We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Alexandria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander the Great Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great find in Alexandria!”
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Alexotel is a modern hotel located in the heart of the city. It is found in a very convenient location, just ten minutes away from the corniche and within half an hour walk from both the citadel and the library.

For 10 Egyptian Pounds, you can get to the Catcombs (go early to beat the crowds!) and for 15, you can head to Alexandria City Centre / Carrefour for some shopping.

If you're finding your own way to the hotel, it might be hard to find the place. Just tell the taxi driver, Mensella St Catherine. The hotel is just located 1 minute away from there.

The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. For 56 EGP per night for a triple, that's great value!

One of the staff, Amro, attended to us and he was very helpful and friendly. He printed out a form that showed all the attractions, good restaurants and shopping places, in English and with their Arabic translations! (Very useful).

I would stay there again if I ever head back to Alexandria!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank WafflesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    36
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
27
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kos
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We chose this hotel because of the good reports on Booking.com and we were not disapointed.A small family run Hotel in the centre of Alexdria, very close to the Corniche and a pleasant walk to the Library. We also chose it because my husband is greek and the Hotel is next to the famous Greek orthodox church. Amro on Reception, was a great help and the owner went out of his way to take us to a shop to buy a gas water heater, for my friend in sharm....a rather unusual request but nothing was too much for them. The Hotel was spotlessly clean, large room with tv and air con, a huge bathroom and boiling hot water whenever we came back. Anyone looking for a small hotel in the centre of Alexandria this is just the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank christinefromkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

this is a good and quiet small hotel that is located close to the market and not far from the corniche. The hotel management and staff make you feel at home. The furniture is good and seems to be newly rennovated and the bathroom is great. The only thing that needs to be improved is breakfast.

Room Tip: The street noise can be heard in most rooms but at night the street becomes quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYMAN F, General Manager at Alexander the Great Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
thank you for your re-comment and you must now we are here to help you to have good vacation in alexandria and we hope to visit us again,,,,

best regrades
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My friends and I had one night in Alexandria on our recent trip to Egypt. Alexander the Great Hotel was a fantastic choice for us. The staff are extremely accommodating, offering us early check in and advising us on activities/taxi's etc.

The rooms were eclectic in decorations, spacious and well maintained. The bathrooms were lovely and clean, and the air con worked well. Although the breakfast left much to be desired, the hotel is in walking distance to the shore and some great cafe's and restaurants.

I recommend Alexander the Great - great rooms, great location, great staff.

Room Tip: Our room faced a large primary scool - noisy but festive in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is more like a B&B (owners live on site, and use the living areas with the guests), but it's big enough to have the feeling of a hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is good and filling standard Egyptian fare (cured meat, eggs, cheese, bread, jam, juice, coffee). The rooms are connected to WiFi, which is always a plus, and there's satellite TV in each of them.

The location is great (although removed from the sea, if you're coming for scenic views). It's just a short walk to the sea and to Ramla (city centre). The street is small and quiet during the day, but it's used by (sometimes) noisy youth at night. If you're a light sleeper, you might need ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseph34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 998 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

I must admit that I only bumped into this hotel after a heavy online research for a room on a fully occupied weekend. I usually stay at Mercure or Sofitel but both were totally packed. The area is very impressive. It has a unique Italian/Greek feeling. The hotel is located right next to a Greek church and infront of Saint Catherine School and Church. Very welcoming, humble and decent staff. Very clean room and reasonably priced. I do recommend this hotel especially for those interested in historic areas and culture seekers.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SamehSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

A great small hotel, very cozy with friendly owners and staff. Most importantly fairly clean (perfectly clean bathrooms) and seconds away from down town, 10 minutes walk to the sea. I loved it and loved the neighborhood that has a greek feel. It's also minutes away from the Opera and Creativity Center which has a lot of movie shows and cultural events. Breakfast was great with a different menu everyday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahrir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.6 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 39 in Alexandria
19 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#5 of 39 in Alexandria
1,120 reviews
8.7 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
5.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander the Great Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander the Great Hotel

Property: Alexander the Great Hotel
Address: 5 Oskofia St. | Manshia, Alexandria, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander the Great Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria city center, Alexander The Great Hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. The hotel overlooks the Episcopal Church and features a 24-hour front desk and a tour desk service.Just a 15-minute drive away from the Library of Alexandria, this hotel has spacious rooms with a satellite TV and a telephone. Each room has a minibar and a private bathroom with a shower.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet in the dining area or in the privacy of their room. The hotel’s à la carte restaurant serves local dishes, while you will also find a variety of restaurant in the surrounding area.Alexander The Great Hotel is 5 minutes away from the waterfront promenade corniche in Alexandria, and free private parking is available on site.Alexandria International Airport is 5 km away, and a car rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander the Great Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing