We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of mOdus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
mOdus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Thank you – it starts with these simple words and it ends there too.

Me and my wife went to Varna for the first time ever and decided to take a room (apartment) at the mOdus hotel. It turned out to be a five star decision.

The hotel is medium size with a family kind of hospitality from everyone in the staff. All is service oriented and helps you out with all questions and details of your stay. One of the most impressive things is that they always come back to you with an answer to your question or request. The internal communication works very well since all seems to be up to speed on your needs and wants.

We didn’t find any “we and them” between the staff and management, as it could be in small (and big) hotels. All cooperated to give you the best possible stay possible! Impressive!

The room was looked after minimum twice a day. It was very clean and you always got a extra treat like a piece of chocolate (I know… Its small but it is the small details that makes all the difference) on the side of the bed.

For the guest that have a hard time sleeping (for some strange reason), try out their “pillow menu” where you can get different types of pillows to meet your needs of feeling at home.
Much appreciated was also the water bottles, delivered to us every day for free, that kept us afloat during the hot days.

They also provide a garage (for a small fee) if you want to park your car during the stay. It too worked very well with a high level of friendly parking service.

Our sincere “Thank you” from both of us to all the people that made this a memorable vacation!
If you need a top class experience… Stay at mOdus!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HakanTreetopSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear HakanTreetopSweden,
Thank you very much for the detailed and positive comment!
The enjoyment and the satisfaction of our guests has always been our primary goal and we are so happy to find such a solid proof that we have succeeded. You are welcome to stay at mOdus hotel at all times if you should be visiting Varna in the future. It is our pleasure to serve you!
Please accept my personal appreciation for this wonderful review!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    52
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
81
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Dear Modus hotel, thank you for the wonderful stay! We stayed for a second time in your beautiful apartment 8 (top floor, gorgeous views of the sea, the bay and the lighthouse). We absolutely loved your attention to detail, the beautiful design, the spacious suite, the thoughtfulness of the staff and the perfect cleanliness.

Dear reader, this is a great hotel. We stayed in one of their top suites which has the best quality-price ratio in Europe, probably. For the same amount of money you get an absolutely mediocre, small and ugly room in Paris, Geneva or the French Riviera. Granted, these cities offer a higher standard of living, but I would dare to say that they will still not offer to you access to a wide, sandy beach in less than 2 minutes, perfect summer weather and excellent beach bars the way hotel Modus does.

The reception, restaurant and cleaning staff were outstanding. Our suite was cleaned 3 times a day and we never even met any of the cleaning personnel. The hotel bistrot offers delicious culinary suggestions, something unusual for hotel restaurants. The bed linen was hands down the best and the softest we had ever experienced and combined with the huge bed provided for excellent sleep.

Dear reader, you will not be disappointed, believe me. If you have the possibility, go for one of the hotel's suites. They all deserve superlatives.

Dear manager, it was great seeing you again this year and we hope to shake your hand again very soon!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassini_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Cassini_p,

It's been a while since I've had the pleasure of coming across such a lively, detailed and positive review. It's great that you address your fellow reviewers and mention all little things that make the stay of our guests so enjoyable and memorable. Your satisfaction is our ultimate reward and we vow to continue serving the best possible way.
I cannot thank you enough for being so kind! It was truly our pleasure having you with us! I look forward to shaking your hands again soon!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here (two adults, one teenager, and a 3 year old) for three nights at the end of June, 2012.
The hotel is a well located, beautifully designed, modern hotel which is impeccably clean. There is a small fitness room and sauna on the lower level. The rooms were well appointed and well designed (though as in many European hotels, the mattresses were very hard).

Breakfast was lovely. It was done with care and is nicer than in most European hotels. I think you won't find a nicer breakfast unless you travel to Israel.

Most importantly, the staff at the hotel were incredible. They were friendly, helpful, genuine, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

I recommend the mOdus hotel very highly!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supermazelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Supermazelman,

It's difficult for me to find the right words to thank you enough for the positive and motivating review! I can't express how satified we all felt after reading about your good experience whilst staying with us. It's our true pleasure and privilege to offer our services to you and your family if your travel plans should include Varna in the future. You are always more than welcome at mOdus hotel!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A solid choice in a central location, with competent staff, well-appointed rooms and nice little touches like the perfume-scented bathrobes. On the other hand, this is NOT a boutique hotel, as some reviewers bill it - it has relatively okay contemporary design, but it's nothing special, there are no facilities to speak of and staff do not really care that much about you beyond smiling and giving (usually sparse) advice if you ask for it. And you do pay for it, this is not a a bargain choice. Plus, the road in front really is busy, the hotel has no views and it is a rather small place to the point of feeling claustrophobic. If I had to go to Varna, I would stay again, but that's it, I have no special memories of the place.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a room away from the main road, which is quite busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LemonadeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Lemonade Joe,
Thank you for your time, efforts and generosity in rating our property. I wouldn't say that mediocrity is what we are, as every single detail in the hotel has been designed and tailor-made to fit its carefully selected place. Most, if not all of our guests, find mOdus quite memorable and pleasant place and actually enjoy our minimalistic design so I cannot agree that it is claustrophobic, as this is merely a personal perception. The polite and unobtrusive approach of our service personnel can be hardly mistaken with nonchalance and it is something we train our staff to do. I would really like to assure you that mOdus is actually a very special place and I'd be more than pleased if you gave us the opportunity to welcome you again at mOdus hotel and allow us to show you our usual high level of our service.

Sincerely,

Deyan Kolev
General Manger
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

mOdus is a little expensive for the neighborhood, but it is a safe, modern hotel with a lot of nice features. You only have to cross one street and you're in the park and on your way to the beach. And that street is a big downside if you would like to sleep with the window open to let in Black Sea air. The good news is that the windows and doors really cut down the street noise, but Primorski has a fair amount of traffic throughout the night. Street noise is pretty much the only negative. The staff is pleasant and helpful, breakfast offers a reasonable selection of items, though not overwhelming.

A few tips: 1) If a money exchange place post only the "sell" price for dollars or euros, don't even bother going in. You'll get, at most, 15-20% below the true currency exchange rate. So, look for a posted "buy" rate. 2) A grocery that has good hot (e.g., chicken loin) and cold (e.g., feta cheese) food in it's deli is CBA. To get there, take Knyaz Batenberg away from Primorski, go past the Roman ruin with the foot bridge over it, and go left about a block when the Eros shop is on your right. 3) Even if you understand Bulgarian, go on the Free Varna Tour starting from the front of the cathedral to hear some history and stories as you visit a few of the city's highlights.

Room Tip: Facing away from Primorski is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Bert0808,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay at mOdus hotel. Beyond doubt, sharing your extensive experience is a major advantage for the future visitors of Varna area. Your positive approach is very much appreciated. Varna is a large vibrant city and some urban noises are in the nature of the things. We have done our best to minimize the impact of the traffic and we are happy to hear that it actually works quite well!
We will be delighted if you'd choose mOdus hotel again for your stay in the future!

Sincerely,
Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Perfect location to explore the city, the seaside and the park. Nice breakfast, high quality catering and helpful reception. Room was spacious and clean. Overall, as expected and even more. Good value for money and i would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Lilia I,

Thank you for the fabulous comment! It is indeed a great feeling, reading such review. I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the staff and myself for taking the time to share your experience on TA. Hope to have the privilege to offer you our hospitality again in the future.

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Nowadays, many hotels pretend that they are boutique hotels as it sounds really fancy and attracts a lot of customers, but in reality they are not... I can say that this is not the case with Modus hotel in Varna. As we use to travel to many locations in Bulgaria (and not only), I can say this hotel is really special and stands out through many nice details.
The location is pretty nice, near the summer garden and a few steps from many restaurants and bars. Although the hotel is located on a very busy street, the sound proofing is perfect even on our room that was located on the first floor facing directly to the street. The central air conditioning worked very well and a pleasant temperature was assured during our stay.
Very nice touches that I really appreciated were the free bottles of water provided in the room and gym area and the quality chocolate bar provided as a "good night snack" :)
The staff members were very helpful and friendly with a very good command of English.
If again in Varna, we will definitely choose Modus hotel as our destination!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a great pleasure to read your review on Tripadvisor. You are the reason why we continue to do what we do best - take utmost care of our guest and show that little extra attention to the detail that makes us special for our special guests.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varna
0.3 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#6 of 51 in Varna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#4 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel London
Grand Hotel London
#5 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
8.6 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mOdus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mOdus Hotel

Property: mOdus Hotel
Address: Stefan Stambolov Str 46, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varna
#1 Business Hotel in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — mOdus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOdus is a small hotel with unique modern design, ideally positioned for both business and leisure with easy access to the major commercial, shopping and entertainment areas of the city. It is 200 m away from Varna's central beach, next to the entrance of the Sea Garden. MOdus hotel offers 29 stylish rooms and 8 great suites with luxurious interior, furnished with: LCD TV, interactive IPTV, VOD, Wi-Fi, voice mail, mini bar, safe and much more. The suites are equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and goose-down duvets and pillows. The hotel is proudly dedicated to the Sustainable tourism and offers free bikes for an energizing ride in the nearby Sea Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your mOdus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modus Hotel Varna
mOdus Hotel Bulgaria/Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing