We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imparatul Romanilor
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The rooms are very nice and the spa is wonderful. The negative things are that smoking is allowed in all rooms including the hallways and common areas. The breakfast is of low quality. There should be an alternative to stay at the hotel without the breaksfast because Sibiu has a lot of nice things to serve.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    74
    47
    26
    9
See reviews for
23
84
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cayman
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

After one day in this beautiful hotel 1' away of the gorgeous piazza, we felt like home!
We were given a room with a staircase, which is an ingenious trick to give one the impression of being in an appartment. It had a separate sleeping area and another one for cooling down in a setting decorated with style (watch tv, have a drink etc).
The staff was extremely kind, smiling and helpful.
It is a great choice for anyone wanting to experience what living in the center of a unique town like Sibiu is! That Balcescu street never sleeps, with people wandering about, playing music or just enjoying one of the many pastry temptations likely to haunt you after your departure from Transylvania.

It must however be said that after one breakfast at the hotel and the mandatory pictures of the impressive restaurant, you are done with it. Two main reasons: the repetitive Julio Iglesias music and the always-the-same choice on the menu.
Also, as elsewhere in Romania, it is perfectly OK to smoke in the hotel, so it could be bothersome to be exposed to smoke, even in the bathroom.. But otherwise, it is worth going at least for 1 night in this hotel. Do not forget to bring your swimswear for the elegant spa! Learn from our oblivion! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Wasn't sure about this place as I read some of the reviews but need to say any of the 2005 to 2008 customer reviews are already outdated as the hotel was fully and entirely renovated and it's just lovely in character. I would return here any time for its historical value and service.

I cannot think of a better and more genuine place to match the entire atmosphere of the Old Town Sibiu than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91SarahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is obviously one of the landmarks of the old town Sibiu. No other hotel has a more convenient location right off the main square and on the main pedestrian drag. There is a large parking facility belonging to the hotel right in the back.

We found it to be excellent value for money and wish we stayed more than two nights. Our room was very large classy decor and furniture. Although facing the pedestrian street it was quiet and loved looking out the window to see the locals walking around.

Their staff was extremely polite. We got a call in the room after we check in for them to make sure all was fine. Breakfast was good, the typical buffet with eggs made to order though I wish they had a larger fruit selection.

Definitely recommend this place for the value and charm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlbuffOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Imparatul Romanilor Hotel for two nights during a five day trip throughout Romania. We absolutely loved it!

The hotel itself was extremely charming, and the staff was helpful and gave us the price we saw on booking.com when we asked for it (52 euros). The room was large and extremely clean, and the bed was comfortable. We also liked the continental breakfast because the food was better quality than most. My husband even spent some time in the spa and really enjoyed it.

We would be more than pleased to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelotz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Very durty hotel,durty bath,noisly and very impolite Manager.We consider than it is a hotel under 1 star and the European criteria.Very expensive hotel compaire with the modern and close hotel Continental who charge about the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Old Europe type hotel, lots of character. Around the corner from the main square, all pedestrian area. Great location. Very classy and lovely atmosphere. Got one large double room with jacuzzi.

Staff helpful in every way. Breakfast was good, loved their fresh cheeses.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.2 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 31 in Sibiu
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sibiu
26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imparatul Romanilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imparatul Romanilor

Property: Imparatul Romanilor
Address: Strada Balcescu Nicolae 4, Sibiu 550159, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imparatul Romanilor 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Imparatul Romanilor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imparatul Romanilor Sibiu
Imparatul Romanilor Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing