We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Charming Place in a Charming City”
Review of Pensiunea Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Cardinal
Ranked #6 of 121 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a Charming Place in a Charming City”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A charming place to stay just 5 minutes lazy walk from the old city with its museums, restaurants and shops. A wonderful careful and helpful staff, cleanliness, a great breakfast that can be served either in the restaurant, or in the terrace garden or in the hall of the second floor, very spacy rooms - all this together makes this pension an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    26
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here two nights during our weeklong drive through Transylvania. We were originally disappointed that it was not within the walls of the old city, but ended up thankful it wasn't, as we enjoyed the 10 minute walk home each night after big dinner. Just as the other reviews mentioned, it is on a quite street with parking right in front. Rooms were large with antique furniture and updated bathrooms. Breakfast on the outside patio was awesome and the staff was great. Our room was non-smoking and the air conditioning worked great. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms are on the 1st floor (2nd in the U.S.) and 2nd floor (3rd in the U.S.). No elevator, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Easy to find, position close to the historical center (10 minutes by foot). Clean, very big rooms, friendly helpful staff. Big, good breakfast (possible to have it on the terace). Parking available right in front of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miabirau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was a very good experience. Located outside the old city, but within walking distance of it. THis is perfect because it is quiet (we looked over a church), and street parking works well. Both rooms we had were good, the front desk personnel were attentive, the a/c and wifi worked well. Breakfast was unusual in that although it was included in the room rate we were given a menu to choose from (the prices were not relevant). We did not eat dinner here, though it looked pleasant. Although it was a small hotel, the front desk was always open and they speak English.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jincognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel. Last time I received a special bonus in the booking (10%) , as a Genius client (Booking.com). Very clean, large rooms, great furniture, air conditioned and very comfortable. A rich breakfast, the restaurant serves all meals at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Can't say enough about this place. Great rooms with faux-dated Egyptian furniture. Big comfy bed with free wifi that worked most of the time.

Free parking exists all on the road in front of the pensiunea and church. FYI.

Breakfast was included and they give you a menu. Order what you want. This way there is no waste.

No lift in this place.

Location is a 15 min walk to the city center. It is a very nice walk.

Only complaint: the coffee was not very good at all. Improve that and this will be amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We loved our two night stay here, everything about the place is wonderful, the staff, the room the food and the position.
The restaurant was fine and we had dinner here both nights as it was convenient, the food was great, the waiters friendly and the atmosphere lively.
We visited the Astra museum complex as other reviewers did and found it a fascinating place, well worth the whole day we spent there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parc
Hotel Parc
#17 of 31 in Sibiu
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Cardinal

Property: Pensiunea Cardinal
Address: Strada Justitiei nr. 9, Sibiu, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pensiunea Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing