We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably 3.5 stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stara Srbija

Stara Srbija
Ranked #6 of 60 Restaurants in Nis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Probably 3.5 stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Above average food in a very nice atmosphere. We were there on a tour with 45 others, stop for lunch break. Nice looking restaurant, food was definitely above average and good. Service was good and pleasant.
Outside, the area around the restaurant was pleasant and a quick stroll around there was also pleasant.
It's in the center of the city, so if you got time, you can visit other sights around there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
370 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Average food in a pleasant enough place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Went there one evening with a couple of friends as I remembered near the top of the TripAdvisor list. Very slow to be offered drink or menu and then had to wait an age for things to arrive. The place wasn't particularly busy but they only appeared to have two or three waiters working. Food was pleasant enough but nothing to really rave about, basic Serbian menu that you get anywhere else in the region. Prices good compared with belgrade but that's what you'd expect I suppose. All in all not a bad place if you'r struggling to think of somewhere to go in the town centre but nothing to rave about either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 165854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Lovely food & great service in a nostalgic Serbian atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stopped in here on a rainy April night for a light, pre-cinema meal, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The restaurant is quite spacious, seating 250, and very tastefully decorated in an atmospheric combination on limestone walls, timber accents, antique-looking Serbian accessories and lovely, large pendant lamps. Most impressive is a large original painting of the Nis fortress, which if I understood correctly is either from 1876, or commemorating the Serbian Ottoman war. Either way, breathtaking.

We requested seating in a non-smoking area, and although it appears there is no such thing, we were led to an area in the back, where the air was nice and fresh (there is an al fresco area for warm weather as well). The service was attentive and faultless. When our waiter realised we were ignorant anglophones, he sent a colleague over to ask "if he could help".

With the help of the waiter, we ordered a mixed salad of cucumber, cabbage and tomato to start, followed by an order of grilled vegetables and a goulash with mashed potato, washed down with a couple of beers and a coffee. All were affordable and very tasty, with generous portions.

There was a lovely selection of wines available, including one with a likeness of Tito on it (the waiter said it is very good).

Shame it was our last night in town, or no doubt we'd be back.

http://www.starasrbija.com/

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nis, Serbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Kafana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nice place in city center, great food, serbian national cuisine with national drinks make this place worth a visit.Staff is nice to. If you want fine taste of Serbian cuisine go there wont regret.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank puschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nis, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The best restaurant in the center of the city. Food is excellent, good service, fair prices. At the evening with live musicians.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veljko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stara Srbija also viewed

Nis, Central Serbia
Nis, Central Serbia
 
Nis, Central Serbia
Nis, Central Serbia
 
Nis, Central Serbia
Nis, Central Serbia
 

Been to Stara Srbija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing