We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Plovdiv
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Wifi has improved since my last visit 6 months ago, downloaded the Times no problem. Good breakfast buffet and a nice indoor swimming pool as well, though the changing room is small, I have used the excellent outdoor pool in the summer. Very well located at one end of the pedestrian street with plenty of good restaurants. Better than the Novotel which charges for the pool and the breakfasts are often crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John_Drummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very central hotel within easy walking distance of station and new town and about 20mts to the delightful medieval quarter. Latter is well worth a visit, with preserved houses made into museums, etc. (small fee for entry) and the amphitheatre would rival many others in Europe. Plovdiv was once the capital of ancient Thracia- so explore!
We came in depths of winter but had a warm welcome at reception and bar staff were also very accommodating. Room was big, warm if a bit dated in decor perhaps but no smell of cigarette smoke and it was clean. Bathroom definitely needs improvement and modernization though.Some fruit and nuts were on table to welcome us - nice gesture.Breakfast offered lots of choice and service was very pleasant.
This is a massive hotel, with a casino which had a steady stream of visitors most of the evening we were there but no noise permeated our rooms.
They gave us a warm room and welcome on a very cold, snowy day and for that we were very grateful.

Room Tip: We paid a bit extra for a better room and were satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

TWMC2010 was 100% about it being smokey. If you are sensitive to cigarette smoke do not book at this hotel. I was asleep a few hours when I was woken up by the cigarette smell from my next door neighbor. IT WAS DISGUSTING. Called downstairs right away to get moved. They wanted to send housekeeping up to spray. Said no I needed a new room, my neighbor was smoking carton after carton in there. Every where you walk in the hotel you smell smoke. The hotel was probably great back when it opened years ago but it is old and antiquated. Would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snf8track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The first impression you get when you enter the hotel is the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke, make no mistake this is a smoking hotel. Even if you book a non smoking room all that means is that you will not be smoking in there. We stayed here twice, both times in non smoking rooms which smelt of smoke; the second room even had used cigarette buts outside the window from the previous guests, even the ‘fresh’ bed linen smelt of smoke.

The hotel does have no smoking areas in its restaurants but the separation is hardly effective, all of the floors have public smoking areas so as soon as you leave your room you are hit with the smell of smoke.

The 5th floor panoramic bar is a no smoking area but as we were apparently the only non smoking guests they were not bothering to open it. If you have the slightest aversion to the smell of smoke or you suffer with asthma or any other breathing difficulties this is not the place for you, that said smoking seems to be endemic in Plovdiv so you may not find anywhere better.

Breakfast is served in a no smoking environment but there is no effective separation between the breakfast area and the lobby which smells of smoke so you need to head right to the far end of the breakfast area to escape the smell.

On the plus side the hotel is well maintained, the rooms are very spacious and the staff are generally very helpful and friendly. There was a large and varied spread for breakfast including both local and international food which sets you up for the day.

If you have the time, take a walk out to the old town and the roman amphitheatre which you can see from the 5th floor panorama lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or garden view, otherwise the traffic noise can be vary loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This property tries very hard to be the landmark hotel of Plovdiv, and in many ways, it does manage to do so. It has a huge private parking area and it commands a whole block on itself in the centre which lends it an aura of grandeur. Service across the board is very professional, attentive and courteous, which is a true godsend in Bulgaria.

The common areas are indeed impressive, but the rooms are somewhat disappointingly bland (except for the bathrooms) when compared to the rest of the hotel. The rooms have parquet which although a nice touch can be of a nuisance if you come in later and try not to wake up your sleeping pals in the room (lots of creaking). Also, I would NOT recommend the Trimontium restaurant. It is overpriced by Bulgarian standards and the fillet steak I ordered was disappointingly dry.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meh190meh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Big hotel with casino in basement. Rooms were big and nice, there was nice swimming pool area in the backyard of hotel with view on the mountains south of Plovdiv. The location is just on the border of city center, where you can have a walk and check the beauties of Plovdiv (very interesting city center - if cared better, would be definitely in UNESCO)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zimbardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

the best in this hotel is it's location..just in the begging of the glavna avenue!we stayed in asuite and it was nice but i think it\s lost the identity it had as hotel trimontium in early 90's.the breakfast was an experience that time,,,now it's a business hotel's breakfast.the best again is the location

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filiotopkaridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 36 in Plovdiv
168 reviews
2.9 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#2 of 36 in Plovdiv
218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#5 of 36 in Plovdiv
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel Plovdiv
Park Hotel Plovdiv
#16 of 36 in Plovdiv
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
8 1/2 Art Guest House
8 1/2 Art Guest House
#3 of 36 in Plovdiv
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#4 of 36 in Plovdiv
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium

Address: Kapitan Raycho Str. 2, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria (Formerly Trimontium Princess Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Plovdiv
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing