We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pity about the employees”
Review of Hotel Balada Nej

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Balada Nej
Ranked #79 of 94 Hotels in Constanta
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, pity about the employees”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent the weekend at Balada Nej Hotel in Constanta, but I can only say: Never again!
The property looks all right, just like in the pictures. We had a big room with a balcony and a spacious bathroom, but that was all I could say that was right. We did not have toilet paper, we had tea facilities, but no tea. You cant' imagine how dirty the balcony was and there was a heavy smell in the bathroom.
The check in was slow, the guy at the reception desk was so out of place there!
And I can't say a single good thing about the breakfast. There were two girls serving there, but they were much more interested in gossiping and looking out the window to see what cars the clients owned. We had to get up three times to ask them for something they had forgotten. Not a napkin on the table, not a tea spoon and the fork seemed not so clean.
The leaving was just as difficult. I had to go back to the reception desk two times and ask for someone to come and lift the bar at the parking lot.
We are never again going to Balada Nej. Too bad it's an interesting hotel with a nice decor. But the employees are going to ruin the business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElenaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
10
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The "four stars" shown on entrance are in fact about three stars. the internet it's totally missing, the restaurant it's very poor, even the owner is "master chef" he know where (in which end of land).
Per total : it's ok for one night for business , but not for more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel proved to be a total disappointment. We stayed there before a couple of times but it was never as bad as this time. The staff were careless and inefficient, they simply didn`t care about our well-being.
The room was not clean and you could see hairs and left-overs all over the floor. The wallpaper was torn in some places. The telephone didn`t work. The TV remote control was out of batteries. And, on top of it, water was dripping from the ceilling, thing that we discovered when we went to bed (the sheets were wet).
At breakfast time we had another unfortunate experience. The girl at the reception took our order but she was ignorant of what the menu contained, motivating that it was her first day there. It took too long to have the coffee made as if it was rocket science. There were no napkins or glasses on the table, just leftovers.
The wi-fi was not working and the air conditioning was noisy and it worked really slow.
It was awfull!
We are sorry to see that the hotel is becoming derelict and the people working there just don`t care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SLClaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Constanta hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in Hotel Balada Nej for three nights. Our room was not cleaned on any of the days and towels replaced only on request. We had breakfast included, which means you order your choice of food from the menu, however in order to choose you need to wait rather long for waitress to take order and you food arrives at slow peace as well. On one occasion when we wanted to ask something at the reception we were totally ignored as receptionist didn't speak English, she didn't even try to communicate just walked away. On other occasion I was ordering the taxi at the reception and as I was making sure that I was being well understood I was sarcastically smiled on for my efforts. It is supposed to be four star hotel but staff behaviour is certainly not! The hotel is not near Constanta city centre or beach, however there are buses running there outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel was really awkward. Stuffed dead animals everywhere, but luckily not in the rooms. If you like them, ok. otherwise you might feel a bit strange walking around dears, foxes and eagles. A part from that, rooms were clean, with a kind of (fake) ancient style equipment (phone, bathtub...). Staff was just not helpful nor very polite. I can understand that nobody spoke English. This is not a problem, but you can still try to make an effort and be kind. It was not the case there. Also wifi was not working even if it was supposed to. For the very cheap price, it can be ok to spend 1 night there, but definitely not more than that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panxio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

When one arrives in the dark, like me, one is easily impressed when entering the reception hall and seeming to have gone back in time. The hotel interior gives the impression of an ancient Romanian castle in Transsylvania. The room has the same athmosphere. Stylish, surprising.

But when you walk out the next morning, the hotel appears to be the lowest two floors of one of the many depressing mass building blocks in Constanta, thanks to the modernism Ceaucescu wanted to give to the people. The buildings, including the Balada Nej, look like they can collaps any moment. In fact my balcony was falling apart already , with large pieces of concrete obviously fallen down from above, and cracks in the floor that didn't make me feel comfortable standing on it.

The hotel owner - who ignores the guests completely when he is there - appears to be chairman of some European culinary club. According to the quality of food of his own hotel restaurant I wouldn't eat in any of that club member's restaurant. Whatever meat you order, they will probably serve porc anyway. And when they serve it, it's probably cold.

The staff is nice, the live music excellent, but you have to love those (which I did). The quality of food however is very poor and has no relation whatsoever with any culinary standard or the price you are charged.

Some staff told me that the chef is not there in the spring and that the problem is the replacement, but then they should change menu's and prices when the chef is not in. There are far better hotels in Constanta and many better restaurants. The only justification for the expensive rates is the almost fairy tale interior. But that is simply far from enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raimond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
217 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

It is a nice place to admit, but I found it gloomy. The hotel is full of medival images and pictures; and some stuffed animal. The room was, however, cute but not very practical. The bed was huge and we thought it was a king size as we chose a "Royal Room", yet not exactly! It was huge because it was the combination of two single sized beds. We could not sleep well because of the wood between two beds. The bathroom was cute and clean. The location of the hotel is also OK, but a bit far from the downtown. The staff was friendly and they helped us a lot. About the sleep quality, I can say that it is located on a very busy street and it took time to fall into a sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carol
Hotel Carol
#5 of 94 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cherica
Hotel Cherica
#2 of 94 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Sangria
Vila Sangria
#31 of 119 in Constanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eol777 Hostel
Eol777 Hostel
#1 of 93 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#23 of 119 in Constanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Smar'T Flight
Smar'T Flight
#2 of 93 in Constanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balada Nej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balada Nej

Property: Hotel Balada Nej
Address: Bulevardul 1 Decembrie 1918 nr. 12 | bl. L53A, Constanta 900183, Romania
Region: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 94 Hotels in Constanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balada Nej 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balada Nej reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing