We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but updated and charming”
Review of Residence Hirscher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Hirscher
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived when it was very hot in Brasov. Our group immediately freaked out that there is no a/c and no lift. But once we all settled down- we realized we were in a very nice little hotel. The rooms at spacious and clean. Rooms on street a little loud. But great location. Very nice staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent a couple of nights there during May 2014. As other reviewers have said the hotel is perfectly placed for sight-seeing and the rooms are amazingly spacious with a very useful kitchenette.

I didn't find the fact that breakfast was served in a separate building to be a problem. I breakfasted there one morning (great omlettes) and tried other places eg. a pancake specialist in a nearby street.

The staff at Residence are worthy of special mention, especially Bianca. All who I spoke to there couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best though the Residence is on a quiet street so the ground floor rooms aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Located on a quiet street just a block to the main square this is the perfect hotel for any. We stayed here while on volunteer trip and the staff and the GM did a great job to make it safe and fun for us.
The rooms are very large. with Hide-a-beds you can have lots in each room. the beds are nice and the bathrooms have all been updated. There is lots of room in the living and dining area as these are apartment style rooms complete with small kitchen.

The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile whether we were coming or going and were always extremely helpful and polite. I have stayed here before and one of the reasons is the staff. they are always willing to help out and this year it was appreciated. My daughter got a bit of a virus and had some health issues. The front desk staff and GM recommended items, helped us find them late at night and were very concerned she get better. Thank you

there is no restaurant which is nice as Brasov has lots to choose from. They don't have lots of apartment style clean hotels like this.

Can't wait to return next June as its always a highlight on the calendar to visit.

Great price. very hard to beat as they charge fair price and don't gouge!

Room Tip: second and third floor the best. no A/c but they told me in 2014 they getting. No elevator for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

With a prime position for visiting the old town, Hirsher is an old, refurbished property withing a few steps from most of the touristic places in downtown.
Large rooms, large bathrooms however only one bathroom per apartment, basic kitchinette and strange, neon bulbs, lighting systems; terrible TV signal, providing only three fuzzy Romanian channels. Above the toilet there is a sign, in several languages, announcing the electronic tagging of the towels and bathrobes.
Though a breakfast is not offered, it is strange the place do not offer a deal with one of the many cafes/ bistros around; there is an Italian place very close, called the Hirscher Restaurant (obviously same owners) which opens at 9AM but offer only the same lunch/ dinner menu for breakfast, which is either a joke or a mismanagement of the place ( no bruch offer either, what a shame...)

Room Tip: It is a chellenge to find a parking spot between Friday afternoon and Sunday evening; parking permit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Huge flat on 2 levels, in a historical building situated in the heart of the beautiful city of Brasov. Lovely reception staff, very clean hotel, plenty of space and comfort, but unfortunately no lift available and the breakfast is served in a building nearby, rather than within the hotel.

Room Tip: The split-level rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccclaudiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Amazing location, excellent service, and very friendly staff. Probably the best accommodation in Brasov.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoodsCoffeeCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We found this place quite late in the evening. We paid 65 Euro for one night, for an apartment that had two floors and was perfect for 2 couples. The only downside to it is that there is only one bathroom, on the upper floor. The apartment has a kitchen, too - which made us think that next time we'll be in Brasov we'll stay here for a couple of days. We also looked at some hotels nearby and the prices were more than 65 Euro per night for a double room. If you travel with kids, or with more than 2 people (but not more than 4) this is a perfect location. The staff is friendly and everything is clean. Its major attraction is that it is very close to Piata Sfatului, and the whole downtown area - it is literally in that downtown walking area, but a couple of blocks away so that it is on a quiet street. Highly recommended. I have to admit I was skeptical initially that an apartment will be cheaper and better than 2 double rooms in a hotel, but it worked out great. One downside to this location, but I think this may be valid for anywhere in Brasov- expect to be woken up at 7am by numerous church bells.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have two levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexVN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
624 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#7 of 56 in Brasov
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gott
Hotel Gott
#13 of 56 in Brasov
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hirscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hirscher

Address: Strada Hirscher Apollonia nr. 14, Brasov 500015, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Hirscher 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Hirscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hirscher Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing