We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options in Brasov”
Review of Hotel Ambient

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambient
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There are better options in Brasov”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is in walking disctance to many restaurants, pubs and the historical center. The rooms are really big and have nearly suite size.

What I didn`t like about this place was the rooms have been filled with cold smoke even after 2 nights of keeping the windows open and if you are a none-smoker that is just hell.
Aditionally their service mentallity is quite strange, the hotel bar is closed from 11 p.m to 9 a.m. which is quite ridiculous in a hotel especially when the staff at the reception would only need to open a fridge at the bar to hand out drinks. This obstacle comes "especially handy" when you would like to have a sundowner with your client after dinner.
The breakfast room is in a kind of basement an can get really packed ( especially when bus groups are in the house) as they only have 6 or 7 tables available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    95
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
44
76
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As part of a lads tour of Romania we stayed at this very comfortable and stylish hotel, for anyone visiting Brasov, whether to go to Bran (Dracula's castle) or the nearby Bear sanctuary, this hotel is ideal.

It is warm, comfortable, well appointed and in a good loaction near to the old city, i woulod definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would definitely upgrade to a junior suite, it is not expensive to do so and you get a spa bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a chance to stay into this nice hotel for a few days. Very clean,quite and modern hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Very good food for the breakfast and well prepared + delicious food into the restaurant for the remaining periods of time. We've been with our baby and restaurant staff paid little bit more attention to us - for which we are really grateful to them - Thanks a lot!
Location is central and very close to the city center and main shopping street. Everything is on walking distance! If you have a car - excellent free own parking - open and underground garage too.
Only that elevator is too small and if you have a lot of luggage bags or other "oversize" stuff with you will be necessary to make a few up-downs :)!But this to be the problem .... :)
If you going to Brasov - recommended place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very clean, modern and well presented, parking with guardian and within walking distance to the centre. Breakfast abundant and kept stocked, something for all tastes. Room was spacious, comfortable and complete. Bar service handy. Staff friendly and eager to please. Room next to elevator shaft echoes the elevator which is annoying. Prices of the mini-bar exaggerated. Although huge, there was only a bathtub in the bathroom with a hand shower and no curtain or shower glass. Terrace area is in front of entrance facing the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dario954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, Alaska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here after driving from Tg. Mures. The weather was intolerably hot in Mures and Brasov was a welcome reprieve. Compared to other places in Romania i must say Ambient is top notch. its unusual to find friendly, helpful staff let alone customer service in Romania. Ambient staff nailed it! Great Job! The hotel is within walking distance of the center. Clean comfortable beds and a great AC unit! (at least in my room.) The other room we had in our group said the AC unit was worthless; but mine was Artic conditions! the breakfast was great and the overall ambiance of the ambient is modern, stylish and fun: if not a bit cheeky :) (loved the mirror) Rooms were really big and comfy! Overall, i would say that I will certainly be staying at ambient the next time we go to Brasov. Its about 1hr drive to castle peles, 45mins to bran, 5min walk to shops, bars and restaraunts. 10mins walk to black church. American credit cards accepted. good wifi. We didn't access the spa.

Room Tip: its worth the cost for both breakfast and a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbTaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

One of the better hotels in Brasav, we stayed three nights in it while visiting Romania. Excellent, helpful staff in this funky hotel. New wing recently added. The lobby and common areas have a sort of strange "disco" feel - with lights and more of a new wave music. The staff was exceptional - arranging car rental for us and one of the bellhops even drove us, for a very reasonable fee in his own car, to Bran Castle and surrounding area. Excellent English skills among all staff, large room, nice breakfast included in our reasonable rate ($100 US) in June, 2013. Close to the historic city center and nice restauarantes, easily walkable to most in-city sights. Close to the train station, although you should beware of the taxi drivers - better to walk a block or two from train station and then get a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler37485796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived without a booking and the last room available was in the 3 star wing. It was nothing to rave about but it was clean and quiet. The staff was very good and the location was OK.
It is OK for an overnight stay and I imagine that the normal rooms are better.
I can recommend it

Room Tip: Chose the 4 star rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
1.1 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belvedere Hotel Brasov
Belvedere Hotel Brasov
#17 of 56 in Brasov
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambient

Property: Hotel Ambient
Address: Strada Maniu Iuliu Nr. 27, Brasov 500091, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brasov
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
#6 Business Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ambient 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the centre of Brasov, a few minutes away from the historic monuments, elegant bars and glamorous shops, this hotel is a reference point for luxury accommodation. Enjoy superb views of the city, perfect service and culinary delights in the hotel's restaurant. Utmost attention is paid to every single detail, ensuring that you spend an unforgettable stay at the Ambient hotel. Don't miss to explore the picturesque Old Town of Brasov with its mansions of the late Middle Ages and elegant 19th-century buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambient Hotel Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing