We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel on our summer trip 2013!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At Renaissance Square
Ranked #1 of 40 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grotte di Castro, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best hotel on our summer trip 2013!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A cosy hotel very convenient located in the old town. In good condition, well maintained and clean.
And above all, an excellent friendly service and guidance from the the managment.
A pleasant stay to a fair price. The restaurant was good as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amici1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
59
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a tiny hotel and the way it is run makes you feel special. Hotel is very well made in typical Bulgarian revival style & well maintained. Service is very good, location - can't imagine a better one (including parking!!)), breakfast - fresh homemade. One small point: the switches ("lazy switches") of the night lamps in the bedroom #5 are on the wall and are too high one has to get up from the bed in order to turn them off. The hotel owner is very helpful in providing guidance and assistance to guests - making their visit to the city easily enjoyable.
Overall, some people may consider it a bit upscale but you get great value for what you pay. We recommend this hotel for a very enjoyable stay in Plovdiv.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judah-Cincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We (wife and I) were in Plovdiv towards the end of June 2013, for a couple of days.
We stayed at the Renaissance on recommendation, and were more than happy. Its time I do my bit for fellow travellers. Cheers hope you like the review. And please do rate it.

Location:
Couldn’t ask for a better location!
Renaissance is situated on the edge of Old Plovdiv and it is still close to downtown boulevard and pedestrian mall. Don’t miss the farmers market a couple of minutes’ walk behind the hotel; you’d get good fresh produce there.
Icing on the cake, you get to park your car right in front of the hotel free of cost.

First Sight:
From the exterior, it screams quaint and homely.

Interiors:
As you spend some time in the hotel and the hotel room it will slowly dawn on you, that the effort and dedication has come from Dimitar’s heart in restoring this 19th century house into his two floor five room, family hotel.
All five rooms (two twin beds, two double beds & one double bed with small balcony, large room) are air conditioned adorned in different deep pastel colours schemes. Walls and ceilings are painted in renaissance themes with matching reproduced period furniture. Hardwood floors with rugs make the rooms invitingly cosy. Quality of linen and tapestry are good and immaculately clean. The mattress is a bit on the softer side, the pillows are nice and fluffy. The air conditioning and fridge work well as do all the electrical fittings.

The bathroom is more western where the shower area/enclosure has a door (unlike Bulgarian). Believe me it’s a blessing, you don’t want to wade into a wet bathroom leave alone sitting on a wet toilet seat. All essentials are provided in the bathroom as expected, here I need to make a special mention of the super soft towels, great towels.
Overall, the rooms and the restaurants are very well maintained and spotlessly clean.

Food:
In-house restaurant, for resident guests to have breakfast and other meals is situated at the basement level, having the same level of detailing in the decor.
The espresso is fresh and aromatic, better than most we had in during our travel.
Besides the standard set daily breakfast menu the breakfast can be customized if you inform Dimitar a day in advance. The food is delicious and portions are well sized. The cuisine is traditional Bulgarian and European.

The restaurant (Cool Garden) is a great semi open air restaurant adjacent to the hotel. It shares the same kitchen and menu. They have a reasonable collection of good wines. Try the Bulgarian reds. Melnik is supposed to produce some great grapes, look for Shiroka Melnishka Loza it pairs well with cheese and game.
The service and friendliness of the waitress (sorry forgot her name…maybe Vjana) is an extension of Dimitar’s nature. Truly was a great experience eating here!

If you have the time, sit and sip a beer, preferably Kamenitza or Zagorka at the old restaurant (next doors), over-looking the parking lot around 7PM and watch the world pass by.

Services:
The level of guest dedication is what makes one want to keeping going to The Renaissance.
The genuine warmth and friendliness (right down the line) is seldom found in higher rated hotels. The effort to please guests is from within.

Unlike a many places the “on the house” offers are without any strings attached and are of good quality.
Free Wi-Fi works perfectly, filtered hot and cold water available 24/7 free, two pints of wine complimentary, complimentary second helpings of espressos customized breakfast and meals on request, free parking. We were even provided with complimentary laundry service (one pair of jeans and shirt) how good is that?

We stayed in Room No 5 (the apartment or the red room) extra-large room, with a small balcony front facing, overlooking the entrance and parking lot. I believe it is the best room, we liked it and would ask for it the next time around.

Room Tip: Room No 5 extra-large room, with a small balcony front facing, overlooking the entrance and parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saumil0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I can only reiterate what most other reviewers have said, Dimitar is friendly, welcoming and helpful. I was particularly impressed by the incredibly whiter than white bed linen and towels and thought the hotel restaurant was very good value. Breakfast is plentiful in typical Bulgarian style! I was only there for a couple of days as I was visiting a local dentist (from London), but immediately felt relaxed and at home. The old town is beautiful and I was lucky enough to catch an opera by Verdi at the Roman amphitheatre (Atilla the Hun!), accidentally because we'd gone to the restaurant which overlooks the amphitheatre. So we got a fantastic view and great acoustics without buying tickets. I'll definitely go back to the Renaissance when I next have to visit Plovdiv.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHiveE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I am rather late in writing this review as we stayed here last summer but I have been meaning to write a review, so here it is. This is a lovely little hotel run by it's owner, who is very helpful and friendly. He speaks excellent English and is able to advise on places to go, to eat etc. The hotel is decorated and furnished in a typical traditional Bulgarian style, but has all the modern amenities that would be expected. I found the rooms to be comfortable and very pleasant, and the breakfast served by the owner was different each day. There is parking immediately outside the hotel, and the hotel is situated at the edge of the old town, although it is not far to walk to the new town and all it's facilities.
I would recommend this hotel for it's traditional feel, and helpful owner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square which is much more interesting than the rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife is from Plovdiv and this is the place we stay when visiting her family. Three things make this a great hotel: the host Dimitar, the location near the old town, and the historic style of the hotel.

Dimitar will go out of his way to make your stay great. I can't say enough good things about him. The breakfast is good, it's always a classic Bulgarian breakfast.

You can see my pictures from the first review.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and tell Dimitar what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand_ca_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We should have stayed longer at the Hotel Renaissance in Plovdiv. It's in a charming area of town close to the old city and the pedestrian mall downtown. Our room was lovely and comfortable, the meals were tasty, and the owner was incredibly personable, helpful in every way, and seems to relish his hands-on role in his hotel. Plovdiv is a rewarding city and we could have set up shop here indefinitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
3.1 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#11 of 34 in Plovdiv
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dafi Hotel
Dafi Hotel
#12 of 34 in Plovdiv
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Renaissance Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Renaissance Square

Property: At Renaissance Square
Address: 1,Vazrajdane sq., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — At Renaissance Square 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your At Renaissance Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing