We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helnan Palestine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The Helnan Palestine Hotel is a hotel with history, but has failed to keep up with the times. Our rooms were fine, beds comfortable. The food was OK, but not outstanding. The lobby was under construction, so we had to smell storng paint and glue odors while we ate in the dining room off the lobby. The waiters opened windows for us, but that just attracted flies. We booked there for the view and for the swimming in the sea, but we found the sea water and small beach area around the hotel dirty. We saw things floating in the water and a suspicious foam floating on top. We decided to not allow our children to swim in it. The pool at the hotel is woefully small, so we opted to change hotels for our third night to the Four Seasons San Stefano, a few miles down the corniche in Alexandria. To our surprise, that hotel provided us a top-notch suite for the four of us for LESS than the price of two adjoining rooms at the Palestine Hotel, and the amenities and service are incomparable at the Four Seasons. If you want to experience the hub of Alexandria, have a private beach for swimming and be treated like royalty, go to the Four Seasons.
The Palestine was a disappointment. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jennys-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2008

The hotel is situated in a less than blooming garden/park and the entrance is awkward due to construction. It's located away from central Alexandria, which makes eating out inconvenient. Nothing is within walking distance and everything is on the opposite side of the city. However, the room is pretty nice and the view is more than pleasant. There's a palace next door that's photo worthy. Also, sitting on the faux beach facing the bay at night is pretty relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nogareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Stayed here for one night during Egypt tour.
Great hotel situated in the garden (park) of the former king Farouk.
Beautiful lobby and rooms. Great kingsize bed and bathroom was very clean and wel equipped. Room had a nice view over a kind of bay. Lovely sunset ! Diner was notting special even very common, many Italian food like pasta's that looked nice but tasted all the same and was overcooked, breakfast was OK.
Staff was friendly and professional.
About Alexandria, still a minimum 3, almost 4, hours drive (by tourbus) from Cairo, the major attraction is the library, it was closed (!) when we visited Alexandria due to royal visits the coming week ! For the rest, there is, in our opinion, not much to see. We visited the castle near the sea and the column of Pompeus and the museum to see something.
This last visit was the most interesting.
Better use your time elsewhere in Egypt, you sure can use the time !

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights as part of a tour organised through Kuoni.

This is a pleasant modern hotel insulated from the chaotic street life of Alexandria by being inside a guarded park.

Our room was modern and well maintained. Expect to be woken at dawn by amplified calls to prayer from the mosque next door.

The public areas are grand and we would have liked to linger longer in the lounge bar but were put off by the stink of smoke (the hotel seems to be under the mistaken impression that allocating a few chairs to non smokers is enough!)

Food was nice though not spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dnjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We stayed at this hotel in October, 2007. Its location is spectacular but, the service is horrible. The manager and clerks at the desk are not very nice they misled us. We arrived at the hotel at 5.00pm and was checked in to a room that was poorly maintained. There was meldew on the walls, leaks in the bathroom and it smells. I could not stay in the room it literally made me sick. We went immediately back to the front desk and requested a different room. We were told that at 9:00pm we would be moved. So, we went into town and came back to our dissapointment, we still did not have a room. We sat in the lobby until 6:00am before we could be switched. The next shift of staff came in and we had to start all over with them again and they showed no care or concern. They walk passed us in the lobby as if we were not there and we constantly had to remind them that we are still waiting for a room. This ruined our trip because we had no sleep and the next day we woke up late and barely was able to visit.
Becareful when they give you a room, make sure it is not a beach
cabin. Specify that you want a room in the main hotel. This is a deception because you booked in a five star hotel but in reality some of the rooms are not even one star.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank johnCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

Our travel agent had booked us here to give us some down time from the noise of the cities we had been visiting. It is several miles from downtown Alexandria and if you are ok with that it is a nice hotel to stay at. It is located in the Montazah Gardens of the Palace.

Pros: The room, restaurant and front desk services were excellent. The food in the three restaurants we tried was quite good.

For a place to relax and look onto a lovely bay the outside deck (with bar and restaurant service) is exceptional.

There is a very nice walk around the bay and in the evening with the sun setting it is lovely and very relaxing.

Our room looked out to the Med, the Palace and the hotel gardens.

Cons: We had to ask for another room when checking in. They offered a room with twin beds. We insisted on a King bed room which they 'found' for us.

The beds are very firm as are the pillows. Much firmer then we were accustomed to. The carpets and finishes are due for replacing.

The towels and toiletries were just average and should have been better considering it was rated as a 5 star hotel.

There was significant mold on the tile of the bathtub/shower that a little bleach would have addressed.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Epags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

Whilst advertised as a Palace, it was not like all the other palaces we stayed at, this is on Palace grounds, but its just an unattractive lego block building. The lobby and bar/restaurant/cafe area is very nice, however, the rooms are ordinary, nothing bad, just nothing great. We had a room on the very top floor, the balcony was nice, we looked over the pool/beach and to the casino (very small one). The beach looked dirty, the pool did not look very inviting. The rooms facing West may have a nicer outlook. The place is in a nice park area, so you can walk around the palace, that is being occupied by the current president when he is in town and the park area goes to the ocea. Its very pretty walk. There is no way the rooms are 5 star or 4 for that matter, more like a good 3 star hotel. Good for the bus tours. Breakfast ordinary as well, its not that is bad, its just quite a few steps down from what we got used to. The Italian restaurant in there is TERIBBLE, there is a much better one around the corner (5 min walk) where the Casino is. The food was very good. Everyone is very friendly and helpful, really cant complain about that.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank banaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
Hilton Alexandria Corniche
#4 of 39 in Alexandria
1,199 reviews
4.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Alexandria
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
Sheraton Montazah Hotel
#13 of 39 in Alexandria
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
TOLIP Hotel Alexandria
#9 of 39 in Alexandria
394 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Green Plaza
23.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helnan Palestine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helnan Palestine Hotel

Address: Montazah Garden Palace, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Spa Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £111 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helnan Palestine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is The civic & social center of Alexandria, known for its commitment to excellence in service & hospitality,The hotel is a five star deluxe hotel, situated in a unique location and embracing the Mediterranean and providing harmonious scenery. The vast magnificent gifts of nature, 350 acres of gardens and golden sandy beaches surround its bay. The hotel faces one of the most famous historical landmarks in Alexandria, "Royal Palace" which was once the site where the late Egyptian royal family vacationed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helnan Palestine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helnan Palestine Alexandria
Helnan Palestine Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing