We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Constanta
Otopeni, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a 4 stars hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Positive:
On the beach
Nice restaurant
Good food
Free private parking

Negative:
Different things was broken in room or bathroom

Very thin walls , and also when someone was walking and talking nearby my room door it was like he was in my room, so very hard to sleep and rest...

Lack of variety of food

Unconfortable matress

In the hotel description on the agency and even on the hotel's website , there was a table tennis which actually it does not exists, and also the pool table it was lower on one corner, so it was impossible to play (but it was 20 lei / hour).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BogdanDumitru74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Distinguished Sir,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel for your latest trip. Also, we would like to mention that we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write us a review with your impressions about our hotel services.

We took acknowledge of the aspects that triggered your comments in order to solve those issues, since our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

Regarding the lack of the tennis table, we would like to inform you that the hotel lobby was completely restructured and was no place left for such indoor sport activity. That is why we had to remove it from the hotel lobby and from all our descriptions and offers. The pictures that you probably saw on the travel agency website are two years old ones, but on our official website, new phots have been updated from the end of last year, already.

Regarding the pool table, indeed, you are right. On the week-end before 1st of May we had a party with a local “funny” group of teenagers, that during the party they changed the position of that table. We had no time to bring a specialized person to recalibrate the pool table, till the 1st of May holiday.

We would like to thank you once again for your review, and to wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    35
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
39
43
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I was here in May so it was off-season and not busy. Good rate for the room for off season but I had problems with the room itself with the air ventilation. It took a long time to fix and I'm not sure why they didn't just move me to a different room since they had availability. Breakfast was good, nice selection.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the view of the Black Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenalyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Distinguished Madam,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel. Also, we sincerely appreciate that you took some of your time to write us a such kind review with your impressions about our hotel services.

We deeply regret the fact that you encountered some issues with the air ventilation and that it took a while to fix them, we deeply apologize for this inconvenience. Most probably our colleagues from the Front Office Department were unable to change your room with another one with sea-view, due to the fact that on the same period we had a corporate event that occupied our entire sea-view rooms capacity. And, as you said, it was a “Good value for such a pretty view”

We hope you will chose to travel to Mamaia in the future and that incident with the ventilation will not stand in your way of choosing once again Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel as your holiday establishment.

We would like to thank you once again for your review, and to wish you a very pleasant day.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We reached hotel as a group of colleagues from different European countries for Group meeting/conference. As the weather was crazy (cold, wind, storm, heavy rain, floods) the staff in the hotel tried to compensate it by being absolutely helpful and kind. Especially thanks to the hotel manager Simona! Rooms were nice and clean, food was average, but we were at the hotel in October, after high season. If you have a room in the renovated part of the hotel you cannot be dissapointed by choosing this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Arrived at the hotel very early and we had to wait untill 1 pm to be given a room , the receptionists were not helpful and didnt make us feel welcomed , actually rude
The room given on ground floor was nice but cheap furniture, the balcony was very small only enough for one chair ! the en suite toilet is tiny but ok Air conditioning worked well so no probs . The standards of the room did not represent a 4 star hotel , the previous year we stayed in Mamia at Orfeu Hotel and the room was nicer ....
We had half board included , breakfast was very good , fried eggs.scrambled and boiled eggs , different types of cheese ,ham,salami! Lots of veg/salads and fruits ...
The hotel and restaurant is almost on the beach so we had our meals outside watching the sea and enjoying the beautiful views ...
The swimming pool is very nice ,medium size and kept clean .
Conclusion , nice holiday but overpriced for what it offers !!!! More a 3 star hotel
I would return to this hotel if it was a tempting offer but will not pay the same rate again even though its The Best location .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonique01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The overall impression was good. Very friendly welcome at the reception, very good vareity of food at breakfast and good choice of reasonably priced dished for a-la-carte lunch/dinnner.
The rooms are pretty small as well as balconies. But clean. Only staff at the hotel bar appeared a bit lousy and not too friendly. You had a feeling like it was really difficult for them to serve you with drinks. But all compliments for the staff in the restaurant, very friendly and attentive. Depends on the deal you get for this hotel but in general I can recommend it for holidays or shor break at the sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNapotnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our second stay at Golden Tulip Mamaia. 2 years ago we had a really good time and were impressed. This time, not so much.
PROs: the restaurant is great. The staff is attentive and friendly, there is an impressive variety of food (we were on the all-inclusive plan and ate 3 meals a day for 7 days there, so this was really important to us) and most of it is really good. The view from the restaurant is also perfect.
The location is excellent as well, very close to the beach but with no major clubs around (so no loud music at night).
CONs: house keeping had a nasty habit of vacuum-ing at 3pm, just when we were trying to catch an afternoon nap. Minor details that are just upsetting if you notice them: spots of some sort on the wall in a corner of the room, the balcony door didn't close properly unless you slammed it, the hair drier was broken in two places (still usable though if you held it right). The place shows its age, and that's the real problem. Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the TV in the room was a CRT - it didn't bother us but it just added to the general impression.
You could play table tennis in the lobby but the rackets they gave you were torn and damaged - it's things like these that are bothersome - seriously, management, table tennis rackets are really cheap, why not replace them? etc. etc...
This may not be a con for everyone, but there were lots of small kids in the hotel and they were often loud and obnoxious at meal-time.

The hotel really shows its age and while we did have a good time and ignored most of these shortcomings, if something doesn't change soon then it will get really bad. Certainly not a 4 star experience.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a partial view towards the sea. It was in the 2nd building. The major prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBWocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Unfortunately this hotel hardly will get 3 stars. It may had 4 stars but years a go. The room interior is old, you can see that they painted partially, the TV was CRT. The bathroom did not have proper ventilation, the house keeping staff was not trained properly, we ask them to change the bed sheets on the third day, they did not provide a spare toilet paper on the 4rd day. The corridors on 2 floors had cracked mirrors, in the lobby and other areas the corners of the walls were scratched. The breakfast was poor for a 4 stars hotel, it was a bad smell in the area were the drinks are served, we did not book lunch or dinner, we eat in the restaurant, one time they mixed up the orders, one time we argued with one of the waiters that if we order a meal for child than the child had to eat it. The kids area is indoors, there is a LCD TV that runs 4 cartoon in the morning than all day long the TV stay with the USB or DVD menu on. The pool is closing at 18:00 even if there is still sun, the water in the pool was green, on the wall that was on the side of the pool you could see a green line. Parking is very small, hardly can find a place, the alley on the back of the hotel is a trap for desperate people that cannot find a parking place as the Police is blocking cars.
The internet connection by wireless is limited to certain areas, however the reception provided a cable that i plugged in the room. In the lobby there is a ATM (Reiffeisen Bank), a computer connected to internet (i think is using tokens or coins), a pool table (there is one more in the bar). On the beach you can rent a sunbed for 25 lei ( 7.50$), there is a area next to sea were you can deploy your own towel without renting a sunbed, a beer served in a plastic glass is 8 lei ( 2.40 lei), on the bar you can get as well other drinks. The bach is sand made of shells, rarely you can see small stones. Unfortunately when i was there were many algae.The water is not deep for over 200 m from the shore, there is a buoys that marks the swim area limit, the deep in that area was around 1.70 m. There is no life guard stationed on this section of the hotel beach, the beach next has a Life Guard tower and a life guard is patrolling i think every 30 min on foot and same times in the water with a Kayak.

Room Tip: If you decide to book there are 2 towers, i understand from others that the tower that face the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Constanta hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Vega Hotel
Vega Hotel
#3 of 96 in Constanta
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#2 of 96 in Constanta
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iaki Hotel
Iaki Hotel
#8 of 96 in Constanta
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
New Splendid Hotel & Spa
New Splendid Hotel & Spa
#7 of 96 in Constanta
14 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
#14 of 96 in Constanta
79 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ibis Constanta
Ibis Constanta
#4 of 96 in Constanta
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel

Property: Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel
Address: Millennium Plaza, AV a. Waked | Jupiter Junona Complex - Mamaia Resort, Constanta 900001, Romania (Formerly Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel)
Region: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Constanta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Constanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Constanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing