We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Constanta
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Its only advantage is its location: on the beach. The rooms are pretty average. As regards the cleanliness, I was very disappointed. On two different ocassion I was given towels which had not been properly cleaned,which is unacceptable for the kind of hotel it is presumed to be. The bed sheets where not immaculate either.
The breakfast ok, a wide range of choices - except if you're vegan,then you can only eat salad and fruits.
However, I once ordered lunch at their restaurant - big mistake. The brocolli soup was ok, but the salad I ordered was very small and lacking taste and personality.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay...only maybe if you really want a beach location and have not found anything better for the same price in the entire Mamaia.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank mariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Distinguished Guest,

Please allow us to thank you for the time taken to write us a review with your impressions about our hotel services.

We took acknowledge of the aspects that triggered in your review in order to investigate those issues, since our guests satisfaction is our main priority. We would like to mention though the fact that, since our hotel is a summer holiday beach , during this time of year, the towels are changed on a daily basis, but the sheets at each two days. Please let us know your room number and if the maid missed to change the sheets at the necessary term, or if you specialy asked this service between the terms since you mentioned that the towels nor the sheets were not properly cleaned/changed. We apologize if happened to have unproper linen, because one of the main positive remarks about our hotel is regarding the cleanliness of the rooms.

Regarding the fact that we are not a vegan oriented restaurant, we do agree with you, we don't have a vegan menu but if our customers request a special menu, always we try to fulfill their requests. Also, we would like to mention that a lot of our guests consider our breakfast to be delicious, good, abundant.

We would like to thank you once again for your review, it is very helpful to find out our guests opinion. After all, our best interest is to satisfy our customers and to fulfill their expectation, but olso to keep the objective line of our guests opinions. This is the reason we are always asking our guests to address “on-the-spot” their remarks, comments, suggestion or complains during their stay, such way enabling us to solve instantly any problem that rise, to give all necessary information and to have a direct human contact, that make the communication with our guests more efficient, in both sides interest.

We wish you a very pleasant day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Planning to impress my guest with Romanian food at Golden Tulip, as it was advertised on the large billboard ...! I did it, in the worst way I could! The strong point of the promised Romanian food was the garlic sauce fragrance floating aver the terrace! The pork meat had a terrible off-odor, so I was complaining and the dish was not on the bill! The wine was semi-dry, and the waiter was nearly to pour water in the same glass, without asking! For a foreign tourist, a foreign brand get some security, so he would like to find the easy and common food they find abroad! Salmon, duck liver...nothing complicated! Ok, there is a foie-gras in the menu, but can they cook duck liver? The recipes was with grapes and red wine! Really? Red wine? A such a simple dish??? And here it was difficult to have an option for a la carte menu! So, instead of 2 or 3 services, we had only the main-course! Half-chicken roasted with polenta and garlic sauce (this is the way the dish is coming, even they don't like the polenta or the garlic sauce. So, nice life music show, even a little to loud for a terrace, nice view...for food, maybe the buffet would be a better choice!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gabriela1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Distinguished Madam,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel for your trip and for taking the time to write a review regarding our restaurant services.

Related to your review, we would like to mention that in our restaurant, next to the main general menu ( that include local dishes ) there is a special additional menu with Romanian traditional food, that is very appreciated by our guests, Romanians or foreigners, garlic being one of the ingredients of some of the dishes. The same garlic fragrance you can easily find in a mediteranean restaurant.
We sincerely regret that our large choice of Romanian dishes were not on your taste. Please be informed that any of the dishes in the menu can be cooked and served accordingly to our guests special requests ( eg: without polenta and garlic ).

Also, even if the hotel makes part of an international hotel chain it doesn’t necessarily mean that the restaurant should have exactly the same recepies and dishes as another restaurant from another country; we maintain though the same standards but we have our own recepies. We regret that only after reading our menu you decided it does not mach, at all, your high expectation.

Regarding the pork meat missing on the bill, this is the restaurant policy: if a guest has a complaint and is not eating his ordered dish, justify or not, that dish will be excluded from his/her bill.

We hope that at your future trip to Constanta you will return to our restaurant and serve our delicious dishes, appreciated by so many guests, so having a second opinion regarding our services.

We remain at your disposal for further information.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We got bumped up to this hotel after the Hotel Palas had overbooked - I'm glad we were moved, as the Golden Tulip felt more modern and airy, plus it's closer to the sea front (and our room looked over the beach too). The rooms are modern and very clean, and the breakfast buffet was great too. As seems the norm in Mamaia, use of the swimming pool, or use of loungers on the beach, cost extra per person.

Overall a clean, average to good hotel with a lovely beach right on it's doorstep.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - the beach is right there so it's a great sight - beats the car park on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Distinguished Sir,

Please allow us to thank you for having you as our guest at Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel and we deeply appreciate the fact that you took the time to write us a positive review. We were more than glad that we were able to offer you accommodation in a crowded period, taking into consideration the overbooking from another hotel. We thank you for your kind remarks and opinions.

We need to mention that by comparison with the hotel capacity, the limited number of seats on the beach and at the pool, it is necessary a fee in order to grant access. Please be informed that we have the lowest fees in the area. The access to the pool includes: tub with heated water, towel, sun lounger, umbrella, Jacuzzi, sauna, massage shower, a free beverage, full assistance and on site service during the day, only for 35 lei.

Should you be interested in coming back to Constanta, Romania, we will be more than glad to receive and confirm your reservation, offering our services, upon hotel’s availability.

We wish you a very pleasant day and we are at your disposal for further information.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the fact that it is located on the beach. The restaurant has a sea view, so its nice to have your meals while looking at the sea.
Other than that, it is an average hotel - the service is not great, the girls in the reception are not very kind, they seemed somehow bored, the rooms are pretty modest and they do not seem very clean, breakfast is ok, not a great variety of dishes.
Bottom line, it is not worth the price you pay for staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Distinguished Madam,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel for your latest trip. Also, we would like to mention that we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write us a review with your impressions about our hotel services.

We would like to assure you that we took into consideration all your remarks mentioned above and we are really disappointed that, even though you have a relatively positive general overview, there are few things that led you to a negative conclusion.

Some of the main comments of our guests refer to the size of the room, being small but always very clean, like all other spaces, and about the freshness and abundance of the breakfast, even if the daily selection is basically the same.

We will keep in mind your remarks and we shall implement all necessary actions in order to offer our customers the best services upon our hotel standards.

We are at your disposal for further information.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Here's the thing: we've been staying at this hotel every summer since 2011 (with a single exception). Every time we come, the experience is worse.

First off, I will confirm what others have already mentioned:
- it's weird that the hotel has a "private beach", but you need to pay for the beach chairs.
- the reception staff can be quite rude and condescending (*note: the day staff. The ones in the evening are nice enough)
- food has gotten quite... not good. I wouldn't say bad, but certainly underwhelming. This is significant: the first time we came here, food was excellent!
- rooms are really small for a (allegedly) four star hotel, and they're falling into disrepair.

Here's how things change over time (for the worse):
- the first time we came, our all inclusive lunch and dinner included all you can drink beer, wine, and bottled water. Last year, the same was included but you got tokens for beer and wine, so it wasn't really all you can drink. This year, neither beer nor wine are included and water is only available from a water cooler (in plastic cups, I might add. Good luck having a romantic dinner with that).
- this year, internet broke twice already and we had to call in maintenance because the air conditioning was leaking in the bathroom.

I also need to mention this: golden tulip somehow manages to draw some uncomfortable lines between their guests, making you feel like you're second rate somehow at times. In the evening, some tables are reserved for a la carte customers. This seems absurd: we've had a la carte every night (been amongst the privileged) but our final bill has never been more expensive than the buffet price. What do they gain other than making guests who have the buffet dinner included feel bad? A similar thing happens with the pool access, though I won't comment because I don't know the details (we never used the pool).

To point out a few positive things: most of the staff is great, and they struggle to make lemonade out of the lemons they've been given: the guy who tends the parking lot is polite and helpful, the restaurant staff is great, the cleaning ladies are nice and do their job well.

In a nutshell, this hotel used to be good but now it's a huge disappointment. It most likely needs a change of management and more focus on making the guest feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBWocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Distinguished Sir,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed our hotel services once again, this year, being one of our many regular customers. From the beginning, please be informed that the hotel has the same management team for seven years now.

Regarding your discontent towards the hotel services, we deeply regret the fact that your stay with us did not reach your expectations; also we would like to mention that we acknowledged all your complaints and below you shall find some of our answers:

- rooms are the same size as they were when you came in the previous years, indeed small, but cozy, colorful and comfortable;

- regarding the payment for sun loungers at the beach, this policy has been used for many years, but since last year, when the hotel took over the administration the fees were decreased, being some of lowest in the area. On the other hand, the number of available sun loungers are significantly smaller than the hotel capacity. Information about the fees to be paid by customers desiring to rent the loungers is available since last year on all reservation platforms, website and to all travel agencies that are selling our hotel;

- our beach has also an exclusively dedicated area about 600 sqm for guests that do not wish to rent sun loungers and they can lay their towels directly on the beach and many our our guest chose this alternative, finding easily this dedicated area;

- you also mentioned that the front office staff was rude and condescending. We would like to inform you that the front desk area is permanently monitorized (video and audio) just to have the necessary control over the procedures and communication quality. We assure you that our colleagues did not intend to mistreat you or to have a rude attitude towards you or your requests, more than that our policy is to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible during their stay. If an instant complaint would have been addressed to the hotel management, “on the spot”, we could have revealed the exact situation and the front officer that was not acting properly;

- we would like to make though a clarification: our hotel never had “all inclusive” program, but only half board (lunch or dinner) or full board (lunch and dinner) that usually do not include drinks. Taking into consideration the fact that your bookings were made throughout a travel agency, as we were able to verify in our system, your should have been informed that the beverage package was no longer included for the year in the buffet meal plan. At the suggestion of many of our guests, seeing the “passion” for wine and beer of some other guests, the hotel management decided to exclude the drinks in favor of improving the buffet structure and increasing quality and quantity of the meals served as a buffet;

- Like in any restaurant, we are taking upfront reservation for “a la carte” and, of course, we reserve the requested tables. Having only one saloon and one terrace, we accommodate both group of clients, “buffet” and “a la carte” in the same spaces, on the principle “first came, first served”. Our guest understood that taking the reservation is far from being an offence to the others;

- We did not understand your remark regarding the access to the pool, mostly since you did not used it;

- We regret that during your stay, the hotel free internet connection had some technical brakes, when few hundred users were “online”;

- We apologize for discomfort regarding the liking in your bathroom, but when the room air conditioning system is working continuously round-the-clock ( that is not recommended ), the over condensed water on the pipe can leak. We hope that the problem was solved promptly.

We really appreciate the few positive aspects about us that you mentioned at the end. We acknowledged all your suggestions and since our clients opinion is very important to us we will do our very best to improve our services in order to satisfy almost all the demands.

We would like to thank you for having taken time to write us and to wish you a very beautiful day.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is located on the beach. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. The reception was a bit crowded, but the staff was good at handling all the work. The hotel standards are higher than the similar hotels in Mamaia, but average when compared to standards in Europe.
We were told that the pool was free for hotel guests during their stay and we had to pay when we arrive at the pool. The wardrobe broke down without even touching it(!) The safe did not work.
The breakfast should be improved. Nevertheless, I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaview and at the renovated part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ibrahim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, General Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Distinguished Sir,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel for your latest trip. Also, we would like to mention that we appreciate the fact that you took some time to write us a review with your impressions about our hotel services.

We would like to make though an annotation regarding you mentioning that you were told that the pool access is free of charge: at the moment the booking request was sent via e-mail, our colleagues from the Reservations Department, informed the person that dealt with the bookings from your group that pool access can be made at an additional fee, that includes: pool with heated water, towel, sunlounge, umbrella, jacuzzi, sauna, massage shower, a free beverage, full assistance and on site service during the day. It was never mentioned that it is free of charge. The Pool has only 60 places, few times less than the hotel capacity.

Regarding the other problems that you dealt with: the wardrobe door and the safe not working, we apologize for this inconvenience and we hope they were quickly solved by our colleagues from the Technical Department, in order not to create a discomfort during your stay.
We will do our best to make the breakfast even better we were able to do so far.

Please be informed that this spring absolutely all rooms were renovated, textile changed, new TV LED sets and new mini-safe installed.

We wish you a very pleasant day and we will be happy to find that in the future you will chose once again to stay with us.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located right on the beach, it's clean and the staff is nice and helpful. Unfortunately that's about it.
It doesn't seem to be a 4 star establishment. Rooms are small, breakfast is of poor quality. Fresh fruits are not available (except watermelon and plums). It left me with the impression of minimum investment to achieve the 4* rating and maximize profits while neglecting some important things which would make you return.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Edmund V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Tulip M, Manager at Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Please allow us to thank you for having chosed Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel and we appreciate that you took some time to write us a review with your impressions about our hotel services, honestly thanking you for your kind appreciation for the activity of our staff.

We acknowledge your opinion regarding the breakfast and since our clients opinion is very important to us we will do our very best to improve the structure and quality of our breakfast, for high expectation, like yours.

Regarding the rooms size, we point out in any reservation system or website, that all our rooms are small, but cozy and comfortable. It is mainly a summer holiday beach hotel, with a unique location, at few steps away from the sea. As small as the room, the bathroom was neatly organized, offering the maximum utility in a limited space. There are pleanty of guests that enjoy our hotel for vacation, during the summer all their activities being outside.

We would like to thank you once again for having taken time to write us and to wish you a very beautiful day, hoping to see you again at Golden Tulip Mamaia.

Kind regards,
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constanta hotels
1.7 mi away
New Splendid Hotel & Spa
New Splendid Hotel & Spa
#8 of 96 in Constanta
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#14 of 96 in Constanta
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vega Hotel
Vega Hotel
#6 of 96 in Constanta
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 96 in Constanta
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Constanta
Ramada Constanta
#17 of 96 in Constanta
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Palace
Hotel Golden Palace
#24 of 96 in Constanta
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel

Address: Millennium Plaza, AV a. Waked | Jupiter Junona Complex - Mamaia Resort, Constanta 900001, Romania (Formerly Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel)
Region: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Constanta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Constanta
Price Range: £37 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zenith Conference and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Mamaia Hotel Constanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing