We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apt. 3 min. walking distance to Piata Sfatului”
Review of Residence Hirscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Hirscher
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Cortland, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great apt. 3 min. walking distance to Piata Sfatului”
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We found this place quite late in the evening. We paid 65 Euro for one night, for an apartment that had two floors and was perfect for 2 couples. The only downside to it is that there is only one bathroom, on the upper floor. The apartment has a kitchen, too - which made us think that next time we'll be in Brasov we'll stay here for a couple of days. We also looked at some hotels nearby and the prices were more than 65 Euro per night for a double room. If you travel with kids, or with more than 2 people (but not more than 4) this is a perfect location. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. Its major attraction is that it is very close to Piata Sfatului, and the whole downtown area - it is literally in that downtown walking area, but a couple of blocks away so that it is on a quiet street. Highly recommended. I have to admit I was skeptical initially that an apartment will be cheaper and better than 2 double rooms in a hotel, but it worked out great. One downside to this location, but I think this may be valid for anywhere in Brasov- expect to be woken up at 7am by numerous church bells.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
13
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

The appartment was great: Spacious, clean, with some charme and with an elegant decoration. The kitchen is perfect and also the bathroom. The only problem we had was with the dicothèque at the residence. We spoke with someone in the reception desk and he was very unpolite... "It's not a disco but a lounge, sir", he said... That was his answer! The terrible service of him was the opposite when we spoke about our problem to sleep to someone else. He was very polite, helpful and nice and apologised for his silly and rude colegue and also offered to us another room, far from the disco... Or the lounge, sorry (but noisy as a discothèque!!!). Thanks to his service I'm not going to say that the staff wasn't good. About the location, it cannot be better. We were just at some steps from the Main Square and the frantastic Black Church. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel in the summer of 2006 and it was a very good experience. But this place went downhill since then. The sheets and towels were not changed and the comforter seemed not to have been cleaned after the last guest. There was no coffee maker in the kitchen, although the kitchen was supposed to be "fully equipped". But the worst of all was the weekend: a group of high school students rented every available room. They partied all night, the stereo was at the maximum volume (heavy metal) and they went up and down the (wood) stairs the entire night. The frond desk person did not care; in fact, to our surprise, the hotel was left unattended during the weekend nights to the extent that, in the morning, few gipsies were walking around the hotel lobby and hallways free, begging the guests. When we complained to the manager, his reply was "we don't care since we can get business anyway, so you can post any review you want". Also, when we check-out, we noticed unexplained charges for mini-bar items we never used. This was by far the worst experience at a hotel outside US.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dd1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Nice, spacious apartment-style rooms. The kitchen could have been better equipped (a microwave would have been nice), and there was a bit of a smell of mold, but otherwise no complaints about the lodging. The location is outstanding - perfect for exploring the city. Our only problems were with parking and internet access. The hotel's website advertised that both were available, which was true, but with limitations. Parking is in public spaces in front of the hotel, and the machines only take coins of certain denominations. We had a surprisingly hard time finding enough change that the machines would accept. (There is some free parking around the corner, but you have to be lucky to find a spot there.) As for internet access, it's only available if you have a Romanian mobile phone number - the service has to send you a confirmation code via SMS, and it won't send one to anything other than a Romanian number. Neither of these problems was a big deal, but we wish we had known about them ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I was very pleased with my accomodation. The hotel is very charming and is in the best location possible. The building has a great deal of history and the apartments are HUGE. I felt very comfortable and the staff was incredibly helpful and curteous. I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I always stay at this hotel when visiting Brasov. The rooms are very spacious and in fact are one bedroom apartments with a sitting room and basic kitchen. For the business traveller the sitting room can be used for meetings as there is a large dining table to gather around or work at. Communications are excellent with hardwired broadband connection. The Residence Hirscher is also a few minutes walk from the historic city center with its multitude of restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

As mentioned in the other reviews, our apartment had a large bedroom and a huge living room. The kitchen is small but who really wants to be in the kitchen when travelling. The staff is nice and helpful. There is parking spaces on the streets mostly with parking meters. The residence is just next to the central plaza, the centre of the city with all the restaurants, shops and pedestrian streets.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heureuxvoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
1.8 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gott
Hotel Gott
#13 of 56 in Brasov
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hirscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hirscher

Property: Residence Hirscher
Address: Strada Hirscher Apollonia nr. 14, Brasov 500015, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hirscher 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Hirscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hirscher Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing