We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful little break from the heat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Museum

Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$22.10*
and up
Old Town of Kotor Walking Tour
Ranked #17 of 96 things to do in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightful little break from the heat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really enjoyed this little museum. I loved the room decor, the wall paintings - everything except perhaps the actual maritime part. I don't even remember that, except for the model of a ship. The weapons display was rather interesting, but mostly I jut loved the furnishings. The wood work was just stunning. Shows the craftsmanship that went into it.

We spent a day in Kotor with our tour group, and this was on the agenda. As I said, I liked it a lot. The City Tour was a lot of information I soon forgot, but the town itself is so charming you can just wander the streets and alleys for hours. It's a great place for sitting with a beer and just relaxing, people watching. My husband walked the wall, but the first part is a killer for anyone with acrophobia and poor balance, so I decided to shop instead. Kotor was a nice relaxing day trip in the midst of a busy schedule.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    64
    24
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
278 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“History of Kotor's Maritime Development”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

There's not tons to do in Kotor, and we found this small, but nice museum enjoyable. I am biased to all things nautical, and given the importance that ships and trade made to the development of Kotor, this is a really good stop on your visit.

Not only are there model ships and naval and maritime artifacts (with an English guide), but there is a rotating (changing) modern exhibit, which I liked a lot. Your ticket is a pretty postcard, which makes a nice souvenir.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
251 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Informative museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a small museum that's quite interesting to see, and doable in about 40 minutes. You can use an audio guide, but I found it not needed, as the information is in English. Of course, you'll get more from the audio guide.

For me the decorated swords were the most special to see, along with reading about the various captains.

You will need to store any large bags. And there are no bathroom facilities. I thought that was quite odd for a museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjpileggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A well though out collection for those interested in maritime history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I just can't agree with a previous comment about the Maritime Museum. It obviously concerns itself with all things connected with the region's close relationship with the sea but if you listen to the audio guide you realise what extraordinarily brave men featured in the local history. The pieces of furniture and costumes were also really interesting. I've seen rooms full of armour all over the place but never seen such decorated swords and weapons used by pirates. Don't go with a guide, take your time and wander around at leisure and breathe in the history. I did see a couple of families with small children, but I can't think that children would be interested enough in the place - not enough bells and whistles for them !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jclarke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“There are better things in Kotor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Museum was a part of an excursion around and in Kotor itself. If I hadn't been there and instead had been strolling in the wonderful lanes of the city, I would have found better things to see. The Maritime Museum completely disappointed me. Our guide made the visit even worse, because she was speaking so much for details noone was interested in and after five minutes noone would remember a thing. Looking at the expression of other people in the same group, It was obvious how they were feeling:
They wanted to finish with it, as soon as possible.
I understand that the Museum together with the Cathedral are, according to the locals, the main attractions in the city. According to my opinion though, Kotor's beauty is outside these buildings, in the city's streets, in the buildings façades, in the fortifications, etc.
If you have only some hours to spend in Kotor, like myself, time is very precious. I wouldn't recommend the Museum to my friends, to tell you the truth. There are better options in the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maritime Museum also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing