We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEER SHOP IS RIGHT NEXT DOOR,VERY HANDY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Transit Alexandria
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“THE BEER SHOP IS RIGHT NEXT DOOR,VERY HANDY”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel could not be in a better position,it is within easy reach of almost everything you will want to see.The hotel is clean well run and is value for money.It is a little difficult to find,but with help from the hotel Cecil we found it just around the corner up on the fourth floor.There is a lift and it works most of the time,it is the oldest and most broken down one i have ever seen.All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    12
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
7
22
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

I know that this hotel has received positive reviews from other travellers, and ours may be an isolated experience, but we feel we need to share our experience at this hotel. Arrival at Transit was fairly straightforward (except for a lack of any sign indicating which floor the hotel is on - its on the fourth floor for the record), and we were quickly and cheerfully changed rooms to a double on request when initially given a twin (having booked a double). The room & bathroom was fine, well within the standard that is expected for mid-range hotels in Egypt, and had a small balcony. The TV only worked falteringly, but the wifi was adequate and reached our room fine. The staff were friendly enough at this point & helped us with directions to good restaurants etc. The room was quite noisy, but again this is usual in Egypt so no complaints there.

The problems didn't really start until the next morning. Breakfast was advertised as being from 8-10.30; we were keen for an early start to see Alexandria waking up (fish market etc) so were out of our room by 8.10. We came to the reception area to find the hotel manager fast asleep on the couch; so we tried a few subtle ways to wake him (turning lights on, ringing the bell, turning on lobby tv etc) but to no avail. By 8.20 we decided to just skip breakfast and leave - only to find the front door of the hotel locked so we couldn't!!! I eventually managed to wake him with vigorous shaking. He stumbled up and said he would go 'make our breakfast' and disappeared down the corridor. Ten minutes later he still hadn't returned, and now two other sets of guests had joined us in the lobby & were also unable to leave the hotel - including one couple who needed to check out & catch a bus. I went looking through the hotel, and in one of the rooms (which thankfully had its door open) saw him asleep again on a bed! I abruptly knocked & told him that he must get up as people needed to leave and the door was locked, he stumbled up and unlocked the front door and we eventually got our breakfast - albeit at 9am!

We spent the day out and about, and returned late in the day and paid for the room. There was a minor hassle in this as they didn't want to take US$ (having assured me on checkin that this was no problem) and offering a very poor rate of exchange (our booking stipulated US$ as the payment currency). We sorted it out OK in the end though. We also requested an early breakfast the next day as we had an early bus - we were told it was no problem (looking rather apologetic and sheepish after the mornings event) & we confirmed in a joking way that he wouldn't sleep in again. Unfortunately, he did! With no sign of him by 7.10 I again had to knock on the door of the room in which it appeared hotel management slept (he wasn't on the couch this time & again the door was locked), and was greeted angrily by a young woman who eventually woke up the manager. We should highlight that he had remembered to set an alarm - which went off while we were waiting in the lobby (unfortunately it wasn't much good there when he was asleep in a different room!). There was also a man knocking on the door of the hotel, who was unable to get in as the door was locked & the manager was asleep! Hilarious in hindsight, but also quite dangerous from a safety perspective....

In the end we were able to get our breakfast & get on the way. As you'll see from my other reviews, I don't tend to complain about small things; I just feel that it is ridiculous for guests to have to wake up the hotel staff in the morning, not only to have breakfast at a pre-arranged time, but also to simply leave the hotel!!

In summary, I'm sure there are better mid-range options in Alex, which is otherwise a great place. If you do stay here, be prepared to be the staff's alarm clock & plan to leave 30 mins before you need to!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournite1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Excellent location one street back from the sea, walking distance to cheap restaurants and main train station. Clean rooms and good beds. Slightly stinky and run down bathroom but decent hot shower. Noisy at night but normal for an egyptian city (think car horns). Very average breakfast for the price, i.e. packaged croissants and bread. Relatively helpful staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13, a twin with a lovely view of the main square and sea but a bit more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrythirstysleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for one night on a brief sight seeing tour of Alexandria. A great family run hotel in the centre of it all. The hotel is right near the waterfront and very close to the Cecil hotel (so a great location). A 30 minute walk to the castle at the one end and a short walk to the library at the other. Rooms were simple and clean. I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The staff there been very very helpful , it's a family (a father with his sons) , the location was dram, a few steps to reach to the library , also the train station you can go on foot , it was also about 10 minutes to reach the Museum and the Catacombs of Kom El Shoqafa the room was very clean , bit noisy comes from outside ,internet access for free, laundry room , breakfast , nice bed , mini bar , the room rate was great and very affordable it was very pleasant stay there , i would recommend this hotel for my friends ,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islamomran88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

No frills place in the middle of the Citadel & Library. Breakfast was more than adequate for European standards (croissant, boiled egg, tea/coffee, toast, jam). Rooms were clean. Bathroom was a bit small, but water pressure was ok (watch for kinks in the shower hose). Hot water. We could here the metro, but it was infrequently and not late at night. We got one of the larger rooms facing a back alley but a slight view of the sea (more quiet). Staff did not have any tour/day trips/packages; it might have been because of the lack of tourist. Plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Look for a small sign that says "Transit" in a small back alley. It was relatively safe at night since the entrance was close to the main street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnguyen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel has simple, clean rooms and is in a great location for walking to the waterfront. The staff were very friendly and offered a room for my husband to lie down when he was feeling ill (after we had already checked out and were waiting to head back to Cairo). The morning breakfast was simple but enough to start the day (coffee/tea, bread & jam, boiled egg). For the price this is a great option for budget travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 38 in Alexandria
19 reviews
8.4 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
4.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#3 of 38 in Alexandria
1,066 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triomphe Hotel
Triomphe Hotel
#11 of 21 in Alexandria
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexander the Great Hotel
Alexander the Great Hotel
#1 of 21 in Alexandria
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transit Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transit Alexandria

Property: Hotel Transit Alexandria
Address: 1 Gamal Al Deen Yassin St. | Raml Station, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Transit Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Transit Alexandria Egypt offers a comfortable stay with low price, find all the most important information and site seeing places in Alexandria, enjoy your holiday hotel with Transit.Wifi free, triple rooms, special discount for students, baby cot, two connected rooms for big family with special rates,cafeteria, lobby, breakfast corner, room service, minibar in each room, sea view rooms available by requestAbout 10 minutes walk to the Library of Alexandria, 10 minutes drive from the train station of Alexandria, surrounded by famous restaurants and cafes, just next to Hotel Cecil in Raml Station at 4th floor downtown and not far from French Consulate in Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Transit Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing