We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to be the best place to stay in Mostar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shangri La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri La
Ranked #3 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Mostar
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Got to be the best place to stay in Mostar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent a couple of very relaxing days here in late august. The place looked like new and was very clean and tidy. Location ideally placed in centre of old town just walking distance from the bridge and lots of the best restaurants. A/C and wifi in each room very welcome and could only be improved with a stronger wifi signal on the rooftop area and maybe small fridge in each room. Great view over the old town from the roof balcony where we sunbathed and listened to music. The owners were brilliant. They were extremely friendly and helpful and booked tours for us, gave great advice and even drove us to the train station when we left! Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    43
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
118
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights here. The room was clean, modern and the owners did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The room is located in a superb location,right next to the old town up a narrow amd steep alley.
I made the right choice for my stay in Mostar. Compliments

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

No wonder this is house is so aptly named Shangri La, it is certainly as close to any earthly B&B paradise you could expect to find, when in fact the last thing you would call Shangri La is a B&B.

You can certainly get a bed at the Shangri La and you can order a wonderful breakfast too, but you can't expect to stay in such luxury as this in any normal understanding of the term B&B when the house, the decor and the rooms surpass the standards of many 4* hotels.

Located literally a stone's throw from the stari most (old bridge), the friendly and helpful owners, Nermin and Dzenita, have transformed a war ravaged ruin over the last 5 years to a relaxing haven with a feel of the East and rooms with a touch of decadence and class. What they have achieved privately with this grand house is only heightened by the reminder of the wrecked administrative building next door still awaiting its fate.

Given its recent sad history, visiting Mostar was a special and moving experience, being able to stay at the Shangri La to do so was a special experience in its own right too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrellj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Shangri La.

Our room was clean, bright and airy with a great En-suite.

The hosts were very welcoming and spent a lot of time helping us organise a day trip (after trying to help us hire a car - if you want to, book in advance!)

Breakfast was great, lots of choice.

An additional bonus to this place was the rooftop terrace with fantastic views over Mostar.

Overall we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_O_Shetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wow - what a place to stay! The owners were lovely. There was an issue with parking which wasn't their fault. They paid for our car to be parked at a nearby car park. They helped carry our luggage up the hill. The room was lovely and the aircon was very welcome. The best part of this hotel is their fantastic terrace. I could have spent all night up there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent one night at Shangri-La in Mostar in early July and it was our favorite accommodation on a two week trip. The location was excellent as it was only a few minutes walk to the Old Bridge and numerous shops and restaurants. Don't be scared off by the surrounding buildings that are still in ruins from the war in the nineties; Shangri-La is thoroughly modern and clean and our hosts were the friendliest we encountered on the trip. The rooftop terrace offered beautiful views of Mostar and was the perfect venue for the six of us to enjoy happy hour at the end of the day's journey. Breakfast offered a wide range of choices including freshly scrambled eggs----a real treat after a week of eggs that were in warming dishes for who knows how long! Shangri-La is aptly named and is also a very good value. Don't worry about parking your car----the staff will do what they can to get you a spot right at the front door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nicely renovated building among ruins just a block away from the entrance of the old town and the bridge. Interior artistically decorated, rooms clean and modern, more like a 4* hotel. A nice terasse on the roof with a beautiful view of the town. Hosts gives you a warm and hearty welcome . very service-minded people. Breakfast very decent. The location is excellent, central but quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helge_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mostar hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mepas
Hotel Mepas
#2 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Villa
Eden Villa
#1 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija
0.1 mi away
Pansion Cardak
Pansion Cardak
#1 of 66 in Mostar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Anri Mostar
Villa Anri Mostar
#2 of 66 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La

Property: Shangri La
Address: Kalhanska 10 | (M. Tita 151), Mostar 88000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 117 Speciality Lodging in Mostar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shangri La 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing