We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING”
Review of mOdus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
mOdus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Hotel Modus is situated in the centre of Varna close to many restaurants, bars, and shops. It is a modern beautifully designed hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are scrupulously clean and the restaurant offers excellent evening meals and a great breakfast. The reason that this hotel is far superior to any I have stayed in in Eastern Europe is the attention to detail. Everything is immaculately clean and the staff are efficient and very friendly. They really did everything to make sure that my stay was enjoyable; supplying an umbrella if it was raining and arranging any taxi’s or trips I wished to make. A fresh apple and chocolate by the bed each day was a very nice touch. Price wise it is excellent value. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Many congratulations to all the staff. Keep up the excellent and welcoming service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Richard B.,

There are times when every Manager is having a hard time finding the right words to express the appreciation of the Owners, the Management and the Staff when they come across such a lovely, precise and well-intentioned review! So I decided to keep it short and simple by saying: Thank you so very much for choosing mOdus hotel for your stay, for being our guest and I wish I could stress enough on how important it is for all of us to make you happy! Please consider visiting us again if your travel plans should include Varna in the future. It will be our privilege to welcome you again!

Very Respectfully,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've stayed in Varna this summer and chose the mOdus Hotel due to the good reputation from the internet. I have to say, they were right: modern rooms with air condition, flat TV, WLAN for free use, a safe and a hair dryer, a fantastic breakfast buffet with no wishes left open, friendly personell everywhere in the hotel, even bicycles for free use.
The only small minus is the street right in front of the hotel - pretty noisy, if you open the windows... but no big issue for me.
Thank you ver much for a pleasant stay at your hotel. For sure, I will come back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunroad75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It is truly a great pleasure to read your review posted on TripAdvisor! You, as our Guest, are the sole reason why we pay such attention to detail and we are immensely glad when we see comments like yours giving us the feeling of being appreciated! We will keep doing our best, hoping to see you again soon at mOdus hotel!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the mOdus Hotel for 5 nights in June this year.

The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is across the road from the Sea Gardens and the main beach. It is also a 1-minute walk from the main pedestrian boulevard with all of the restaurants and entertainment places.

We found the staff to be polite and accommodating from when we were first booking our stay right up to when we checked out. The staff answered all of our questions by email quickly and in lots of detail. They even emailed us a month before our stay to remind us that they would be taking out the deposit from our credit card.

The reception staff helped us book taxis, gave us free beach towels, helped with directions and answered all of our questions. Even before we arrived, they were prepared to help us with normal tourist queries.

We had breakfast each morning at the hotel bistro. The breakfast selection was small but tasty. We liked the fact that you could order freshly cooked egg dishes (omelettes, poached eggs, etc) and enjoyed the fresh croissants and other continental breakfast-style goodies. The restaurant staff were prompt and polite, and were generous with fresh coffee and juice refills.

Other hotel amenities include the gym, which is small but functional. The free wi-fi connection is very good. We also used the free bicycles provided by the hotel to cycle along the Sea Gardens. The tyres could use a bit of a pump-up, but otherwise the bikes were safe and a fun way to spend an afternoon.

We booked a double room. To be honest, it was a little small. While the bed was comfortable, we didn't like that the wash basin is situated in the actual room, separated by a translucent sheet of glass next to the bed. We worried that we might walk into the glass at night. The toilet and shower are in the same small bathroom cubicle, which makes it a little awkward when someone wants to have a shower and the other person needs to use the toilet. The water pressure in the shower was non-existent, so we never got to have a really hot, satisfying shower.

Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful, the location is fantastic and we would definitely go back next time we visit Varna - but we would probably upgrade ourselves to a suite so that we could have more room (and hopefully a better shower!)

Room Tip: Pick a suite over a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Brett and Sonie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Your observations bear very valuable information and are highly appreciated! Obviously there is a bit of excellence to be added to our services in order to achieve complete satisfaction but let me assure you that we are working on fixing our tiny isuues with utmost energy! You have my word that your stay will be flawless upon your next visit at mOdus. We are looking forward to having you again soon!

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Modus hotel for 4 nights from Sep 19th, For 2 nights we stayed in a standard room and it was comfortable and big enough
For the other 2 night we stayed in the medium room it was very very comfortable and indulging the room have a nice big bathtub and big bath room also the balcony was huge, my wife did not want to live the room.
We loved the interior design of both of the rooms and the rest of the hotel.
We loved the front desk service especially by Hanna which was very helpful in any request and of course the rest of the staff was kindly and welcoming.
The hotel restaurant was excellent, the breakfast is very good and the rest of the menu is good and recommended.
Bottom line when we will retune to Varna definitely we will go back to Modus

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guests,

Please accept my sincere gratitude for taking the time to post this wonderful review on TA! With great pleasure I discovered that you are satisfied with your stay and your expectations were met in full. Please rest assured that the staff will be commended for the job well done!
Thank you for choosing our establishment and we are very much looking forward to your next visit at mOdus hotel!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for almost 2 weeks at the end of the summer. The room was excellent (we had an "apartment" - a large room with a spacious deck in the back). The centre of town is 10 minutes away on foot, the beach even less. The beach was clean, no very crowded and umbrellas and chairs can be rented for a reasonable price. A restaurant directly on the beach was informal and very pleasant. The hotel is very reasonable by West European standards. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKSMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind and motivating review! We are very pleased to find that your expectations have been met in full and you are satisfied with your stay at mOdus!
It will be our true honor if you'd choose us for your future visit in Varna and I vow to do my best and try to make your stay memorable!

Wishing you a nice day!

Respectfully,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely modern looking place, food was great too! service was great also, I had to request to move rooms in the middle of the night as someone decided to do roadworks, and they moved me no problems!

Only negative I can say, is the pressure of the showers, was really low and hardly any water was coming out.

Room Tip: rooms at the back away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizzare469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Bizzare469,

Please accept my sincere appreciation for your kind comments! Thanks to you we have a clearer picture of our entire operation and product and I may say with a great deal of satisfaction, that we have, obviously, succeeded in this task. Thank you as well for pointing at the water pressure issue, which is quite unique, as we have installed an internal hydrophore tanks to prevent such occurences, however we needed your feedback to launch a technical inspection and check all our systems after the busy season.
I'd like to encourage you to consider visiting us again and give me the chance to offer our hospitality yet one more time!

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am sorry that our busy return to the UK by train allowed only a single night at this great hotel. It is well up to international standards on any continent north of the equator.
The location, by the SEA GARDENS and the main pedestrianised street, is ideal. The staff were very good, the room was great and the breakfast choice excellent.
What more do you need?
We will certainly choose this hotel again and will recommend it to all our friends!

Room Tip: Our room 47 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Bigbaz,

Thank you for your time and consideration to share your positive impressions of mOdus hotel! We value your opinion and it matters the most for all of us! It's a great pleasure to hear such motivating words for our work and we will be delighted if you'd choose mOdus hotel for your next visit! We are truly looking forward to it!

Sincerely yours,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varna hotels
0.3 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#7 of 51 in Varna
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel London
Grand Hotel London
#3 of 51 in Varna
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#5 of 51 in Varna
200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dallas Residence Hotel
Dallas Residence Hotel
#16 of 51 in Varna
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mOdus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mOdus Hotel

Address: Stefan Stambolov Str 46, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varna
#1 Business Hotel in Varna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varna
Price Range: £55 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — mOdus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOdus is a small hotel with unique modern design, ideally positioned for both business and leisure with easy access to the major commercial, shopping and entertainment areas of the city. It is 200 m away from Varna's central beach, next to the entrance of the Sea Garden. MOdus hotel offers 29 stylish rooms and 8 great suites with luxurious interior, furnished with: LCD TV, interactive IPTV, VOD, Wi-Fi, voice mail, mini bar, safe and much more. The suites are equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and goose-down duvets and pillows. The hotel is proudly dedicated to the Sustainable tourism and offers free bikes for an energizing ride in the nearby Sea Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your mOdus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modus Hotel Varna
mOdus Hotel Bulgaria/Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing