We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, nice place”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Location is excellent, right on the main square of the old town. We booked a junior suite, which turned out to be a room in the attic. Although the room had much caracter (despite being in the newly built wing) and was comfortable (nice functional bathroom also), i would not say it's a junior suite - there is no seating area, and the small mezzanine above the room is really cramped. Note we were on the second floor and there is no lift.
breakfast is varied and of good quality. Staff is friendly. In general the place left us a good impression.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VINCE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located in the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and the rooms are clean and spacious. Lovely interior design. Breakfast is rich, prepared freshly and available until 11. We can highly recommend this place in Brasov.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris0979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Casa Wagner is perfectly located on the square in old town directly across from the Black Church. I would classify it as a boutique hotel. Very comfortable rooms with great character. The breakfast is excellent and plentiful. The General Manager Aurel (aka, Nicko) is very personable and extremely at tentative to the needs of his guests. Unfortunately, we were there only one night but would have enjoyed more time to explore Brasov using the centrally located Casa Wagner as the hub. If you are driving, be aware that ther is no parking adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 18 can pick up noise from the bar/breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We reserved a suite on booking.com
At our arrival (4 p.m.), we did wait for more than 20 min to see somebody coming at the desk!!
Finally she told us that there was no suite for us (with quite strange explanations), but the room they can offer us was less expensive...
Of course, it was a very little dark room, on a corridor without any window and smelling humidity.
At the end of the discussion, she found us a refurfished clear room and we obtained a discount!
So, be careful, all the rooms are not in the same conditions and there are big differences. Ask to visit rooms before choosing the one you want.
The hotel's situation is perfect to visit the old town : just on the central place but you have to park (and to pay for that) your car on a parking, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast is correct and our room was clean.
In conclusion : for the same price, if I had know, I would have been at the hotel Bela Muzica (just 2 minutes walk from this one! with a lovely and very good restaurant).

Room Tip: Visit the rooms before selecting one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lekikidu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location is dead center of large plaza. We were very pleased with cost, room cleanliness, location, and service. We spent 2 nights before moving on to Sighisoara. From Brasov, we explored Bran and Sibiu and Fagaras (and should have explored Transfagarasan road, I regret that)
Absolutely, we would stay here again. Our room had a commanding view of the square, it was awesome.
Nearby is tavern Pilvax and Bella Musica. Great meals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for one night, on spec, having read lots of positive reviews, and were delighted with the welcome we received. We arrived early, which was not a problem, and left our bags in the room while we went off to explore the town. Our room was large and light, with a well-designed shower room on the side, and overlooked the back of the building as we had asked for a quiet location. The beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of hanging space for clothes etc. The main attraction of this hotel is the very helpful staff who helped us organise two trips ; a taxi trip to the beautiful Bran Castle (negotiating with the driver to make sure exactly what we were getting) and secondly, a whole day tour with a local guide who took us to the Bear Sanctuary half an hour away, followed by the Monastery at Siniaia and then Peles Castle which was again incredibly beautiful. The benefit of having the local help was much appreciated as we had not managed to learn much Romanian in the 24 hours that we had been in the country. All in all, I would definitely recommend Casa Wagner as a friendly, comfortable and good value base to explore this beautiful area. With it's central location, it is a great base and you will not find a more helpful or smiling staff !

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back which was wonderfully quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is one fabulous little hotel. We had one of the rooms in the back of the hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, and well appointed. The room had three large windows allowing for a cool nights breeze. Breakfast was probably one of the best we had on our journey through Eastern Europe. The hotel is located right on the main square...where you want be.

This review would not be complete without a mention of the cheerful and helpful staff on the front desk.

If you are going to Brasov there is no need to look further!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsteven_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
626 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#4 of 56 in Brasov
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#7 of 56 in Brasov
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kolping
Hotel Kolping
#5 of 56 in Brasov
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasov
Price Range: £41 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 25 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing