We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend it for business travellers.”
Review of Hotel Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leipzig
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Plovdiv
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend it for business travellers.”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Nice hotel, newly refurbished. A little bit exotic style. As a whole deserves its 4 stars.Very good restaurant – delicious Bulgarian cuisine and friendly staff. OK for room cleaning and foreign-language speaking staff. Would recommend it for business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    65
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
21
55
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed two nights in this attractive hotel. It is a large establishment complete with bars and casino. Although it is rated four stars, some things still didn’t work. It took a long time and a couple of visits from staff before we could get the cable internet started, though it did eventually work well.

We opted to have the breakfast the first morning to see what it was like, and found it was not really worth bothering with. It was supposed to be a buffet, but the only buffet items were some fried eggs which had been there too long, some chocolate cereal, orange cordial (rather than fresh juice), coffee, and a bowl of fruit, some of which was far too old. The two bananas there were black. The bread also didn’t seem very fresh, but there was a toaster available. The waitress brought us both a plate with white and yellow cheese, tomato, cucumber and a packet of jam, so there was enough food, but we’ve had better breakfasts in cheaper hotels and hostels. We noticed there were no other guests there. We decided not to have the breakfast again so we paid for room only for the second morning. We bought a few items to eat in the room instead, and when I went to the breakfast room to borrow a knife and plate and get some hot water for coffee there was no sign of any breakfast at all. I don't think there were many guests staying in this big hotel, which is a pity because it is very good value.

Dinner at the pleasant outdoor restaurant was another matter. We were, unexpectedly, each given a ten lev voucher to use the second night. They told us it's something they do on Sunday nights. We had to wait for an hour for the food to arrive, but it was worth the wait. We had an excellent meal of salmon fillet, chicken skewer with sautéed potatoes and a half bottle of chardonnay. Even with dessert and coffee, the cost of the meal was almost covered by the two ten lev vouchers. An enjoyable way to end our Bulgaria trip.

This hotel was quite luxurious compared to many we've stayed in, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a bit of a walk to the old town, but very convenient for the bus and train stations. Definitely stay there if you find yourself in Plovdiv.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed in Hotel Leipzig in July 2010 during our tour in Bulgaria. Over all the hotels we stayed in in Bulgaria, Hotel Leipzig was by far the most modern and design.

I guess it was renovated a few months/years ago in a fashionable style.

After having made our reservation at a very low price on booking.com, we had the nice surprise to be upgraded upon our check-in. Value is extremely good for the price considering also the free parking.

The room was large, clean, quiet and air-conditionning was efficient.
The bathroom was large and equally design as the room, but strangely configured as it was almost impossible no to spill water over the bathroom while showering.

Hotel staff was efficient as well, giving us good recommendations for night-life as well as directions at our departure.

I would recommend this hotel to any person travelling to Plovdiv and expecting Western European/American standards.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I paid 30 EUR / night / single room with breakfast. Room is quite big, very clean with interesting design. Good accomodation for low price! Nice stuff with perfect English. Easy access from A1 Sofia-Stara Zagora highway. About drawbacks: low quaility of breakfast products and bad smell in room toilet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Typical ex-Commie hotel, very basic room, surly service but cheap and in a decent location.
If you're on a budget then probably worth a visit, but dont expect a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plovdiv hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane-Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Couldn't have been happier with our first hotel expereince in Bulgaria. Got off the overnight train from Istanbul, walked 500m down the main street from the train station and there was the Leipzig. We had only booked the night before but were given a warm wlecome, early check in (10.30am) and a huge room with views towards the city.

The hotel has had a makeover and it's really very modern and comfortable. Good beds and furnishings (if a little bright in its colour combos), cable TV with English language channels and a nice clean bathroom. The plumbing was brand new but quite frankly, the shower/bath combo was hopeless and water gushed out each time we showered. Luckily there was adrainin the bathroom and lots of spare towels. It was a bit of a logistical challenge but couldn't take the shine of this great hotel.

Breakfast in the dining room was very generous but a warning to anyone who likes tea in the morning - bring your own tea bags. The only tea supplied is black fruit tea (eg: blackberry). Otherwise, plenty of variety.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

A friend, native of Plovdiv, booked it for us. After several disappointing hotels elsewhere in Eastern Europe, this one was a pleasant surprise.

Modern, very spacious room; large bathroom with audio-connect and window with draw-blinds allowed viewing of TV from the tub! Mini-fridge, a/c, great view from room.

Very good breakfast buffet. Nice, comfortable lobby area with tasty cake selections and full bar opens to street for 'airiness'.

Friendly, helpful staff.

Convenient - short walk (two minutes) to Plovdiv's highest hill and only 5 minutes to the main center with it's shopping squre, mosque and Roman amphitheater ruins. Main bus station (with access to Sofia, and to Sunny Beach on Black Sea) only 5 minutes away by taxi. New shopping mall being constructed across street from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank St_LouisTripGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
2.4 mi away
Landmark Creek Hotel
Landmark Creek Hotel
#1 of 34 in Plovdiv
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plovdiv Trimontium
1.4 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 34 in Plovdiv
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ego
Hotel Ego
#4 of 34 in Plovdiv
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dafi Hotel
Dafi Hotel
#11 of 34 in Plovdiv
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
Holiday Inn Plovdiv
#10 of 34 in Plovdiv
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leipzig

Property: Hotel Leipzig
Address: Ruski Blvd 70, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Plovdiv
#7 Luxury Hotel in Plovdiv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have all the amenities to make your stay an enjoyable experience. Leipzig Hotel Plovdiv offers 52 modern rooms and 11 suites renovated for your comfort. For the business guests of Plovdiv Leipzig has a conference center of 6 conference rooms with different capacities - from 16 to 200 seats. The halls are equipped with new and professional equipment for successful performance of your business projects. Conference center Leipzig Plovdiv provide conditions for realization of business events - business meetings, seminars, trainings, press conferences, presentations on various topics and any initiatives. Restaurant Leipzig Plovdiv is an appropriate venue not only for corporate events, but also for family celebrations in a cozy and discreet atmosphere with marked elegance. Whether celebrating a birthday, anniversary or wedding, your family holiday will be an unforgettable experience. For your fabulous and memorable moments, the hall will be decorated according to your taste. Thanks to our central location, Hotel Leipzig Plovdiv is suitable for any tourist. In the city center guests can indulge in various activities - to visit the sights, enjoy a variety of services - restaurants, museums, galleries, or stroll through the main street of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leipzig Hotel Plovdiv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing