We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My 15 year old son and myself stayed at Casa Wagner in Brasov on June 6th and June 7th 2008. What a cool place. Located right on Piata Sfatuli shopping, restaurants, cafes, nightlife, and historic sights are right out the front door. The building the hotel is in dates back to1477. The plaza and the historic Black Church was the view from our window.

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room, on the top floor, with its exposed beams was comfortable and clean.Each room has its own bathroom.

I can not imagine a better place to stay while visiting Brasov than Casa Wagner. Value, location, and old world charm make this hotel a hit.

  • Liked — Location ,Price, and Ambience
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chucksyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    270
    81
    17
    5
See reviews for
103
285
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We have just returned from our honeymoon in Romania where we stayed in the Casa Wagner in Brasov for 3 nights. The hotel is perfectly located on the main square in the old town, whilst without being noisy. Our room was very spacious with a king size bed, and we paid 75 euro a night, with breakfast included. The staff were friendly and helpful, although maybe a little too keen to call us taxis rather than recommending how to use the city's public transport. The hotel was not luxorious, and would probably not meet the most exacting standards but for us it was it was just right and i think good value for money.

  • Liked — comfortable big bed
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

A very nice little hotel in a terrific setting. Very friendly staff who organised taxis for us very efficiently. Good breakfast with ample fresh coffee and buffet selection. The rooms are a good size and recently redecorated. Ours had a great view over the square. Clean modern bathrooms and fresh towels daily. Even the cleaners were friendly! Highly recommended in it class.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jonoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

Sooo nice. We booked a regular double room and were put into room #8. It was so big I was afraid that they were going to charge us for the junior suite. But no, that WAS the regular double room! Great place to spread out our stuff and stay for four days. Right on the square, English-speaking reception. Decent continental breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — bathtub
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danubefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We can say that we spend at this hotel the most beautiful moments of our vacantion in Romania. It’s a great country, in spite of the negative rumours that we heard before going out.
This hotel left us a nice impression because it’s a surprising and also a intimate place. Our room was welcoming and extremely clean .
The lumber is renewed, as we been informe by the receptionist, a kindly person who help us a lot along our stay.I don’t remember his name, but he’s a good-looking young man with glasses.
The services were archer comparative with other places, a varied and qualitative breakfast.
I forgot to tell you that the hotel is situated in the middle of the town in a square, and it is surrounded by old buildings, the people are very friendly and the restaurants are wonderful with great food.
We hope we’ll back again soon at Casa Wagner.
P.S : My husband was very delighted by the unlimited internet connection.
Eija-Riitta Ilse - Oulu, Finland

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EijaRiittailse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

First of all this hotel is in an unbeatable location - right on the main town square. But it is also really nice. The building is old, so has heaps of character, but refurbed, so everything is in good condition. Our room was downright huge, and beautiful in an old-fashioned kind of way, with a big corner bath in a very attractive bathroom.

Reception was efficient and friendly enough, if not warm. Breakfast was the best I have had yet in Romania. (I have stayed in a lot of places, but all 3* or so, so don't compare it to the Hilton!) In addition to the usual eggs, meats, cheese and bread, there was cereal, croissants, fruit and yoghurt.

I'd say great value for money, great experience, somewhere to enjoy, not just to lay your head.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeckyRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

We stayed in the Casa Wagner only for one night and were overall very pleased with the choice. I contacted the hotel directly via email and got a very prompt and competent response back, the actual booking was "informal" but worked well. The receptionist was very friendly and showed us to our room, which was just being finished - we were a good 2 hours early for check-in.
The room was on the top floor, very charming (wooden floors, beams...) and a new bathroom, the entire room was very clean.
The room didn't have AC (I dont believe many have) but thanks to the thick walls it was no problem, even on a hot summer's day.
The location is unbeatable, right in the centre.
Breakfast was very nice too. Overall we could not fault it, and will surely choose it again if we return to Brasov. The only negative point might be for people with walking difficulties, as the property is on several levels with quite a few stairs for all floor levels having rooms.

  • Liked — Location, charming room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
578 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 25 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing