We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and cosy place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vardar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vardar
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice and cosy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've visited this hotel twice. Rooms are very nice and spacious and arranged and designed tastefully. Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town of Kotor and can be a bit noisy in the evenings. All music in cafes turns off at 1am so a town becomes quiet and dreamy. Hotel itself is not a place for a ten-day vacation since you don't have place to hang vet beach towels an bathing suits. Beware of water hick-ups but is a general problem of Montenegrin seaside.

Room Tip: 302 veritical bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    61
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
38
96
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent locatıon in the old town - just need to cross the Square of Arms after entering through the Sea Gate. The hotel is superb, rooms are luxury with very elegant furniture. The floor heating in the bathroom is really amazing! The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. We were so enchanted by our stay in hotel Vardar, that spontaneously decided to extend it for one more night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
688 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This beautiful hotel is situated at the very heart of Kotor city, the most wonderful location you can just imagine. Rooms are perfect, and we had a luck to get one facing main city square. Staff in hotel is extremely polite and you can see that they are happy to see you . Every detail is good, hotel is perfectly clean, rooms are functional and beautiful with every amenity that you need for your stay. Next vacation here, the same hotel that's for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms facing main square are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We thought the food at this terrific location would be pretty good but sadly very disappointed. Two medium steaks were refrigerator cold and raw when cut into and put us off the whole meal and evening. Such a shame!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharrron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loved this hotel for the accomodation, lovely bathrooms, very clean and had everything you could want except our friends in room 205 had a poor bathroom but on asking were moved to 206, we had 207 which was lovely. Lots of space to hang and store things which is often lacking these days and the bar/cafe area outside was really comfortable and a great sun trap and good for people watching. The big let down here is the breakfast, there were not many guests yet they could not keep items stocked up, we continuously had to ask for bread, cups, glasses for the juice, only seemed to put 3 of everything out and the poor young girl working there couldn't keep up -it gave the impression of very poor management. Choice of items was not great either. Overall would definitely recommend but don't expect a great breakfast.

Room Tip: avoid room 205, 207 was great although no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

It is not possible to choose a better hotel location in Kotor (right on main square) in what must be one of the most attractive cities in the world. On Saturday night the natives get a little noisy but that was solved by closing windows and turning AC on. At all other times it was peaceful and serene. Not such an expansive breakfast menu as elsewhere but more than adequate hot and cold choices.

Room Tip: Front rooms (junior suites) have good view over main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Without having a reservation in Kotor we got so lucky and found Hotel Vardar! For me this was one of my favorite hotels. We walked into the walled city and there is was. (We checked around for another hotel called the Astoria and it was interesting but I could not stand the larger than life size paintings of figures above the beds.) In part because the hotel was not full we were able to get a an upgraded room with a view of the square below. Standing by the window I was transported back in time imagining the history that took place below. I loved it. It could be noisy with music playing at anytime and especially in the summer so be aware. The complementary breakfast was not buffet style but the breakfast menu offered was adequate. The staff recommended 2 restaurants and the first one Scala Santa was good. Luckily no one was smoking inside that night. We had fresh trout and loved it. The second dinner was at the Galion and it had a great daytime view but at night the reflection of all the indoor lights against the glass wall detracted from the view. We wanted to take a boat to the island in Perast but the time of year did not allow that. We took the bus anyway and had a nice snack on the waterfront and took in all the nautical history. But the best excursion was the walk to the top of the hill overlooking the old city below. It was a fun 45 minute walk with great postcard views. Kotor was a wonderful surprise…

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the most quiet rooms in case of music playing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laflaflaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vardar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vardar

Property: Hotel Vardar
Address: Stari Grad 476, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vardar 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vardar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardar Hotel Kotor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing