We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Old Town!”
Review of Hippocampus

Hippocampus
Ranked #56 of 96 Restaurants in Kotor
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great boutique hotel in Old Town!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were staying in apartments during our visit to Montenegro and Croatia. We decided to stay at Hippocampus on our last night in Montenegro and it was a great place hidden on the edge of old town. The hotel is very small, but the staff is amazing and very helpful (and they speak English very well). The standard room was comparable to some higher end boutique hotels with amenities such as robes and slippers. It is also next to a local wine bar that has plenty of outdoor seating and live music most nights. The bathroom was quite large, especially the shower. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel if you are in Kotor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jirard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
324 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch at Hippocampus,”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went to Hippocampus on a warm day and the tables inside are very cool and comfortable. The food was very tasty and fresh with inventive flavours. The fresh tuna salad with black sesame was beautiful. The outdoor tables are misted by a series of sprayers overhead. There is also a balcony to dine on but we were inside. Lunch was very reasonable priced.

Later that day, we went back for Aperol Spritz and had excellent Aperol Spritz, but found the price breathtaking. $12 euros each was very expensive, they are usually about $4 -6 euro and we wouldn't have ordered them if we had asked first. Overall, I would go back but make sure you know the prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giffoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricy but nice”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Really nice location and excellent service. Lovely wine and food in big portions. Most expensive place went to in Kotor by some margin

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGW138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic rooftop dining”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We found some tables nestled in a tiny street, not realizing it was part of a hotel. The waiter asked if we would prefer to eat on the rooftop terrace, which he offered to show us. No water views, instead rustic terra cotta rooftops of nearby apartments and views looking at the old city wall and the old fortress at the top of the mountain. Its a good idea to do this walk before lunch! Great food and wine well away from the tourist filled piazzas.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippocampus also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing