We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great all-rounder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Expo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expo Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great all-rounder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights during a late summer trip to Bulgaria. The hotel was excellent value at the beginning of October. I actually made a mistake by booking a single room instead of a double and the manager gave us a superior double for one night whilst charging us for a single. Bargain! The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive and the room was spotless. The breakfast wasn't great (limited choice and lack of replenishment) but certainly couldn't complain as it was free. Parking right outside and located about a 10 min walk from the centre. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiquitiqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    34
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
26
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night with a friend in May 2013. It is very close to the city centre of Plovdiv, walking distance.
At that time there didn't seem to be many other guest at the hotel. The staff at the reception, including the manager were very friendly and even more helpful with special requests. Even though the hotel itself does not offer any wellness services, I was able to book a wellness treatment at a Spa Centre in town as a surprise for my friend with the manager's help.

The room was very nice, modern and clean and even though it had a street view, it was very quiet. The breakfast was rather basic, but still had everything you need: toast, ham, cheese and jam, cereals, coffee, tea, eggs, sausages, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have spent several days at the hotel with business purpose and I am planning to stay here for all next trips to Plovdiv. Friendly and polite staff, perfect choice for rest, discovering Plovdiv&regions, business event and meetings. Everything necessary is available and working properly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitrova_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edirne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend at all. This is a small, low budget hotel but the prices are not like this. For this quality it is over priced. Small rooms, bathroom is too bad. Do not expect a comfortable stay. Some of the staff really try hard to make your stay a pleasent one but we did not enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdirneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Expo is quite a new hotel very close to the old city. It is not a full service hotel but has a small seating area at reception for coffee and drinks and a breakfast area in the basement. It is well suited to business travel or those who do not intend to spend lots of time in the hotel.
I found it clean, my room was spacious and for business purposes was what was needed.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and even insisted of preparing breakfast on my early departure a half hour before official start.
WiFi worked fine although a desk chair (and power socket at the desk) would be a nice addition.
The bathroom was clean but the shower sprayed all over the toilet, however, the hotel is about to refit the bathrooms so this should not be a problem in future.
The excellent value and friendliness of the staff mean I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayKayTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I spent one night there in summer 2010 and I was very disappointed in it. First of all, our room stank of smoke, even if we asked for a no smoking room. So, we got another one that was so small we could hardly walk around the bed, and didn't know were to put the luggage. The bathroom was below the standard, as it didn't even have a shower stall, just a drain hole on the floor. Last but not least, the breakfast was just unsatisfactory; I had to ask for tea three times, as there were no teabags in the buffet, and there was no kind of sweet food, just ham and cheese. I would definitely choose another hotel if I return to Plovdiv, also because the city centre is much more picturesque, and full of hotels!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuInViaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

This could be also a 4star one, with some corrections !!! The rooms are clean and spacious, although the bathroom got everytime wet, as I got a shower( something typical for Bulgaria, there is no shower cabin !!! ). The breakfast was basic, although I would recommend you to visit it during the first hours of its service, because otherwise, it will not be renewed. Its location is convenient to visit the city center, the old town is in walking distance, but for the pedestrian area a taxi would be recommended( it costs also only a couple of Euros). In front of the hotel, there is a street with high traffic, but the sound-proof windows are making an amazing Job. All in All, I would recommend this hotel for its value for money ratio ( with about 30euros, you get a very nice double room, inclusive breakfast and high speed internet), its location and the great staff.

PS
What I didn t like, is that there is no second key for the rooms, so if you are travelling with somebody, you have to share it with him, and give it back to the reception, everytime before leaving the hotel. I hope this will be changed somewhen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distance10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
2.4 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#2 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Leipzig
Hotel Leipzig
#9 of 34 in Plovdiv
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo Hotel

Property: Expo Hotel
Address: 38 Ruski Blvd., Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Expo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Expo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing