We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our hotel for the International Theatre Festival.”
Review of Casa Luxemburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Luxemburg
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The service is perfect, the breakfast is good, the location is more than perfect and the atmosphere is that what you expect from a old town hotel.
During the festival expect a lot of action in front of the hotel and count on parking problems on the weekend.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank egopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreea_m, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the positive feedback.

It's a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luxemburg and that you were overall happy with the service provided.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Sbranca

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Casa Luxembourg's centra location on the square in old town is the selling point. The hotel is clean but very dated. No elevator or air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent with made to order omelet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andreea_m, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Casa Luxemburg as your travel destination.
I am sorry your experience at Casa Luxemburg was just a "three star experience". Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us.
We will keep striving to offer our best service to our guests so that everyone will have a comfortable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Delia Sbranca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our room seemed to have been sprayed with some scent...then when we went to bed, I found the linens were so scent heavy I could scarcely sleep. Shower head would not stay in a position to spray one's body, just relied on holding the wand. Very noisy hallway. No air conditioning. No elevator. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Give your room a "sniff" test!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent visit with us at Casa Luxemburg on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable with the smell of the room and the shower. We will definitely take into consideration all that you have told us and better ourselves in those areas of interest.
Casa Luxemburg was built on the first line of defense precincts of the Burg, this is why it is not only a historical monument but also one of the oldest buildings in Sibiu. This is one of the reasons why a powerful air conditioning system could not be placed in the rooms and it is not posible to build an elevator in the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This charming hotel is centrally located in Sibiu in a beautiful, recently restored historic building. The service is helpful, friendly and efficient. I had a huge and very comfortable suite with a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and there were two ! sofas, a desk and a chair. But the hotel doesn't seem to be professionally managed. The large bathroom has a tiny shower and decrepit fittings. Breakfast is somewhat chaotic and catch as catch can. I can certainly recommend staying here, but the hotel could do better.

Room Tip: The suite is room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaNosseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Mr. Bornstein,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay at the Casa Luxemburg. Your opinion is very important to us. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
I am sure that if you will come next year to Casa Luxemburg, you will have a more pleasant stay. We are a young team and in my opinion, we are making progress every day.

Thank you for choosing us and also for the future recommendations. We will ensure you by our full availability for next visit to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Unique small hotel located in a historic building in the heart of the old center of Sibiu, Piata Mica.
The service at this hotel was the best I had during my vacation in Romania: When I was checking-in, I received a map and a brief explanation of the nearby attractions, which all are in close proximity to this lovely hotel. The service I received from Raulca was efficient and professional, courteous and always with a big smile.
The standard room in which I stayed was spacious, light and airy facing Piata Huet with the Basilica.
Breakfast was adequate to start the day, served in a cozy rooms, and included all the usual things, including eggs made ​​to your preference.
There is no elevator in the building since it is an old historic one, but the courteous staff immediately offered help to deliver your belongings to your room.
I already miss this hotel....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the positive feedback.

It's a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luxemburg and that you were overall happy with the service provided.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.


Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed there for 5 days, the room was big with nice view, very clear and warm, the breakfast decent and the staff very fiendly, I definetely recommend Casa Luxemburg. At the ground floor it is a nice coffee shop, you should go there (Atrium cafe).

Room Tip: Room 24 and the next one on the same side are very big and have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank domnitarugina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Casa Luxemburg hotel offers probably the best location in Sibiu. In fact, there are hotels on the main square but the main square can be noisy. Casa Luxemburg is located on the small square (Piata Mica). When you arrive, you will be offered a parking card so that you do not have to pay any additional parking charge. Our room was quiet big and the bathroom was okay. Breakfast is served in a nice room with charm.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonardo_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.5 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#9 of 31 in Sibiu
468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
0.4 mi away
Exclusive Hotel & More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luxemburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luxemburg

Address: Piata Mica No. 16, Sibiu 550182, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sibiu
Price Range: £42 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Luxemburg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luxemburg is an unusual hotel with exceptional rooms looking out over a city that in 2007 was designated European Cultural Capital. Situated in the very heart of Sibiu, Casa Luxemburg still preserves unique architectural elements thus reminding you of initial charm from the 13th century.Each room has its particular style and you can choose to stay in any of them enjoying picturesque views of the Liars’ Bridge, the Evangelic Cathedral or the Council Tower. Come and enjoy a special stay in Sibiu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Luxemburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luxemburg Sibiu
Casa Luxemburg Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing