We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate there twice in one day it was good!”
Review of Tanjga

Tanjga
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ate there twice in one day it was good!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

After being at first sceptical this lovely place is very welcoming and serves quality food at incredible prices. My friends and I went for lunch and then again for dinner we enjoyed it so much. After being staggered at the small amount we had to pay for the steaks we ordered (none of us could finish them as they were so big) we were then invited for drinks with the owner and his family. Overall this was by far the most enjoyable meal that I had in Kotor and cost the least!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    82
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasty bbq food with genuine family hospitality”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

During our 10 day stay in Kotor we ate out in all sorts of restaurants. Many of the more pricey restaurants rather disappointed although some had wonderful locations. Tanjga exceeded our expectations with their enchanting hospitality and seriously good nosh - such a fun place!

In main a top quality family owned butcher, there are also a few tables and a large bbq in the shop. Hot food is cooked to eat in or take away. Icy cold wine, beer and soft drinks are available from the fridge. They also serve roasted vegetables, salads and some local Montenegrin specialties.

Here's how it works. Be sure that you are hungry! Say hi to Boris, Sneza and family (who all speak English) and take a seat. Select your meats (various cuts of beef, pork, chicken, veal, calves liver, a thick bacon slice, burger, various marinades etc.), roasted vegetables, salads, bread and fries. Then sit having helped yourself to a cold drink from the fridge and enjoy.

When the bill comes - you will be amazed at the value and hopefully leave a big tip. The venue is basic and might not suit all but for fun, hospitality, great food and amazing value look no further. Do give it a try - the shop is 2 minute's walk from the main gate into Kotor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MattFlorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Kotor-at the round about.
Walked past several times and always busy-decided to venture in-what a find.
Very helpful,friendly service-takeaway or eat in.
Choice of meats exceptional-we decided on Burgers-rolls and burgers the size of dinner plates and you can chose the salad fillings
Great find and cheap
Certainly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bialystok, Poland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you're boss”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a beautiful place with beautiful people with nature (boss Boro&Boro). After the first visit I knew that I would be going there for end of the life and 1min wait for meal there, isn't a problem, a on the contrary as u know. And dish is a fantastic, perfect.. BETTER than everything in kotor and also cheap. Nice !!!
If you're from croatia better get away.. :D
Mirek with family from Poland, Białystok.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MiroBPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“yummy genuine pleskavica!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have been to Kotor for this year's summer holiday. I have lived in the old city, and, although it is filled with nice and cozy restaurants and pubs, we have eaten at Tanjga.
First of all, because it was right across the place we bought our daily water and various supplies (you always find something you have not previously thought you might need, when you go on holiday with a kid). For few days in a row, we only looked at the nicely roasted chicken on the other side of the road. Finally, we gave it a shot, and it was a winner!
Secondly, because it is a family run business entirely willing to please the customer. There were two guys with a fair knowledge of English, presenting the dishes.
Last, but not least, because their pleskavica, cevapi, and all other Montenegrin dishes are absolutely gorgeous. There is no place you find them in the old city.
As you enter, you'll be amazed on the various vases with all sorts of meats prepared in fine marinades and sauces, ready to be fried and served with vegetables. The meat is roasted in front of you, the way you want it (rare, medium rare..), the tomatoes and other vegetables are handy (fresh or roasted), the bread is fine, the mayo / ketchup / sour cream are fresh, the hot peppercorns are fully and the coke / beer is cold.
Why didn't I give the full 5 bullets to the restaurant? Because of the setting. It was a former butcher shop, and the huge meat hangers are still there. So are the old white tiles on the walls, and the plastic covers on the 3-4 tables.
The look is kinda shabby, but the food is absolutely a must!
And ... why not give 3-4 Euro per meal per person? ;)

It is located right at the end of the marina, 2 minutes walk from the gate end of old city, or 5 minutes walk from the main entrance, before the turnabout to the tunnel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaNicolau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tanjga also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Tanjga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing