We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUINED Vacation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Azur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterranean Azur Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“RUINED Vacation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I was big fan of this nice hotel but not any more. it seems that either the management has been changed or they decided to save expenses on the account of the guests.


Brief:
- The rooms A/C is shut down
- The pool heater is shut down
- The service is not professional

Story:
once I got in the room, I reported a problem with the A/C. it works as a fan only. they promised that they will fix it in 20 minutes but nothing happened. I left the room for few hours and came back late to find the A/C still not working !

I was very tired to report the same thing again and wait for the technician again. so I opened the balcony for some fresh air and had an awful night with mosquitoes.

next day, I repeated my complaint and this time they fixed it but decided to turn it off again during the night and that's why I'm writing this review at 6 am....sweating

the pool heater was another story where I heard the funniest unprofessional reply in my life. the reply was:

- we shut the heating in April because weather is fine (although it's windy and cold)
- it takes two days to heat the pool
- You should have told us in advance so we turn it on for you... (yes ... it's a five stars hotel)

my short vacation has been ruined....checking out shortly

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank haytham_alassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    78
    56
    44
    42
See reviews for
87
46
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a cozy hotel with a private beach with no waves making the sea very enjoyable and safe for children. Both the sea and the pools were very clean and the beach was great! The buffet breakfast by the beach was excellent.
Staff were pleasant and efficient and the rooms were very clean. There is a certain family feel in the hotel.

At night, there is a night club and there are many restaurants/cafes both inside and just outside the hotel and further along the coast if you fancy a walk, particularly due east of the hotel. You can also catch a taxi to any place in Alexandria to see the sights.

We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_19London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in hotel Azur for 4 nights for business purpose.The Hotel is located in very central location and have a nice view overlooking the great Alexandria beach.The rooms are spacious (relative to European standards) yet the furniture is average.The hotel has a nice beach front and 2 medium size pools.The food is average.however,the hotel is surrounded by many restaurants.I recommend this hotel for business purposes and families with kids....enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nile-Pharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

The Azur was booked for us as part of a Peregrine Tour (Alexandria Extension). We had no idea where we were staying until we arrived there and what a pleasant surprise when we saw the location. I had no idea that Egypt could be as beautiful as the Amalfi Coast in Italy until I saw this venue. The hotel's private beach and the view of it and the pool from the balcony of our second floor room was breathtaking. I couldn't wait to dig my toes into the coarse sand and feel the warmth of the flat Mediterranean Sea. The hotel had a fantastic atmosphere, which we really enjoyed, especially on our second night there when the live Arabic music was playing in the Seafood Restaurant or similar quite close to our room. This was so refreshing to hear and enjoy after 3 nights on a Nile cruise boat where the music was western but played on pan pipes, like elevator music designed to drive you insane.

We were in a twin share room, which we found to be perfectly adequate. The beds were comfortable, the decor was tasteful, and the room was clean. As a smoker, i loved the balcony access for more reasons than the fabulous view.

The hotel staff did our laundry for us at a very reasonable price and there was an electric jug and coffee in the room, hooray! We found all the staff to be friendly and willing to please and their English en masse was certainly mire extensive than the smattering of EgyptianI we were able to learn and use in a fortnight.
We were very happy with the standard if the food, overall, and the service was lovely and prompt. Overall, we were lucky to have had this hotel booked for us in such a premier location.
The price was amazing as the view was priceless and you would pay 4 times as much to stay in similar accommodation on the Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia, so no complaints from us. Would stay there any time if it weren't so far from home in Australia!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandramaybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed as part of group tour but if paid directly would question value for the prices they charge.
Very nice location, situated right on the sea side with a private secluded beach setting. Lower floor has a balcony with upper floor having a very large window that looks out onto the sea. Not sure if all rooms have this outlook but please try for such a view. Grounds appear very nice and well kept. If you open the window you cop the very loud noise from nearby very busy street. The hotel also fronts a very busy street but there is an underpass to assist cross the road, handy for some fast food outlet if that is your desire. Not sure of location of nearby restaurants as we ate in the hotels dining room which was OK at best. My window would not lock and had to hang around in the room for half an hour whilst they fixed it (prefer such maintenance to be completed before its given to me - housekeeping had not noticed this?). No free wifi except in cafe downstairs which closes early then does not open until noon. Has a gym but that is closed until 10.00am.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice sea view and maybe check it out before they finalise the allocation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Hotel is nice, cozy and has a sweet warm environment, a magnificent scenery to enjoy with a great location, directly in front of the sea. Its a family oriented theme, the smell is very good, the staff is very friendly and hospitable, but they lack speed and performance, and clumsiness It took us a long time to check in and check out, and the bellman isn't professional, he was supposed to guide us to our room, instead he was explaining the route from reception, then another bellman hurried to guide us to our rooms. The pool isn't catchy despite of its horizon shaped design, because if they wanted to attract people, they should design in a way to make you feel that you are part of the sea, but the fences is blocking it so the view from the pool isn't extravagant and that's disappointment . The food is amazing and quite tasty with great varieties to pick from the buffet. but the outdoor main restaurant isn't covered in case of heavy rain occurrence. At night their service is quite slow due to shortage of the crew, the room space is quite lovely and its very organized, but they have very short variety of TV Channels, and mobile signal isn't perfect.
The overall environment is sweet, & if you fancy weekend trips, this is your spot.

Overall Rating : 7.5/10

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merwin91_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very central location in the heart of Alexandria, great sea view but a lot of concerns about cleanliness of the suite. Although it was obvious that it was just cleaned but the level of cleanness was poor.

We stayed around 40 minutes to check in spite of having 5 persons in the reception desk. Overall it's not bad, but extremely overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Tolip
Tolip
#10 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#2 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche
Romance Alexandria Corniche
#6 of 38 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Helnan Palestine Hotel
#8 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#12 of 38 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Azur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Azur Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Azur Hotel
Address: Corneish Road Roshdy, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Azur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Mediterranean Azur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneann Azur Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing