We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service but amazing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fantanita Haiducului
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We made a stop for lunch on our way to Lake Balea and we did not stay overnight, so I cannot comment on the quality of the hotel. However, we did enjoy our lunch, the food was amazing and the service was friendly, though slow. When we arrived, the place was packed and if you're in a hurry, this is not the place for you. We waited for 1 1/2 hours for our food, but it was worth it. They had everything we asked for and the food was a treat.
We returned a few days later and the restaurant was only half full, so we didn't have to wait for more than half an hour, but the service seemed slow and bored, the food was still amazing.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms,but the prices are huge comparing to the area. After all is nothing else but a road motel... No frige inside,no minibar,no wifi(room 115). Restaurant is not so cozy as expected,in fact quite kitchy and the chef should be fired. The pork ribs was very oily(was fried not grilled-I cannot understand why,because I ordered a grill) and taff like a shoe... The trip soup was ok. Continental breakfast also ok. I cannot recomend this,they are so many options...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adi6709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were on the last leg of our East European tour and were on our way to Bucharest via Sibiu from Budapest and decided to go see the Balea Glacier Lake. However it was raining heavily and we decided to turn back and on our way back to our hotel in Sibiu we saw this hotel and broke journey for lunch.

The hotel was crowded and we took a corner seat in the non smoking section. Service was slow but we had opted for Romanian food and found the food very good.

My wife being a vegetarian relished the mamaliga she ordered with vegetables and I myself had mamaliga with grilled fish. Others in our tour had tripe soup and mamaliga with other combinations.

I recommend mamaliga with combinations of vegetables or meat or fish and

We did not stay in this hotel and so cannot comment on the quality of the rooms. Nor can we comment on the non Romanian food served here.

Room Tip: Try the Romanina food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've been to Fantanita Haiducului twice, just to have lunch, so we don't really know how the accommodation is, but the food in the restaurant is great and not so expensive.
Both times the menu was large enough, with plenty of choice, and they had anything we asked for. From soups to main courses and desserts, everything was delicious.
It's often crowded in there and because of that, the service may seem not so good (slow and clumsy) but when your order finally arrives you forget about complaints and just enjoy your tasty meal.
We'll certainly eat there every time we'll be in Sibiu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

As my friend has commented, from the outside you feel as though you could be arriving at an Alpine lodge tucked away in the dolomites. Sadly, you're not. If Romania were to film Fawlty Towers they'd probably do it here. The room we were given had not been cleaned, the always cheerful staff delivered below average service with a smile as though this was all perfectly acceptable.

The place made you feel rather like an inmate than a guest. Really disappointing. As to breakfast, included in the room rate.... an obvious example of how one can cut corners. Heavily watered down juices, coffee like dishwater, stale pastries, what was left of them.... awful.

A shame, as it could be such a jewel if run properly. Basil could do a better job....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel looked promising enough when we arrived. Unfortunately some things in the old Eastern Block seem to be the way they have always been.
Service at check in was cold, to say the least. When we got in the room, we found used towels on the bathroom floor and asked for a room that would have been cleaned. Hotel was full, so the room was promised to be cleaned. Turned out the cleaning meant picking up the towels and bringing in clean ones in. As I went to bed, I realised the sheets weren't fresh either. But it was midnight, we had driven for 10 hours and I could not face another argument with the staff.
To top it all off, when we got to the breakfast at 8.00 almost everything, including coffee, was gone.
Would not recommend this place and definitely, should I ever find myself in Romania again, will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have asked some people for a nice place to eat near Sibiu, in order to avoid going into the city. Most of them recommended this place. Bad advice taken: average food, very low value for your money. Yes, the area is nice, the facility the same and there are very few other places near by, but when i go to eat good food, this is what i am expecting.
They should rather take out from their menu things they're not prepare to cook, than fill it with all soups and special dishes, when they can only do a couple.

Room Tip: Do not choose the tripe soup! You will find student's canteens with better soup of this kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ov M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
10.1 mi away
Hotel Stefani
Hotel Stefani
#14 of 31 in Sibiu
47 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Apollo Hermannstadt
9.2 mi away
Am Ring Hotel
Am Ring Hotel
#23 of 31 in Sibiu
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
558 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Roberts
Hotel Roberts
#17 of 31 in Sibiu
79 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ana Airport Hotel
Ana Airport Hotel
#26 of 31 in Sibiu
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantanita Haiducului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantanita Haiducului

Address: Padurea Bradului, Dn 1, Sibiu 550047, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range: £40 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fantanita Haiducului 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fantanita Haiducului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sibiu
Sibiu Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing