We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem, great location even though hard to find”
Review of Shangri La

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri La
Ranked #3 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Mostar
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A real gem, great location even though hard to find”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I think this place is in great condition and kept very well. The couple running it are very kind and helpful, we liked staying there very much. The only problem is finding the place because the small road is blocked and you have to park your car down on the street. I think they need a better sign showing where the place is but I can guess authorities might not allow for that. Anyways, it is very close to the Mostar bridge and affordable as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blckeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    44
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
122
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came in late at night and the owners where waiting for us and showed us our rooms. The rooms where nice and the bathroom clean and modern. Going to bed now with a good feeling.
This hotel is also located 3 minutes from the bridge with several restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The couple running this beautiful place is charming, most hospitable and helpful.The house is on top of a hill. Coming from the bus terminal it first seems a longish walk (actually easy 10 minutes along the Marsala Tita) and as it is on top of a hill off the main street not so easy to find. But once there you are actually a couple of minutes from the old town and the bridge. And they will have better signs up soon. So the location and everything else is excellent and I highly and warmly recommend this lovely place to you all!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This place is true to its name: It’s a jewel of a place located next door to a bombed out school. Lovely hosts and a nice breakfast. The room was great – and it was extremely quiet. It’s a little tricky to find. A very short walk to the old city - excellent location.

TWO IMPORTANT TIPS: When your GPS says you’ve arrived, STOP YOUR CAR AND PARK. Then look for the "Shangri-La sign. If you miss it, you have to cross the river to get back (you can learn from our mistake).

Don't miss the terrace on the top floor for excellent views

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCNicolet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent 2 nights in this beautifully designed hotel. Room we had was large, tastefully furnished, with a modern ensuite bathroom. It had a rooftop view of Mostar. It's a bit hard to find since it's off an alley up a short hill (be warned that it may be difficult carrying large luggage), next to a bombed out building from the 1990s war. But the hosts were wonderful, good breakfast available for extra charge, and comfortable facilities. It's just across the street from the old town and famous bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityguy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent a couple of very relaxing days here in late august. The place looked like new and was very clean and tidy. Location ideally placed in centre of old town just walking distance from the bridge and lots of the best restaurants. A/C and wifi in each room very welcome and could only be improved with a stronger wifi signal on the rooftop area and maybe small fridge in each room. Great view over the old town from the roof balcony where we sunbathed and listened to music. The owners were brilliant. They were extremely friendly and helpful and booked tours for us, gave great advice and even drove us to the train station when we left! Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshore-tiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights here. The room was clean, modern and the owners did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. The room is located in a superb location,right next to the old town up a narrow amd steep alley.
I made the right choice for my stay in Mostar. Compliments

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mostar hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mepas
Hotel Mepas
#2 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Villa
Eden Villa
#1 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#4 of 15 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Kriva Cuprija
0.1 mi away
Pansion Cardak
Pansion Cardak
#1 of 70 in Mostar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Anri Mostar
Villa Anri Mostar
#2 of 70 in Mostar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La

Property: Shangri La
Address: Kalhanska 10 | (M. Tita 151), Mostar 88000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Region: Bosnia and Herzegovina > Herzegovina-Neretva Canton > Mostar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Mostar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shangri La 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shangri La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing