We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not for me” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delis

Delis
Ranked #56 of 175 Restaurants in Sibiu
Cuisines: European, Romanian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Not for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Get the waiter a shower!
Learn to cook!
Beeing not cheap seemed fair ti have a good meal, but the surorise was big!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stepi1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our food, seemingly popular with locals, difficult to avoid cigarette smoke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We enjoyed meals from the traditional menu. It was one of the more expensive restaurants that we found in Sibiu but still reasonable in our opinion. The portions were fair and the food was nicely cooked. The service was attentive but not over the top. The toilets were clean and nicely kept. The restaurant wasn't too noisy despite a large party of people dining in the upper area. The only thing that I found challenging as a non-smoker was the amount of smoking around us but I believe the staff did try to seat us away from the majority of smoking clients. Some restaurants seem better laid out to maintain more smoke-free space than others and with the age of the buildings there is only so much that can be done.
I probably wouldn't choose to eat here again because I preferred other places that we tried but I still feel we had a nice and enjoyable meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsspikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worse meal I have ever eaten in Sibiu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We ate there because all the restaurants around were prety bussy.

After waiting 45 minutes for our order, we received some badly cooked food (my beans were not even fully boiled)

We left there very very dissapointed about the food quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank solsein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal76100
Level Contributor
185 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We dined the three of us on the large terrace outside. We ordered three traditional meals (pork dishes). We were really pleased with the quality of the food. It took a long time to get served but the wait was rewarded. Very tasty traditional food.
Service ok. The restaurant is equiped with a credit card machine. Good point!
Location is perfect right on the main central square.
Price wise this is very reasonable. We paid only 112 LEI for 3 meals and 5 beers!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal76100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Food is fine, we sat outside and it felt like u could have been in venice ..... and at the end of the meal we felt like we had been treated like tourist cash cows. Everything down to the bread was charged for - not unusal is some parts but it is for romania - service was overly attentive with cash signs blazing everytime we were asked if we would like something more. Paid bill and change not returned or the bill - was disgusted at the attitude we sat and asked for the change from the bill - clearely 'expected' change as theirs. A real pity we are here for a few nights and won't be going back .... oh and if u ask for recommendation you may find the price steers the recommendation. Food is fine - attitude towards tourists sucks.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlesP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delis also viewed

Sibiu, Sibiu County
Sibiu, Sibiu County
 
Sibiu, Sibiu County
Sibiu, Sibiu County
 

Been to Delis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing