We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned for more luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boris Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Boris Palace
Ranked #31 of 41 Plovdiv B&B and Inns
Kardzhali, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Returned for more luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We went back to stay at the Boris Palace as we had such a lovely night last summer. This time it was very cold February but the hotel was lovely and warm. We stayed in room 302 which has a balcony overlooking the old town. The hotel itself is cosy with every possible space utilised but it doesn't feel cramped. Lots of well placed mirrors make it feel spacious and the furnishings are luxurious. The breakfasts are beautifully presented and very tasty. Boris, the owner, is very charming and accommodating. He made us feel very welcome, letting us choose our breakfast time, showed us his impressive piano bar which will be finished soon and the swimming pool he is digging out of the basement. You can see the huge old stones the building was made from long ago. There is parking at the rear and if you are refused entry to the gated pedestrian old town (the guards only spoke Bulgarian) phone Boris and he will assist. The hotel is a short walk from the roman amphitheatre through cobble streets and there are many museums and art galleries close by. The town centre is only about 5 minutes walk.
Again we had a wonderful night and it was a shame to leave but we'll definitely be back to try out his pool!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minxy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    4
    6
    19
See reviews for
11
36
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ruse
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Beautiful clean hotel, friendly service, lovely breakfast - all situated in the pretty old town of Plovdiv.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed in the Hotel Boris in Plovdiv in September 2012 and had a wonderful time. The hotel is very central, the rooms are very large, very clean and very well equipped. The hotel is obviously Boris' passion and it feels like a labour of love. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Only quibble - no need for the music so early in the morning! Boris helped to park our car also - very helpful with the narrow streets. I can really recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Set at the peak of Old Town, the Boris Palace is ideal for quiet tourist trip or overnight business. Was staying in town for work and, based on reviews from fellow travelers, the "Palace" was most ideal - quiet, small, and in an absolutely fantastic part of town. Boris is a warm, welcoming and very passionate hotelier - he and his small staff made the stay comfortable without being fussy (his English is excellent). Rooms are clean, well appointed and very comfortable (the bathrooms are small but wholly functional). The restaurant and patio faces west, overlooking the city, so enjoying a meal at sundown in the summer provided a fantastic and relaxing vista of Plovdiv. The food was well presented, delicious and included fresh fish and vegetables from the area. Wine list includes local offerings that reflects the entrepreneurial spirit that Boris brings to his hotel. If I ever return to Plovdiv, there is only one place I'll make hotel reservations.

Room Tip: Get rooms overlooking the city, based on the site of the hotel, you'll have a great view of Plov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed in the Boris Palace Hotel in May, before the start of the tourist season and were lucky enough to enjoy one of the first nice and warm enough evenings to eat outside on the terrace. The receptionist was also the server and on top of that was also in charge of some of the cooking. She managed everything quite well and we felt treated better than in many other places we had been to the days before. We shared one or two good laughs and chatted for some time -- we were about the only people there due to the time of year.

The rooms are clean - taste is questionable in some of them but the quality of the furniture and also the bed (mattress) is fine. If they are free, definitely take the rooms upstairs. I would prefer the ones overlooking the old town. The rooms downstairs behind the restaurant I would not be able to sleep in because they do not have real windows and I would feel caged. But other than that it is a place that I would recommend.

It's central, it's in the old town and you will still find a place to park your vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Boris owns this boutique hotel and he runs it efficiently and smoothly. It is a new hotel built into the shell of one of the wonderful old buildings in this part of Plovdiv. The rooms are huge, and all are individually decorated, very well eqipped and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are small but well fitted. You can use a lift or the stairs.
There is a top level restaurant with a lovely balcony extension. This was ideal from breakfast inside and dinner out. The food was some of the best that my wife and I ate during our travels around Bulgaria. The breakfasts were extensive, though I would have like more local produce when it came to yoghurt, jams and honey and fresh fruit; there was an excellent range of cold meats, breads, etc. The outstanding dish on the dinner menu was the goose liver served on a bed of apple and drizzled with honey. There is an extensive wine list with one or two real stars.
The building work is not yet complete but Boris will be opening the 'Piano Bar' in the next few weeks and he hopes to have the swimming pool completed by Summer 2013.
Boris is a perfectionist and he cares about all the details, all hotels in Plovdiv are expensive but both the accommodation and the restaurant at Hotel Boris are worth every penny.

Room Tip: They can all be viewed on the Hotel website and each one is individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kardzhali, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were recommended to this lovely hotel in the centre of the old town and as 2 couples would highly recommend to others. The high standard of rooms and interior decoration were well worth the price and the air conditioning was a huge relief as it was a very hot and humid July. The hotel is a short walk from the old roman amphitheatre that is still used for regular performances and the streets are cobbled with beautiful traditional Bulgarian buildings. The old town is pedestrianised but cars are allowed through so if you are refused entry, simply call Boris the owner. He was an extremely friendly and genuine chap and the waitress is a real gem. She had taken on rearing a small bird that had fallen from it's nest and amazingly it perched on her shoulder while she went about her chores, a real Dr Doolittle!
Breakfast was continental with delicious pastries and generous servings. Lunch was also beautifully presented and very tasty too. The beds were very large and comfortable and the on-suite bathrooms had super power showers. Both rooms had a terrace and inside it was very quiet with the windows shut (the only disturbance came from people outside in the street). The hotel itself was very relaxed and peaceful and all 4 of us were very happy we had chosen to stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minxy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.4 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belle Ville
Hotel Belle Ville
#14 of 34 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plovdiv Guest House
Plovdiv Guest House
#11 of 41 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipster Guest Rooms
Hipster Guest Rooms
#4 of 41 in Plovdiv
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Hostel Plovdiv
Home Hostel Plovdiv
#8 of 41 in Plovdiv
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hikers Hostel
Hikers Hostel
#4 of 41 in Plovdiv
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boris Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boris Palace

Property: Hotel Boris Palace
Address: Suborna str 49, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boris Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boris Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing