We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really clean, but a bit far.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kolping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kolping
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really clean, but a bit far.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel Kolping was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayedin. The room, the halls and everywhere smelled and looked clean. The bed, the pillow and the matress were extremely comfortable. The breakfast was adequate, the coffee was delicious, and the view from our room's little balcony was really nice. Staff were helpfull and kind. The only downside was that it is not inside the historical city, so you need to walk about 15 minutes, the final part of the hike uphill, we stayed only 1 night so it wasn't a big problem for us. It costs around 5 lei from city center by taxi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanus_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
32
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Large spacious rooms with plenty of storage. Only issue is, they didn't have lifts and so would be difficult for wheel chair bound folk, or those who have difficulty with stairs. All steep and narrow. But the hotel is on a hillside and so it is difficult to reach anyway. Lovely views over Brasov & not too far to walk into the centre.
Food was average and indeed better than other hotels I'd stayed at in Romania. THey don't really cater for vegetarians. Good salad for starter tho'.
Barking dogs kept us awake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElwynRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Everything was very nice and pleasant. The room was big, the bed was comfortable, the food was good. The staff was careful and helpful. The place has a great view on the city The old city centre is just 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

First they have a good location with a nice view above the city center. Also is close to old city, but a little hard to rich because is on the hill. Nice view from the restaurant but they serve only the breakfast, wich is continental and decent.

Second the rooms are ugly, with cheap furniture and horrible mattress! We had a awful sleep. Lucky us we stayed only 1 night!
Also at 10degrees they did not want to start the heat!
Overall the price is to high for such a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel Kolping is located up on the hill above Brasov (Kronstadt) old town.
That gives you a fantastic view over the old town (especially black church).
Its not really far to the old town/main square but one should consider the quite steep street up to the hotel.
there is a parking lot right on the hotels property and we always found some space (parking is free for guests).
From the hotel entrance you have to walk upstairs to the first floor where the reception is. here is an elevator to the upper floors.
breakfast is included. the food itself was ok and especially the view from the balcony was great. unfortunately i have to say that they first ran out of cheese, then coffee :-(
the rooms are really big, clean and very comfortable (free WiFi).
During our stay there were constructions made, which didnt bother (no noise in the evening or morning) but they should have a small garden in the back, which was not available.

Room Tip: i dont know if they even have rooms not facing the city. but rooms facing the hill would be a no go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Mixed feelings - we reserved rooms for our first night in Romania but could not find the hotel since their map on the internet was upside down. We got there for nights two and three. It is much smaller in reality than their website. Rooms were very nice and breakfast was good. Dining room was not open for other meals and the van to the center of the city was not available as advertized. Neighbors dog barked all night and that was because it had been attacked by a bear or so we were told.

Room Tip: Stay on the right side of the building to avoid the dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CptJohnret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Fairly new hotel, with good spacious rooms. Rooms have cable TV. It had free wifi, and a nice breakfast buffet that one can take indoors or in the balcony. The hotel is near the old town, a short walk down from the hotel which is on a hill. That does offer some good views of town. The staff was very helpful and was able to accommodate our special requests as a group We had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and the food was very good. The rooms did not have A/C and maybe that is generally OK but the nights we were there it was very hot. We opened with our room door open so we could get some cross-ventilation. That and the small showers are the only things I could say I wish had been better. Other than that, a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 55 in Brasov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 55 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 55 in Brasov
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 55 in Brasov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Coroana Brasovului
0.8 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 55 in Brasov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kolping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kolping

Property: Hotel Kolping
Address: Strada Petoefi Alexandru Nr 27, Brasov 500107, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kolping 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kolping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing