We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imparatul Romanilor
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Old Europe type hotel, lots of character. Around the corner from the main square, all pedestrian area. Great location. Very classy and lovely atmosphere. Got one large double room with jacuzzi.

Staff helpful in every way. Breakfast was good, loved their fresh cheeses.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LetiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is in the center of the old city. It is not on a steep hill as some reviews have claimed. Walking is easy here. Be sure to take a metered taxi from the RR Station or airport!!! Service was excellent. We had the suite which had 2 bathrooms and a living rm. Breakfast,as well as other meals in the hotel, was very good. Sibiu has a wealth of museums and churches. We were there a week and did not run out of things to do. Safe and clean too.

Room Tip: The suite or apartment is very little extra. Reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

I was traveling alone and had no car. I wanted to stay near down town so that seightseeing was easy.
The taxi ride from the airport is short and costs about € 5. The hotel is located on a street where no cars are allowed, but the taxi takes you all the way to the back of the hotel. There is also parking available if you drive, but the parking lot was beeing under construction.
The hotel itself is beautiful, you feel like you are stepping back in time. Full of mirors and lights and gold...The staff was great. There is an elevator and also a business center and a pool (which I did not use). The room was big and the bathroom was small. The bed was a queen size and confortable. There is not a clock in the room and also no heat control. I don't know if they have air conditioning, I was able to open the windows when it got too hot at night.
Breakfast was included with the room and it was very good.
I would reccomend this hotel for its location and confort. The price was also right.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I spent 1 night in this hotel, while I was travelling around Romania. From my whole trip, this hotel was the best one! The room was clean and nicely decorted and the bed was SO comfortable... I want to thank Christina from the front desk for her extremelly kind treat and for her help! In my next visit to Sibiu I will return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trotamundos59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The hotel is located in the heart of the city in a lovely old building. Our room was nicely decorated also. The real problem we witnessed was that there was a construction going on in the courtyard of the hotel and although our room was looking on the other side of the building, the noise was very disturbing. And the workers started working on 06.00 in the morning!! And the hotel seemed to do nothing about the noise. Every other thing was pleasant about the hotel and the town of Sibiu.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sevast-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

This hotel isn't bad by Romanian standards. The rooms are comfortable and it's got character. But it was spoilt by the breakfast service, which was lamentable. Staff who didn't bother refilling empty buffet items, ignored all the foreign guests, pretending not to hear when asked for something, whilst waiting hand on foot to a few local mafiosi and serving them cappucinos which weren't offered or available to anyone else. When your reviewer complained to the manager, she was met by a shrug and a typical Romanian "what can I do about it?". This hotel is not cheap; go to the Continental up the road, which is newer and appears to offer excellent weekend rates.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank liz051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

A hotel in an excellent location and seems very elegant at a first impression, but the elegance is just a coat of paint thick. The furniture was very much "flat pack" with a little bit of gold paint to give an impression of French elegance. The room had only one mirror and that was hidden behind a large television set.

The bathroom was small and old fashioned with no real shower. It smelt faintly of drains.

Only one elevator.

No air conditioning so stay away during the peak heat season.

Apparently all rooms have only one queen sized bed. No twin rooms.

Staff not overfriendly. Probably trained during the communist era.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saxon188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 31 in Sibiu
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Levoslav House
Levoslav House
#11 of 31 in Sibiu
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imparatul Romanilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imparatul Romanilor

Address: Strada Balcescu Nicolae 4, Sibiu 550159, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range: £54 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imparatul Romanilor 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Imparatul Romanilor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imparatul Romanilor Sibiu
Imparatul Romanilor Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing