We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Villa Weidner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Weidner
Ranked #29 of 125 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I wanted to visit Sibiu for a long time, and I decided to go when they had the Art Mania festival.
The location is within 100 meters from the main stage and close to a lot of attractions, being situated in the medieval part of the city.

I booked a single room, which was unexpectedly big and spacious, air conditioning in the room (which was great considering there were over 34 degrees outside), mini bar, big, comfortable bed for one person, as well as a choice of 3 different types of breakfasts, all included in a reasonable price for the room considering the service and the location.

Anyone should try the traditional food, staff are very friendly, so overall, I would happily return to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Suiogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and booked an apartment for our family (4 persons). We were unpleasant surprised to receive a double-bed room, without any sofa or extra beds. The room had only a small entrance hall, not 2 rooms as expected for an "apartment". We were told that this is their concept of "apartment" (being actually a bigger room), and they offered to place 2 extra beds in the room for our kids. This was OK for the night and for our case, but be careful when booking to be sure you want to pay almost 70Euros for a double-room. And there was something else that bothered me: the priced listed in the lobby are was under the one that we got from booking.com :(
On the other hand, the location is great, you just go out and find yourself in the Big Square.
The place is very clean and nice, good quality matterials. The breakfast was excellent and people friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Strongly recommend tourists to try the Transilvania traditional cuisine at Villa Weidner, a very rich menu, fresh products excellent cooked. If you visit Sibiu, is the best place to stop if you are hungry and if you want to discover good quality food from this area. Service is also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Octavia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had to go to Sibiu several times over the last couple of years. After trying several hotels with mostly good results, we settled on Casa Weidner. We went there five times since last summer, spending anywhere between two and six nights at a time.

I saw other reviewers appreciate the location and I can't disagree: located in one corner of Piata Mare, Casa Weidner is close to most tourist attractions in Sibiu. I also found the rooms to be well equipped and comfortable.

But what convinced us to select them as our base over the last year was the service. During our first stay, we had to deliver some business materials to the hotel in advance of our arrival. Not only did they receive it and take care of it very well, but they helped us carry it around later.

Although the restaurant lost its franchise last year, they kept it open and they made up for it in excellent service. We had to leave the hotel very early once during the weekend and, so that we can still have our included breakfast, the cook made sure to come one hour earlier than his normal schedule. Another time, they prepared our breakfast to go and they gave it to us the night before.

All in all, we're very happy with this hotel and with the service and we'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calatorucanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is not a place to be recommended. The only plus is the location, but the Villa itself is terrible. Small rooms, very basic and unattractive. Not to talk about breakfast, very poor and the manager who doesn't care about the clients. There are many other places to go in the area and all of them are better.

Room Tip: Chose anything else but this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We saw the presidential apartment and decided to stay but we needed to check some tourist information to maybe stay longer. When we returned, all of a sudden, we were told the room wasn't available for us. The owner decided to keep it for a friend who might show up. How rude....

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Momogil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

After a very bad experience in Apollo Hotel in Sibiu we moved to this lovely hotel in the heart of the old town of Sibiu and we had the best time and a very good night's sleep in those fluffy pillows and excellent room temperature. Have in mind that this is one of the very few hotels in the old city of Sibiu with a/c which is more than necessary in the hot summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_miss_cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 30 in Sibiu
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#6 of 30 in Sibiu
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensiunea Ela
Pensiunea Ela
#12 of 30 in Sibiu
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Sibiu
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Weidner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Weidner

Address: Piata Mare no. 16, Sibiu 550163, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Price Range: £42 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Weidner 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you want to walk around the Cultural European Capital of 2007 or have business to take care of in Sibiu, Weidner House awaits you with three stars services and the traditional Romanian hospitality. We’re located right in the cultural center of the city. So you’ll be just a walk distance from the main cultural sites: The Brukenthal National Museum, The Council Tower and The Liers Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Weidner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing