We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea view at a very reasonable price!”
Review of Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Union Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sea view at a very reasonable price!”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

In central Alexandria. You don't often get such a great sea view at such an affordable price! The rooms were clean and nice. Only bad thing was that there was no hot water at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LeenaKaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
10
23
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Staff is really rude. Tv are so much noisy in the salon you can't be relax in collective area. No wifi in rooms. Matress are olds and hard. The only think good is the sunshiny women in reception for the morning and the beautifull panoramic view to Alexandria from the salon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

just try to catch the reservation long time before you go, very good value for money, budget clean hotel with good service

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santakarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

The Union Hotel is facing the Mediterranean Sea. I have never felt so relaxed at this hotel. Just looking at the beautiful scene it makes all your worries go away. It is very clean and the workers keep it well maintained. The employees are very polite and helpful. It is cheap in price for being perfect. You also get breakfast. Union Hotel is the hotel I will always stay in Alexandria.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaelyFoston_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The price (105LE) for a double room was ok by Alexandrian standards (but still the second most expensive hotel we stayed at in 3 months in Egypt) but the big problem was the fact that you had to run the hot water for between 10 and 20 minutes before it ran hot - and they didnt seem to think this was a problem in a country which is 95%desert! The service at breakfast was also painfully slow - for example, everybody asked for salt with their boiled eggs and this had to be brought out and taken back individually each time - I think they only had one salt pot! But if you have to stay in Alexandria, it is not a bad option for a few days - a lot better than the neighbouring Crillon who tried to alter the terms of our telephone booking and laughed at us when we queried this. We didn't stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

The hotel has a great location with incredible views of the harbor. The room and bathrooms were clean. The problem was that they got some good reviews in guidebooks and I think it went to their head! At one point my husband asked the woman behind the front desk if the hotel offered laundry service, they didn't, so he asked if there was a laundry close by where we could drop off our clothes. She said she did not know and to ask the porters. (She obviously thought it was beneath her to know about laundries)! The porters were great and worked hard, though. Overall, nice budget hotel in good location, but I think the service has slipped some. I'm sure there are other hotel in Alex with better service. Also, there was no free breakfast like most hotels in Egypt.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooreczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

If you get a balcony room, great sweeping views of the med sea. But bring ear plugs as it's a bit noisy at night. Rooms are pretty small with hard beds. Satellight TV a nice change. Breakfast is bread, croisant, jam and a egg, and tea. Rates quoted and published on their walls are a higher when you get there. Good location to access the city and its attractions, hardly any places to eat in the area. Take a horse and carriage ride if you can. Becareful of crossing the busy road outfront.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Philip House Hotel
Philip House Hotel
#38 of 38 in Alexandria
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 38 in Alexandria
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
4.0 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Transit Alexandria
Hotel Transit Alexandria
#14 of 53 in Alexandria
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel

Property: Union Hotel
Address: 164 Sharia 26th, Alexandria 21599, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing