We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in centre of old town”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in centre of old town”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Comfortable hotel on main square in centre of Brasov's old town. Parking is very difficult if coming by car and we ended up paying a lot for a nearby pay parking recommended by hotel. The hotel is nice enough but not as charmingly "historic" as others we stayed in. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    267
    78
    17
    5
See reviews for
101
281
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent one night in Casa Wagner during our Romania trip. The hotel is located in the center of the pedestrian area. There are plenty of shops and restaurants. The room was small but adequate for two people. Also, our room was very quiet and easy to sleep.

Check-in: easy and fast. One challenge is that climbing stairs is the only way to the rooms. If you require an elevator, you may want to choose another hotel.

Please note #1: that the hotel service was excellent and the staff helped with the bags.

Please note #2: while the hotel is in the center of the tourist section, it is approximately 90 meters off the main road. You or someone else will need to carry your bags to the hotel.

Breakfast: breakfast was fine with a nice food selection. Breakfast was available for several hours to accommodate all types of schedules. Also, the hotel offers complementary coffee to take to your room.

Wi-Fi: fast and easy to access.

Overall, the hotel was excellent, service was outstanding. For example, I was in need for a converter for my US computer. It was actually a bigger deal than it sounds. I was desperate!! The staff at the desk came through with a converter.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel straight in the middle pf the old town. The building is from the
15 century with oeiginal wooden supports. Rooms ate luxurious with a batthub and free wifi. Service is fine. Breakfest at 8 checkout at 12

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, but it can be difficult to find as it is not right on the road, but instead, fronts the square. The GPS coordinates for the hotel are: N45 38.541 E25 35.359

However, parking is even more difficult to find. At the recommendation of the staff, we found parking at N45 38.389 E25 35.085 which was unmetered. We could therefore leave our car in one of these parking spots for the duration of our trip.

We found the staff to be friendly and speaking English was not a problem. Our room was large and the bathroom well laid out. However, the floor of the room was filthy. There were hairs and dust bunnies all over. The other problem we ran into was that our room's windows opened into an alley which must have also opened to the doors of a bar or club. Even though the night was warm, we had to keep our windows shut to try to keep out the noise.

Breakfast was served in a small area above the front door. We unfortunately were staying in the hotel at the same time as a large cycling group which also decided to eat at the same time we did and therefore the small space was packed. The staff were not very quick to clear off dishes when people left and so we had to clear our own table by piling dishes on another vacant table. The selection of food was ok but not outstanding.

Overall, a nice hotel with potential. I can understand the parking problems due to the excellent location of the hotel. However, the lack of cleaning (rooms, dining hall) kind of ruined the experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel is in the center of the old town, the most beautiful part of Brasov. The rooms are very clean and with a beautiful interior design that makes you feel the personality of the entire area. The facilities have covered all that I needed (including access to the internet). But what impressed me the most are the people. Exceptional service and very nice people which show their care in providing a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
341 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Sister hotel to the Casa Wagner of Sighisoara. Incidentally one gets 10% discount, for the second hotel, if both hotels are booked together. Like the Sighisoara hotel, this also a large property converted into tourist hotel, for visitors to Brasov. Situated write in the tourist plaza, this hotel is somewhat better. The from room window opens right in the main plaza, centre of all activities. The breakfast was good and management team was friendly and helpful. Again no elevator and be careful if carrying heavy bags; although we were helped by the front desk lady with our bags, albeit they were medium sized.

Room Tip: Front rooms opening in plaza, but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Casa Wagner Brasov, was our den in the historic town of Dracula. A neat and clean place in the midst of all tourist attractions.

Pretty good buffet breakfast, served even after the normal breakfast hours and on the top catered to our specific need (vegetarian), a rare treat, thanks to the management.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naresh1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
571 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 25 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing