We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned with a modern feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Many old hotels have slightly smaller rooms than their modern counterparts, and this is no exception. However, this room was not too small, and well fitted with a nice bathroom. The restaurant was fine, but not outstanding. WE had lost our guide book, and were thus restricted to hotel dining again. Turning left along the Corniche from the hotel at night reveals a vibrant scene, but nothing leaped out at me for dining.
Altogether a good hotel, helpful staff, clean and well organised. Nothing to complain about, and lots to commend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour, I would like to thank you most sincerely sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Tripadvisor.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;
Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Over a period of about 2 years on 08 to 2010 I stayed at the Cecil on 4 different occasions. It's not easy to put this Hotel into a category as it's fairly unique.
The very first tim I stayed there my impressions were initially not too good, the rooms being a little worn and the whole demeanor of the place being generally old fashioned, however, once you get settled in and get to know the staff, it's great.
"Monty Bar" is the place to go if you're a Brit, the beer's good and you can eat there (as I always did) away from the more formal restuarant downstairs. The Chinese restuarant on the roof is very good as well, the views of the bay being spectacular.
All the staff got to know me and called me "Mr Eric" and the excellent service, on the last occasion I was there, even went as far as sending a free car for me to Alexandria Airport at 3 AM due to my pick up not being there, nothing was to much trouble and I always felt very safe and secure whilst in the Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Mr Eric,

Bonjour, I would like to thank you most sincerely sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you for the 5th time at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

An old colonial lady, slightly tarted up for the 21st century. Full of charm, great service and astounding honesty.
Had a billfold fall out of my pocket, with a lot of cash in it. Porter noticed me stressing at the entrance to the elevator, called me aside and led me to the managers office where I was reunited with my cash!! You wouldnt find that back home.

If you are looking for a plasticky polished hotel that could be at home in Las Vegas, this ones not for you, but if character, charm and a little quirkiness are a priority, you'll feel right at home. Things to remember, Alexandrias Corniche is vibrant and alive with activity 24/7 so bring you earplugs just to make sure you have a restful sleep. Enjoy, I did for 8 nights.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank PMyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear Guest

Bonjour , We do appreciate sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Trip advisor. I'm sure fellow travelers will find your tips and pointers very useful whilst planning their trip.

We are really happy that you felt at home and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil in the very near future.
Cordially;

Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

the minute I wnetered the room I was shocked because odds the smell of the Old ....it not healthy at all to be in ...!!!evwn I askwd to clean and do tjeax its v old it needs to be all renovated also last day whwn I was checking out foe my surprise the conierge left me with much luggage just because new group came and qhwn I askwd qhy he said they r high espanish deplomatic society and the guy is just inder the gm in grade

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maninblackthe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour, I would like to thank you most sincerely sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Trip advisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you concerning the room smell and the concierge who was busy with another guest; I will have a look into this matter personally, and an immmediate corrective action will be taken.

Once again please accept our apology, looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil in the very near future.

Cordially;

Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Hotel cecil is in a good position. It is situated on the waterfront overlooking the magnificent bay. The room was great, very clean and comfortable.the food fine with a good choice of formal and informal dining. Very easy to get to shops and local markets from here.

Staff were very helpful. The Chinese restaurant on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the bay and main road was fascinating. The sight of the traffic was a scene to behold. There is a casual restaurant on the ground floor which was ideal for lunch / afternoon tea.
We found the reception to be helpful in ordering taxi`s .
A most exciting stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Bay is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour, I would like to thank you most sincerely sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Tripadvisor.
I regret any inconvenience you might have faced during check in but please note that according to the hotel announced policy the check in time is 3:00 pm but of course in case there is a vacant room before that time we do check in our guest upon arrival.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;
Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed 6 nights in this gracious historic hotel - two rooms - one suite and one regular room. We had sea view rooms with a small balcony overlooking the Corniche and sea. You can pass an hour or two watching the traffic action on The Corniche! Although traffic never stops on The Corniche and horns are used instead of indicators on vehicles, once the shutters and balcony door is shut, the rooms are quiet. The location is excellent - a few minutes to the shops of Saad Zagloul Street and the excellent Brazil Coffee House - 10 - 15 minutes walk to the Roman Ampitheatre and similar to the Bibliotheque. The Catacombs of Kom Ash-Shoqqafa and Montazeh beach and Palace are also worth a visit. Taxis are very cheap - check with the hotel for the correct price to pay to your destination. We stayed in July which is the high season for Cairenes allegedly escaping the heat of Cairo - beware - it's still hot here - so prices were high

Room Tip: recommend the sea view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sez5446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Suzane,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil on your recent visit to Alexandria and for taking time to review it. I'm sure fellow travelers will find your tips and pointers very useful whilst planning their trip.

I look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Alexandria.

Cordially;

Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for only one night. Hotel maintains the historic flavour. Very old building right at the sea front. Nicely maintained. management has kept the old style of the hotel with all classic type of furniture and elevator. Once you enter into the hotel you feel you have moved into the early 20th century. Hotel staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast buffet is good but not great. Best thing about the hotel is the style, location and staff. Many celebrities has stayed in that hotel including Elvis Presly, Cherchel and so on. If a celebrity has stayed in a certain room, they would put a tag on the door stating who stayed in that room. :)
The hotel location is excellent. Right on the sea and in the less crowded side of alex. The hotel does not have a swimming pool though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherine-ELSAYYAD, PA to General Manager at Steigenberger Cecil Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear our valued Guest,

Bonjour , We do appreciate sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Alexandria Cecil with other guests on Trip advisor.
Thank you for the positive comments you mentioned and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Sofitel Alexandria Cecil in the very near future.

Cordially;
Sherine EL SAYYAD
PA to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
6.6 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 39 in Alexandria
1,171 reviews
4.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
#9 of 39 in Alexandria
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Cecil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Cecil Hotel

Address: 16, Saad Zagloul Square | Raml Station Alexandria, Alexandria 11053, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £87 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Cecil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steigenberger Cecil Alexandria lets you experience all the splendor of this amazing city first hand. Conveniently located in the heart of the business district, overlooking the bay and yacht club, this exquisite hotel is just minutes from the airport, ideal for business or pleasure. Built in 1929 yet constantly in step with the times, it provides a perfect blend of modern amenities and old world charm. Discerning connoisseurs also appreciate the impeccable service and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Cecil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cecil Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Accor Cecil Alexandria
Sofitel Alexandria
Alexandria Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing