We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Family Hotel at Renaissance Square
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Maritza(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hebros Hotel(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Hotel(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Odeon Hotel(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel BLVD 7(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Villa Antica(Plovdiv)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
102
25
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
25
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelthe ownerold townbulgarian breakfasttraditional bulgarian stylegreat advicecooked breakfasthighest recommendationtraditional feelveliko tarnovoamazing hospitalitypoor maintenanceplace to stayrestaurant downstairsexcellent showertourist mapbars and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This small hotel is an absolute gem. Excellent location in the Old Town, beautiful, well equipped room, great shower, comfortable bed, air conditioning, clean and quiet. The proprietor was kind and hospitable; we felt like he was our host in his own home. He spoke excellent English and guided us on our explorations of Plovdiv. The waiter, Nasko was wonderful as well. Both the restaurant and the garden dining created a warm and comfortable atmosphere, and the food was great. If you can get a room here, I do not think you can go wrong. As one of the last places we stayed in Bulgaria over two weeks, it was the absolute best hotel experience; it made our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room. It was a little bit more money, but well worth it. A gorgeous and large room with a balcony overlooking the front of the building.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Renaissance in August 2014. As other reviewers have already said, the combination of extremely clean rooms and gorgeous hand painted decorations is fabulous. Dimitar, the owner could not have been more friendly and helpful, as was Gabi the chief waitress in their restaurant. Both spoke English very well and we were able to get lots of information about what we were going to do in Bulgaria. Dimitar told us it had taken two people nine months to complete the wall and ceiling paintings - they are such a welcome change to the neutral decorations of most hotels.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough-a real gem.
Lucy

Room Tip: We stayed in three rooms-they are all lovely but the red room at the front is just gorgeous with its own blacony
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Renaissance in August 2014 and loved the hotel very much. The rooms were very nice and very clean. We especially liked the paintings on the wall, the individualized furniture and the nice curtains. The room had air condition and TV and was quiet at night. The manager’s English was very good and the people were extremely friendly fulfilling our wishes. The breakfast was very tasty including very nice pancakes. If you are in Plovdiv looking for a special place to stay the Hotel Renaissance is a great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A friendly welcome, a lovely air conditioned room with up to date amenities & old world charm. The location is great, right on the edge of the old town. Breakfast here was delicious and the filled pancake a lovely change from sausages!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tundravista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel on the edge of Old Town with great access to all the sights. We stayed in the Blue Room which faced the rear – we found it to be very quiet and pretty spacious and the A/C worked very well. Demitar is a marvelous owner and manager. He greeted us upon arrival and gave us a thorough overview of the hotel and old town, with a suggested walking tour. He also arranged a car and driver to take us to Veliko Tarnovo. The driver turned out to be an English speaking guide who drove us via the Rose Festival in Karlovo and a very thorough tour of the Thracian tombs near Shipka.

The breakfast was the best we had in Bulgaria – we had the traditional version both days. The pancakes with jam and the banitsa were just outstanding. We also ate in the hotel restaurant both nights – the service from the young waiter was excellent, only surpassed by the quality of the traditional Bulgarian food. At his suggestion we tried the Kavarma, one of the Bulgarian national dishes, and it was delicious. The house Bulgarian wines were also fantastic at $2USD per glass. Plovdiv itself is quite pleasant for a day of walking around and enjoying the ambiance.

Room Tip: Blue room facing the rear is very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews