We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars not enough”
Review of Motel Sunce

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mostar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Sunce
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars not enough”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I arrived by bus on a Friday evening (the stop is across the road from the train/bus stations in Mostar) - not many buses per day. I was met, taken to a lovely room, and given a wonderful meal (booked in advance). All meals were superb local cuisine. On Saturday, with a packed lunch, I was given a lift to the footpath up Velez; I phoned to get a pickup on my return. On Sunday I borrowed a bike (well maintained, helmet available) and explored the plateau, its views over the Mostar valley, castle and small villages. I'd happily have stayed longer in the area, and would love to return to this hotel - I could not imagine either a better base, or hosts with more hospitality and enthusiasm for sharing what is a fascinating and different region of Bosnia.

A few of my photos of the area are here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mike_mineter/sets/72157631604006849

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Modern hotel in a village of new buildings but in amongst this are the traditional village activities. Walk the village at 0730am and see the shepherdesses leading out the sheep for the day. Breakfast is traditional with local jams, supper is honest, simple local food. About 25 mins from Mostar but a different word! Excellent host and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Truly a special place. Ismet led us to snowy mountain tops, ruined castles, drinkable rivers, medieval villages, Bogomil necropoli, lent us bikes for evening rides down country roads, and fed us more than our share of delicious local food. Could not ask for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Motel Sunce which was a fantastic decision. 2 nights is not really enough to relax and enjoy the environs. Whilst Mostar is much too touristy for an overnight stay, it's an easy 20-30 minute drive from the motel as a day trip.
The food at Motel Sunce is very good - all local produce and we had a 3 course dinner every night as well as huge breakfasts. We also had good local wine (at extra cost) and enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace for the sunset.
Ismet is a very welcoming host and has a lot of local information for hiking, bilking and general sightseeing. He even has Ordnance Survey standard maps for hikers.
There is plenty of parking and the road leading up to the motel is very good tarmac with a few shepherds with their flocks!
We slept the best few nights sleep we've had in a Beth long time here - so restful!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed there last week and agree whole heartedly with all the positive reviews. If you are looking for a Disco this isn't the place for you, but if you like good food, nice people and a facinating landscape this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Widuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My boyfriend spied a section of the Bradt Guide that mentioned this place and the relaxation to be had up in the hills behind Mostar and it did not disappoint. We were frying in Mostar and after a watered down beer and coffee, some non-touristy, real life Herzegovina was much needed. This place is amazing and really worth the trip! We stayed and extra day too. Ismet and his wife are amazing hosts, cooks and could not be helpful enough including helping us hike and bike the truly stunning hills. It was like our very own Exodus trip and the food was a culinary tour in itself. But you don't have to be as outdoorsy as us; just chilling outside the motel watching the subtle daily goings on of this mini village with a coffee or a beer was an activity in itself. They can also organise herb picking trips on the spot and there is tv and wifi. It is also by no means out of the way...the key attractions of Mostar and Blagaj are there to investigate. We also climbed Velez and saw many layers of history from ancient times to present day. Oh and the rooms are clean and most importantly the temperature up here is 10degrees cooler in the middle of the summer. We really enjoyed this.

Room Tip: Plenty of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the Motel Sunce for one night as part of a short tour of Herzegovina before a villa holiday in Montenegro. We found it through website reviews and are very glad we did. We had some trouble booking via the hotel's website, I think because the lovely owner Ismet speaks no English at all, but it was nowhere near full even though this was a Friday in August, and we imagine that one could usually find a room there without booking.

The motel's location is extraordinarily peaceful, though this may not last as they are improving the roads that lead to it - the road from the south (near Blagaj) is now a very easy drive though the one direct from Mostar (quite hard to find but well worth it when you do) is still a narrow and twisty road up into the mountains and across the beautiful and fascinating 'moonscape' of the area.

Our room was a good size and good value; the (fixed menu) meal was great; and the surroundings were all enjoyable - walks, the sheep that were driven up the road passing the hotel in the evening; the moving war memorial opposite the hotel. We would go back without hesitation if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mostar hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden Villa
Eden Villa
#1 of 15 in Mostar
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mepas
Hotel Mepas
#2 of 15 in Mostar
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Student Hotel Mostar
Student Hotel Mostar
#12 of 15 in Mostar
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mostar
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija
0.0 mi away
Motel Deny
Motel Deny
#3 of 15 in Mostar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Sunce

Property: Motel Sunce
Address: Podvelez b.b., Mostar 88000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mostar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing