We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More complicated than it should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plovdiv
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    86
    67
    18
    7
See reviews for
22
31
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was part of a group staying at the Novotel Plovdiv for a recent sporting event that was held at the Plovdiv National Fair.

Overall, I found my stay to be very pleasant. My room was spacious, comfortable and clean. I was grateful for the fact that the hotel was completely non-smoking. The breakfast buffet was re-stocked throughout the morning, each morning, and provided ample variety. And, as mentioned in other reviews, there was free WiFi provided throughout the hotel.

If I had any minor criticisms about the hotel, they would be: only paper cups provided for in-room coffee/tea making; no iron in the room; a cracked shower screen that, hopefully will soon be replaced; the extra charge for using the hotel pool; and relatively expensive money exchange facilities on offer at the front desk (but perhaps this is to be expected in any hotel). My first inconvenience was easily solved by taking a cup of coffee up from breakfast with me and, then, using the cup in my room for the duration of my stay.

In conclusion, if I had occasion to visit Plovdiv again I would be more than happy to stay at the Novotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krusevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great hotel in Plovdiv. I was there 2 times at last one year. Every time was very good. Food is excelent. Very nice person on receptions and room service. Internet signal is very good in every part of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misaks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I've been at Novotel Plovdiv for several days. Nice place, huge room although in the bathroom there's no power supply and the moquette is old and not so good smelling.
Eccellents are the pool, the gym, cleaning and laundry service.
Smart Staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djPietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We were here for almost a week having a conference there first and then some tourist days after. We were on the top floor with a view of the Old City and river. It sounds like they have some rooms that have been updated and some that have not. We were in a "suite" which is really two hotel rooms put together. I think we had a total of four doors that all opened up into one another! The bathrooms (we had two) really do need to be updated as does the carpet and drapes. But the beds were nice and we enjoyed having a large living area.

There is no TV except Bulgarian stations, but the wifi is free and was excellent!

We really loved the Four Seasons restaurant and ate there three times. The breakfast buffet was quite large and good, but the items didn't change all week so we had the same things to choose from every day. No variety after a week was hard.

Be aware that they require a swimming cap (a shower cap from the hotel is not good enough). If you don't bring one they do sell them for around 9 BGN. It's a huge indoor pool plus whirlpool. Very nice.

The location is great as you can just walk across the bridge and be in the main pedestrian walk way with shops and restaurants. You can walk to the Old City as well.

Probably one of the better hotels in Plovdiv.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank katwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
2.9 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
#11 of 34 in Plovdiv
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#6 of 34 in Plovdiv
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 34 in Plovdiv
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
132 reviews
0.9 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 34 in Plovdiv
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plovdiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plovdiv

Property: Grand Hotel Plovdiv
Address: Zlatyu Boyadzhiev str. 2, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Novotel Plovdiv)
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plovdiv 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Plovdiv is the hotel of choice for visitors to Plovdiv. Business travellers enjoy the convenience of WiFi internet and eight meeting rooms. We offer a choice of three restaurants, a cafe and two bars as well as onsite parking and a heated indoor swimming pool. Close to the Maritsa River and looking out towards the gorgeous Rhodope Mountains and the Old Town, this 5 star hotel is perfect for your next holiday discovering the fascinating history and culture of this remarkable city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Plovdiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Plovdiv Hotel Plovdiv
Plovdiv Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing