We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Family Hotel at Renaissance Square
Ranked #1 of 47 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I can only reiterate what most other reviewers have said, Dimitar is friendly, welcoming and helpful. I was particularly impressed by the incredibly whiter than white bed linen and towels and thought the hotel restaurant was very good value. Breakfast is plentiful in typical Bulgarian style! I was only there for a couple of days as I was visiting a local dentist (from London), but immediately felt relaxed and at home. The old town is beautiful and I was lucky enough to catch an opera by Verdi at the Roman amphitheatre (Atilla the Hun!), accidentally because we'd gone to the restaurant which overlooks the amphitheatre. So we got a fantastic view and great acoustics without buying tickets. I'll definitely go back to the Renaissance when I next have to visit Plovdiv.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHiveE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I am rather late in writing this review as we stayed here last summer but I have been meaning to write a review, so here it is. This is a lovely little hotel run by it's owner, who is very helpful and friendly. He speaks excellent English and is able to advise on places to go, to eat etc. The hotel is decorated and furnished in a typical traditional Bulgarian style, but has all the modern amenities that would be expected. I found the rooms to be comfortable and very pleasant, and the breakfast served by the owner was different each day. There is parking immediately outside the hotel, and the hotel is situated at the edge of the old town, although it is not far to walk to the new town and all it's facilities.
I would recommend this hotel for it's traditional feel, and helpful owner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square which is much more interesting than the rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife is from Plovdiv and this is the place we stay when visiting her family. Three things make this a great hotel: the host Dimitar, the location near the old town, and the historic style of the hotel.

Dimitar will go out of his way to make your stay great. I can't say enough good things about him. The breakfast is good, it's always a classic Bulgarian breakfast.

You can see my pictures from the first review.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and tell Dimitar what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sand_ca_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We should have stayed longer at the Hotel Renaissance in Plovdiv. It's in a charming area of town close to the old city and the pedestrian mall downtown. Our room was lovely and comfortable, the meals were tasty, and the owner was incredibly personable, helpful in every way, and seems to relish his hands-on role in his hotel. Plovdiv is a rewarding city and we could have set up shop here indefinitely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 3 nights in Hotel Renaissance. We walked there from Yug Bus Station (around 20 minutes) and when we arrived we were met by the owner, Dimitar, who throughout our whole stay proved to be extremely helpful and kind. Although we already had made a reservation for a room in particular, he showed us the other room he had free so we could choose which one we preferred. He also gave us all kind of information about the city and he was always there trying to help us in everything we might need. The room we chose was clean and beautifully furnished. The bathroom had shower doors (Bulgarian-style WC usually have an open shower). The breakfast was delicious and different everyday, but as we mentioned that we preferred salty breakfasts rather than sweet ones, they prepared a different breakfast for us the day we were supposed to have a sweet breakfast. And the day we were leaving, as we were going to leave before breakfast time, they prepared some sandwiches for us. Laundry service was also on the house. The man at the reception at night didn't speak any English, but he was so nice that it was easy to understand each other even though we didn't speak any Bulgarian.
The restaurant in the hotel was also very good (10% discount for those staying in the hotel) and the waitresses spoke good English. We had dinner there the three nights we stayed in Plovdiv and we didn't regret it at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel is spic and span, and located up from the street on a hill with an outdoor market nearby. It is a terrific location -- near the pedestrian mall, and the Old City of Plovdiv. Our host could not have been more sincere, well-meaning, or welcoming. He helped us get around the city, offered maps and suggestions for sightseeing, and found us a really nice taxi driver to take us back to Sofia. The outdoor restaurant right next door is charming, as are the waitresses (fantastic traditional Bulgarian cake!!!). I loved that there was always someone at the hotel checking in with us as we left and returned. I love supporting a hotel that is a family's livelihood -- you can tell how much it means to them to do a great job. Hotel Renaissance is a wonderful blend of local flavor with just the right amount of amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chillyphilly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

And the restaurant food is excellent - a dinner menu with many local Bulvarian choices and individually prepared breakfast plates. We agree with the positive comments below. The owner even helped us find our way around Plovdiv and had good advice on traveling by taxi.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Evmolpia
Hotel Evmolpia
#1 of 36 in Plovdiv
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#4 of 36 in Plovdiv
207 reviews
1 mi away
Park Hotel Plovdiv
Park Hotel Plovdiv
#16 of 36 in Plovdiv
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 36 in Plovdiv
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 36 in Plovdiv
172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#2 of 36 in Plovdiv
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Hotel at Renaissance Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Hotel at Renaissance Square

Address: Vazrajdane sq. 1, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Hotel at Renaissance Square 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Family Hotel at Renaissance Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing