We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Crillon in winter”
Review of Hotel Crillon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Crillon
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Crillon in winter”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Admittedly, the coldest weekend in 106 years, so my timing was off.
Crillon is one those 100s of small privately owned Egyptian hotels that make an entrepreneur's fingers itch. so many lost opportunities! What could be done here with a bit of drive, imagination and minimum investment
Great location in the heart of Alex (Ramle just behind) , stunning views over the old Port (including two wrecked fishermen, we had a nasty storm).
Restaurant on the 2nd floor with an ok breakfast and a minimalised dinner menu (recited, not written) Reception and fairly decent rooms on the 3rd. But only a few have their own bathroom and i am getting to old to dress up and unlock -lock doors for a little trip to the loo in the dark of night. Extension on the 6th with a dozen rooms or so, Pity that the renovation here was done by a DIY weekend warrior. Paint on the carpet, the window glass, door handles but not on the ceiling. Clean, sort of but not behind the bathroom door; what the regular guest cannot see does not matter. and, you need the patience of an angel waiting for the hot water to make it to that floor. Showers here are only for 3-handed bathers as there is no hook to fix the showerhead overhead where it should be. Ever tried to wash your hair with one hand ?
One night was enough and i moved on down the road for the rest of the week.

Room Tip: This place is a few dollars cheaper than the rest, but along the Corniche, you'll find loads of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericzeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
9
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Passable but not great. Right on the main road overlooking the water (great view) so it was very loud with traffic noise until very late at night. You will find this everywhere in Egypt. the rooms aren't very effective at keeping noise out. the Lift was very dodgey looking. Shared bathrooms between a few rooms. Toilet had a strange smell. Not a whole lot of pressure in the shower, but temperature was fine. Bed was comfortable enough. Tv reception pretty dodgey. Fridge in room was good. Free wifi of reasonable quality for general Internet surfing, but not for downloading or streaming. A few food options nearby.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Quseir, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

location is wonderfull and also see view ( not all rooms). breakfast with eggs and free wi fi.

the space is in three floor and fornitures are shabby vintage . is very simple but comfortable and clean. especially the location is Worth the money
staff is very friendly

Room Tip: ask for a room with see view ,even if may be is more noisy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345678488096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because the place we were going to stay I was full. What a find. The rooms are very big and the ceiling height was fab. The plaster on one of the walls was blown and did need fixing but it added to the great feel of the town.
The breakfast was ok. The price for the room was £150 Egyptian pounds. With a shared bathroom. But there seemed a person cleaning the bathrooms all the time (the cleanest I had seen)
Well worth the visit. If I go back I will be staying here. The manager helped us with a taxi to the El Alamein, and washing. We loved the fact he sat behind his desk and just rang his bell. The rooms at the front ha better views

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

This place has a cosy homey feel complete with taxidermy in the lounge! Pay more to get the rooms overlooking the Mediterranean as its worth it. The place is fairly clean but a downside is shared bathrooms. On the whole, not bad

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BrisFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel some people would hate some love.....it is a little difficult to find....as its in a building on the 3rd floor.....other people live in this building. The lift is very slow and sometimes gets stuck....but its very homely as its like a big house on each floor....bathrooms are clean and the rooms are FANTASTIC overloooking the corniche, we sat on the deck for most of the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My room was on the 6th floor and it was relly really dirty. I've been travellng through the middle east, wich is not so clean in its standards, but I've never seen an hotel in those conditions.
The good things are the sea view rooms and the good breakfast served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
5.5 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#9 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
5.1 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 38 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Delta
Hotel Delta
#30 of 38 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Al Maghraby Hotel
#17 of 38 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
5.2 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon

Property: Hotel Crillon
Address: 5 Sharia Adib Ishaq, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 320

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing