We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!”

Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
Private Guided Day Tour to Alexandria from Cairo
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An ancient circular staircase leads down into these tombs that were tunneled into the bedrock during the age of the Antonine emporers (2nd century AD).
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I had only visited catacombs in Rome before, and these were just so different. Just as ancient .. but to the point that even horses were buried in the catacombs was such a surprise.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    122
    56
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
209 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Catacombs interesting to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

It was nice to walk down several levels and to understand something of Alexandria's past, and culture. And nothing quite tells the story better than what was done for people in death. One section of the catacombs is still being unearthed, and they are not really sure who all has been buried there in some sections. Many of the artifacts have been moved to the museum. It was certainly an interesting place to see while we were in Alexandria.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank csharp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aisaac
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“go early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I wish we were able to take photos in the catacombs - so incredibly interesting. We were blown away at the amount of work to dig these tombs out of the subterranean rock!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eerie and fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Worth bringing a guide, for there is so much history in here that it will add very much to the experience. The catacombs are small, but well preserved (no photos allowed), and it was not too crowded when we went, though I could see how it could be a frustrating trip were there too many people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Wish photos were allowed here, but they were so interesting. A lot of stairs-to be expected I suppose.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing