swim in warm, clear blue water without having to cross a road or walk more than a few steps was a real joy. The villa is one of the few places that is on the edge of the water and not over the other side of the road.

The fact that the villa is family run gave a real authentic feel to our stay. Language was no barrier. Ask the daughter for information on where to go and what to see as she helped us to see a side of Montenegro that maybe few tourists get to experience. We were also advised as to what sort of prices to pay for transport, Prior to arriving we had used the internet to book a taxi from a reputable firm to take us to the villa, this cost us 25 euro ...on our return journey to the airport we knew to pay 8 euro ...a big difference.
The room we had didn't have a terrace however it was spacious and served our needs very well. We were not disturbed by any noise at night and although we had three windows so a dual aspect of picture perfect views we chose to close them and use the air conditioning at night to keep cool. If the owners recommend a dish please be advised by them as they really know their dishes ...squid filled with shrimps (eight inch shrimps !) ...The risotto ...perfect.
We only had breakfast at the villa once as we chose to go into the walled city or use the local bakers.The breakfast at the villa was fresh bread, a variety of cold cured meats, an omelette of either cheese or meat, plus coffee and orange juice.
The bus into town costs 1 euro each. A taxi will stretch you to three euros or you can walk the picturesque road which, without breaks for swimming or eating will take you about three quarters of an hour in the full heat of the day (so less for cooler moments). All in all a perfect time spent in a perfect place. We tried to leave a thank you tip but this was refused by the family. Wow that doesn't happen often.
Couples chose to stay for their honeymoon ...that must say something...but just because they and we liked it doesn't mean you will...stay somewhere else and leave this gem for those in the know.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.9 mi away
Apartments Simun
Apartments Simun
#52 of 97 in Kotor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Duomo
Villa Duomo
#2 of 97 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartments Windrose
Apartments Windrose
#3 of 97 in Kotor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartments Doncic
Apartments Doncic
#27 of 97 in Kotor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muo Apartments
Muo Apartments
#17 of 97 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 97 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ferri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ferri

Property: Villa Ferri
Address: Main Road 2 | Muo bb, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Ferri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing