We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip back in History”
Review of Hotel Vardar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vardar
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Without having a reservation in Kotor we got so lucky and found Hotel Vardar! For me this was one of my favorite hotels. We walked into the walled city and there is was. (We checked around for another hotel called the Astoria and it was interesting but I could not stand the larger than life size paintings of figures above the beds.) In part because the hotel was not full we were able to get a an upgraded room with a view of the square below. Standing by the window I was transported back in time imagining the history that took place below. I loved it. It could be noisy with music playing at anytime and especially in the summer so be aware. The complementary breakfast was not buffet style but the breakfast menu offered was adequate. The staff recommended 2 restaurants and the first one Scala Santa was good. Luckily no one was smoking inside that night. We had fresh trout and loved it. The second dinner was at the Galion and it had a great daytime view but at night the reflection of all the indoor lights against the glass wall detracted from the view. We wanted to take a boat to the island in Perast but the time of year did not allow that. We took the bus anyway and had a nice snack on the waterfront and took in all the nautical history. But the best excursion was the walk to the top of the hill overlooking the old city below. It was a fun 45 minute walk with great postcard views. Kotor was a wonderful surprise…

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the most quiet rooms in case of music playing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laflaflaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a great find for the price. This hotel is right smack dab in the middle of the Old City in Kotor. Very nicely-appointed rooms and superior staff. I highly recommend this hotel. Be advised that it is a little noisy at night, but that's not the fault of the hotel. People in the Old City tend to be a bit loud.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_bob231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We arrived in Kotor without any hotel reservations. We walked through the main gate and found the Vardar right in front of us. We didn't check in immediately. Instead we walked about 100 yards to the south to a new hotel, the Astoria. The rooms were the same in price so the only issue we had was whether we liked the property at one over the other. The Astoria is more upscale with a boutique atmosphere. Designer furniture and wall graphics and decorations reflect modern European trends. The Vardar was more traditional in its furnishings. The location, price and noise levels were the same. The rooms up front face the streets of the old town and even in the winter time are noisy for both hotels.

We chose the Vardar. I liked it. My girlfriend thought it was a bit noisy. But that is the price I think for staying in the middle of the old city where a festive atmosphere prevails. There are some rooms in the back for both hotels that may be quieter.

The breakfast at this hotel is not buffet style like most hotels. The complimentary entrees are very limited. Still the offerings are adequate.

We had two recommedations on restaurants from the staff. The first is the Galion, a place across the water from the old city (a 10 minute walk). The view from the inside is not as nice as we thought because of the reflections from the glass walls. The entrees were okay. The hotel gives a 10% off discount here. Better was the second restaurant - Scala Santa, a short walk from the hotel inside the old city. Try their trout fillet.

Two excursions to think about. Take the local bus to Perast. We had lunch at one of the many restaurants that line the water there and the view of the islands is best there. Boats to the islands start from there also. Second, take the walk to the top of hill overlooking the old city (we took 45 minutes or so taking our time and taking photos). The views are spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

An old building in the historic centre of Kotor has been refurbished using high quality materials and design. The room I had was pretty small, the large TV hanged from the wall opposite the bed. Bathroom was very good and clean. Bed also very good. BUT, as this hotel is in the historic center, the windows overlook narrow alleys, which can be dark in winter. I would not stay in the room for more than sleeping - the room is dark...
Breakfast is Ok as is the service. Probably the best option for Kotor.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank diver2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Vardar with 2 of our friends during our visiting to the Balkans to celebrate my wife's birthday and our anniversary. And it was a nice change after staying in busy Dubrovnik. Great location right inside the walled city with free parking outside. So make sure you drop off your luggage first outside the main gate before you park the car. Wifi is spotty but it works great in the lobby and the restaurant. Excellent service. Decent breakfast buffet. But you can ask for omelet and they will make it for you. I highly recommend the cappuccino there. The management team was very helpful and nice. They made great recommendation for restaurants. Make sure you walk up to the fort early in the morning before the tourists get in. The harbor is very nice to visit too and it's right outside the gate (5 min walk from the hotel)

Room Tip: Don't get a room in front of the hotel. Get one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Almuaddib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Kotor is 70 km from Dubrovnik and the drive took about 1 hour and 45 minutes.

Do not spend 25 Euro for rental car agency permission to drive from Croatia into Montenegro. Just make sure there is a green card with the rental car paperwork, which you will be requested to provide at the border.

Hotel Vardar is located in the walled city of Kotor. It is a beautiful 4 story building.

Pros:
Free wifi (comes in and out)
Free great breakfast buffet
Clean and luxurious
Free parking
10% discount to Galion Restaurant (#1 in Kotor on TripAdvisor)


Cons:
Street noise in the room from persons walking the adjacent street
Parking is outside the city walls and requires a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location overlooking a square in the old town. We couldn't stay the night (as we had to return to our cruise ship) but it all looked very nice inside. We sat outside and enjoyed good food and drink and friendly service. This is definitely somewhere to consider trying.......

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kotor Sunrise Apartments
Kotor Sunrise Apartments
#58 of 110 in Kotor
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 110 in Kotor
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#18 of 110 in Kotor
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vardar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vardar

Address: Stari Grad 476, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vardar 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vardar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardar Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing