We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ehh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Prima Hotel
Ranked #3 of 76 Varna B&B and Inns
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
16
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my wife spent 3 days in the hotel in the beginning of August. The rooms are clean, nice and cosy. The biggest pro is the great location, it's just on the edge of the Sea Garden and about 5 mins walking distance from the beach. It's about 10 mins walking distance from the bust station that can lead you directly to st. Konstatin & Elena (called Sunny Day now) and Golden Sands.

A single con would be the breakfast area - too small for the hotel capacity and you may have to wait 10 mins to get seated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Best western Prima hotel is an ordinary business hotel. There is one BIG problem and it is PARKING LOTS ! The location of hotel is nearby sea-side garden and there are not available parking lots (you have to park on the streets if you can find place). Service staff is good enough, cleanliness is well too. There is no restaurant, but you can eat in Italian rest. close to hotel. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Breakfast is in the hotel's lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for our week in Varna. It's so clean and modern compared to it's surroundings, it almost feels out of place!

Upon making our booking, they offered to send a taxi to pick us up from the airport, which we happily accepted. The guy was friendly with the little English he spoke, on time and didn't mess about; we quickly got used to the standard of driving in Varna! Quite funny really.

We arrived quite late and honestly quite tired. The guy on the reception desk who checked us in told us he could order a pizza online for us. Not our original plan, but it was oddly appealing as it was 9pm by now, and we didn't want our first walk around the city to be at night. He had it sent up to our room and we were set.

The next day, when we had our first walk around the city, we realised just how central we were to everything we had wanted to see: the Sea Garden (beautiful) is just around the corner, and in the other direction you have the city centre and theatre houses. We never had to walk far to anything!

The hotel itself? Continental breakfast was included for free. They can be a bit hit and miss, depending on where you go, and this one was nothing special. Perfectly edible though, no complaints.

The staff were always pleasant, and helpful if we needed directions.

The room, like the rest of the hotel, was very clean, almost minimalist in it's tidiness, and we felt it was great value for such a low price. Shower worked a treat, albeit a very slow leak of water onto the bathroom floor was slightly annoying, and they had those 'energy-saving' light bulbs in, so it was pretty dim in there most of the time.

Varna feels very much like it is still it's own city - it hasn't succumbed to becoming centred around tourism. That said, the view outside our window was of a normal street with people washing their cars, walking into town, etc. Views don't have to be 'picturesque' to be memorable. I would rather have a view of life in the city than a hotel pool any day.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the centre of life in Varna. It's not unlike a Travelodge in the UK - no frills, but it does it's job perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Whoever is giving poor reviews to this hotel, must not be realizing that this 3-star would pass for a 6-star in some countries like Italy, France.
Let's start with service. I booked a budget double room for two weeks at a cheap non-refundable rate (true, it was off season). My husband couldnt make it, I arranged to stay for one night at New Year's 2013, and to spread the rest of the stay within the months of January/February. Not only staff was helpful, but I was given big studios instead of the budget room.
There's every utility like air-con, minibar; coffee, tea and mineral water come complimentary every day.
Basically, they make sure that you'll come back.
Photos from two top-floor rooms I've stayed, will prove their cosiness.
I can safely say this is the best budget hotel I've stayed, in Bulgaria at least.
Hotel is located right across the sea garden and the beach, and within a few minutes of Varna top-centre and a picturesque square.
Wi-fi works fine at no charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana_C_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

No hotel parking. Must park on street and that's sometimes very difficult because or lack or street parking. Beds were the worst I've ever slept on. They are with springs and no pad on top. First room I had the drain connection under the bathroom sink blew off. We asked to be moved to another room with one bed rather than two and this mattress was worse! They did not provide adequate towels and when asking why the air conditioner didn't work the front desk told us it's because it's centrally controlled! It was hot one day and they kept the air on all day and into the night. When we asked front desk to shut off air they said, "my colleague told me you wanted it cold". Well at 11pm you don't need cold inside if it's cold outside. Additionally the shower attachment broke away from the braided line. Wow what an experience. Nice bathroom and nice decor but many negatives. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexM739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed three nights in early April and chose this hotel because of positive TripAdvisor reviews.
I agree, "it's a little gem of a place", in a great location close to the Sea Park and close to the central part of the city. Great value for the money! The rooms are large, clean, bright and comfortable. We appreciated the kettle in our room......love my cup of tea! The staff are professional and friendly.......had them translating Cyrillic for me so we could figure out the bus schedule. Buffet breakfast was filling.
A comment on previous negative remarks: The smokers went outside to smoke and we (both non-smokers) did not smell smoke in the hallways or room. The taxi that the front desk called for us when leaving did not overcharge. We were overcharged from the airport to the hotel on arriving - but that was our fault, not the hotel's.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy4Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varna hotels
0.1 mi away
mOdus Hotel
mOdus Hotel
#1 of 51 in Varna
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#6 of 51 in Varna
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
0.0 mi away
Villa Duchess
Villa Duchess
#14 of 51 in Varna
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Varna
Hotel Plaza Varna
#10 of 51 in Varna
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prima Hotel

Property: Best Western Prima Hotel
Address: 5 Tzar Samuil Street, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Prima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prima Hotel Bulgaria/Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing