We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old European Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imparatul Romanilor
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old European Charm”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The lobby and dining areas bring to mind the days of old - graceful and elegant - loved the look of the interiors and the location is right in the heart of the pedestrian area - it was not loud - just conveniently located

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC_Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    76
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
27
88
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Nice hotel in the heart of Sibiu on a pietonal street with weak breakfast a very nice SPA OK services
Close to Sibiu attractions. Not cheap but just OK.
I canon not say anything about restaurant cause I didn't try it.

Room Tip: Try to get erlyear to breakfast to get some food
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fullam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As you walk into the foyer of the Imparatul Romanilor you can feel the grandness of this 18th Century hotel. The foyer is huge and decorated and furnished ornately in the early century style. The bedroom is a lounge come bedroom which is also decorated in the renaissance style. The breakfast was very good and the decor matched the same style as the rest of the hotel. We could not get wifi in the bedroom, but managed to get it seated in the large foyer lounge where we were able to get bar service. We would recommend this hotel to experience the glamour of the past. It was well situated and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed only one night in October and were very happy with location near the main square.The hotel and our room (the bath itself is very modern and large and jacuzzi) was what some might call 'ornate' but it is charming in its own right. Our room was very large with a sitting area also. The bed was low but comfortable. Due to time of year no comment on a/c or heat. The breakfast room is very large with high ceilings and ornate and they had a large selection to chose from and something for everyone. The decor might be much for people who want a modern decor but I felt like royalty in this 16th century building built in traditional Transylvanian Renaissance style,a former merchant's hall; became a hotel in 18th century with Emperor Franz Joseph II, Franz List, Johann Strauss and Prince Charles as guests. Go for it!

Room Tip: They do have many festivals in the square and run into the night and the bands are very loud. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfever19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

That was all it had going for it...don't let the grand entrance fool you. The room was pokey, not very clean, burnt out light bulbs, half stocked bar fridge, everything in the building smells of smoke, Wi-Fi was only available in the smelly lobby. We were there on a weekend and the noise from the wedding receptions kept us up well into the early hours of the morning, The staff was definitely not interested in resolving any of our concerns. This is not a 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: pick one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed there for one night only, the location is great, right in the city center. We liked the big rooms, high ceiling, the room we had was like a loft. Fist floor had chairs, coffee table and a tv, also the bathroom, upstairs was a bid double bed and a tv on the wall. The furniture looks a bit old and rusty, but otherwise the room is very interesting. Helpful staff, breakfast quite poor, the internet only works properly in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annie_m001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a group/tour. Great location, right in central Sibiu. LARGE rooms, decent bathrooms, big foyer/lobby, free wifi. Long corridors which reminded us of The Shining :P
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank ButtonsKill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#9 of 31 in Sibiu
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imparatul Romanilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imparatul Romanilor

Property: Imparatul Romanilor
Address: Strada Balcescu Nicolae 4, Sibiu 550159, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imparatul Romanilor 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Imparatul Romanilor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imparatul Romanilor Sibiu
Imparatul Romanilor Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing